We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous three nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 5 Richmond B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous three nights”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Kershaw House was spotlessly clean with beautiful bedding and furnishings. Jill and Pete were wonderful hosts and made our stay most enjoyable. Lovely breakfasts and home baking. Wished we could have stayed longer in this peaceful and relaxing environment. George and Kitty were friendly as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireneeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, we enjoyed having you stay for 3 nights and hope it was a memorable start to retirement. Jill & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
98
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had the privilege of staying at Kershaw House last weekend and had a wonderful time. Having previously read the reviews, our expectations were pretty high but were still exceeded. Jill and Pete (and George the dog) were very warm and welcoming hosts and their extra touches (the home baking, wine and chocolates in our room, complimentary port in the lounge) were very much appreciated. Jill's breakfasts were delicious and Jill and Pete's helpful advice on how to spend our time in the area was very useful. Our room (the Abel Tasman Suite) was lovely, comfortable and spacious. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property, it is wonderful to know that we exceeded expectations, it is important to us that we make each guests stay memorable because we feel holidays are special and everyone needs a little looking after. Hopefully we may see you again. Jill, Pete & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just returned from two nights at Kershaw House. Without exception, accomodation and hospitality exceeded our very high expectations. Four very weary, wet walkers arrived off the bus from Abel Tasman National Park. We were so warmly greeted that we felt at home immediately. All our luggage was soaking wet, yet there was not even a flicker to indicate displeasure as we dripped on the beautiful carpet. We were treated to home baking and the most amazing breakfasts, home made chocolates and boutique wine. Jill & Pete considered our every need, recommending the WOW gallery and booking tables at excellent restaurants for us. We left left feeling like we were saying goodbye to dear friends. We will be recommending Kershaw House to all family and friends travelling to Nelson. George & Kitty were pretty neat, too!

Room Tip: The Richmond Room has a lovely corner window overlooking the road through which the sun poured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we really enjoyed meeting you all and feel special that you chose our region to celebrate life and wellness in. Take Care Jill, Pete & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a great experience with Jill and Peter and would definitely return. The room was lovely, Jill's helpful tips to get around and where to go for dinner were spot on. Breakfast was delight in the morning. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Kershaw House, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us, we certainly enjoyed the chat at breakfasts. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Pete & Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We recently had a wonderful weekend in Nelson staying at Kershaw House. This lovely house is warm and welcoming as were the hosts Jill and Pete. We were welcomed by Jill and Pete and George (their dog who was so cute I wanted to take him home) From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. Our room was gorgeous, very sunny and warm with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Jill is an exceptional cook serving yummy breakfasts and leaving to die for home made biscuits in our room! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, Its great to hear your bed was so comfortable. It is a surprise that no one has snapped up george yet he certainly has won a few hearts. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Jill, Pete & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at Kershaw House for two nights in late February as part of our Relaxing Journeys self-drive NZ trip. Jill and Pete (and not forgetting their wee dog, George) were excellent hosts who made you feel right at home from the warm welcome to the fond farewell. Their 1920's historic home is indeed beautiful and they have a top-notch service to match. Their extensive knowledge of their area (excursions, dinner restaurants and lunch stop-offs) gave us the maximum out of our limited time in the Nelson/Abel Tasman area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuileann56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our property and region. We all (including George) love sharing our home with guests and try to give guests knowledgeable recommendations for their time in our region. Kind Regards Pete & Jill & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at Kershaw House for 5 days in early January.

The accommodation was excellent, very clean and comfortable with a lot of attention to detail. Nice and homely.

Gill and Pete were great hosts and Gill’s gourmet breakfasts were delicious. She is a very good cook and very kindly left home made cakes/biscuits in the room each day. Their knowledge of the area was very helpful and they recommended some very good restaurants. Indeed, they went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay.

We also loved being greeted by their lovely dog, George, each morning. He is such a well behaved little chap.

Trina E

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Hi Trina

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we always endeavor to give our guests the best experience both in our home and around our region. Warm Wishes Jill & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
7.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pear Orchard Lodge
The Pear Orchard Lodge
#1 of 5 in Richmond
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#10 of 41 in Nelson
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation

Property: Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Address: 10 Wensley Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing