We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 5 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Kershaw House is a great spot if you are going to be in the Nelson, Abel Tasman area for a couple of days. We stayed in the Abel Tasman room and it was very spacious and comfortable. The hosts, Jill and Pete are delightful. Jill is warm, gracious and a great cook. Pete is a truly fun loving guy and I only wish we could have split a few beers! Their dinner recommendations (Jellyfish and Three Rooms) were excellent with Three Rooms being an outstanding value and just minutes away. There is a great deal of history to the house but the bathrooms etc have all been updated. As you depart Pete, a video photographer, gives you a copy of his NZ travel video plus asks you to put a pin on a world map to identify your home city. Nice touch!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TimeTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review - we love sharing our home and its history with our guests. We really appreciate you reviewing the restaurants in our area also, it helps us feel confident in our recommendations. Safe and happy travels. Warm wishes Jill & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 138 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I were privileged to stay at Kershaw House recently during a driving trip around the South Island. The house is beautiful and the accommodations are very cozy. Jill and Peter were the perfect hosts. Jill was very helpful with dinner suggestions and even helped us change some tour arrangements to accommodate bad weather. Peter is a wonderful videographer. Viewing his NZ video was a special treat and prepared us for the rest of our trip. We loved our stay and enjoyed getting to know the two of them. By the way, Jill, I still want your muesli recipe! I'll be emailing you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom2Sadie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, we do try and ensure guests have the best stay possible with us and in our region and most operators are very happy to change bookings to meet the weather. Send me an email on kershawhouse@gmail.com and I will send the muesli recipe to you. Cheers Jill & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Peter and Jill at Kershaw House were very keen to help and make us comfortable. We had the use of a delightful small sunroom plus the dining and living area – completely separate from Peter and Jill’s living space. The appointments are carefully thought out and tasteful. The historic house is furnished beautifully in keeping with the character of the house. The comfortable king size bed was set in a spacious bedroom with plenty of room for bags and comfortable chairs for relaxing. Spacious modern bathroom, free wifi, immaculately clean, warm. Jill provided very welcome freshly baked biscuits for each room, each afternoon. Breakfast was a mixture of fresh, tasty fruits, muesli, yoghurt etc plus cooked breakfast with good variety. Jill offered suggestions for restaurants and vineyards and phoned ahead for us. Secure off-street parking. Easy walking distance to main street, supermarket, restaurant. Easy drive to surrounding vineyards.

Room Tip: All three king rooms seemed to be excellent standard
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we have tried very hard to furnish the home in keeping with its era. It was our pleasure to host you all, thank you for sharing part of your NZ trip with us. Jill & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a nice place with a more gracious host. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and comfortable and Jill went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. The breakfasts were both great and Jill made sure that we had a map and dinner reservations each day we stayed. Absolutely fabulous and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hi Caitlin C, thank you for your lovely review. I enjoyed sharing wedding stories with you at breakfast, I hope the rest of your NZ honeymoon was fantastic. Take Care Jill & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Nelson to celebrate a milestone wedding anniversary, we wanted somewhere special to stay, Kershaw House was everything we could have asked for and more. Jill and Pete were absolute fantastic hosts, the breakfast was just beautiful, with added touches like home baking and fresh flowers in the room. We loved George, he is one of the most cute little dogs I have met. We had the Abel Tasman room which was just lovely, extremely comfortable bed and all the linen was of very high quality. This home is lovely in every aspect and Jill and Pete clearly are passionate about providing a great service to anyone who is lucky enough to stay at Kershaw House.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thanks Alsuzy, George is definitely a very cute dog and like us loves having new people come and stay. We are pleased you chose Kershaw House and our region to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary. Warm wishes Jill & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived at Kershaw House wet and grubby after walking in torrential rain on the Abel Tasman track. We were greeted with an incredibly warm and friendly welcome by wonderful hosts,Jill and Peter. They helped us get our gear sorted and settled us in. Everything was fantastic! Spotlessly clean, lovely linen, bathroom and all very tasteful and luxurious. The home baking and breakfasts were special. We had 2 amazing nights there and could not fault it! Thank you Jill and Peter for your hospitality and sharing your local knowledge. We hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan and John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you Jan & John - we loved sharing our home with you and do hope you will visit us and our region again as there is so much to explore and do here. Kind Regards Pete & Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were in Richmond to attend a wedding and arrived 2 hours before the wedding. Jill and Peter made sure ours was the first room to be cleaned so we had a chance to settle in and shower before we had to be at the wedding. Much appreciated since one of us was arriving from Auckland and the other from Dunedin!
The Kaiteriteri room was spacious, beautifully decorated with seriously comfortable bed and large airy bathroom. The window looked out onto Richmond and beyond to the mountains - just stunning. There was a bottle of local wine and hand made chocolates waiting, along with fresh baked afghan bikkies that were the best I have ever tasted.
Breakfast was great and Jill varies the specialty cooked breakfast daily. Jill and Peter, it was wonderful talking with you both and we look forward to our next visit to Richmond. Thanks for looking after us. Jen and Pete

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScooterAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hi Jen & Pete
Thanks for staying with us, we always try and accommodate our guests needs and know how difficult it can be getting ready for a wedding out of town. We'd love to have you back next time you come to Richmond. Pete & Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.5 mi away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
61 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#10 of 41 in Nelson
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
45 reviews
3.2 mi away
Boutique Motel Nelson
Boutique Motel Nelson
#21 of 41 in Nelson
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation

Address: 10 Wensley Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: $148 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing