We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and nice place to stay”

Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly service and nice place to stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for a week whilst traveling the area. The owner and staff were really friendly. Good location in the town centre and also close to the main roads going to Nelson etc. Free wifi which is good and also laundry facilities. Overall good place to stay and recommend :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tot_of_rum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
8
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I travel a fair bit for work, and the Wakefield is my regular when in the Nelson / Richmond area. It`s in an unusual location - smack in the middle of Richmonds main street, but this makes it an easy walk to shops and restaurants, and very quiet at night.

The owners are great to deal with, the food and beer at the in-house restaurant is tasty and well priced, and the rooms are clean, tidy and functional.

Convenient parking out the back, and spacious rooms. It is showing its age a wee bit, but it is comfortable, well-run and affordable. I`d recomend it to both business and private travellers - it`s not a sofitel type establishment, but an honest hotel with great hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerolstein, new zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very pleasant and comfortable mixture of motel and B&B with resto (excellent breakfast) attached ...
everything you could want right in the centre of a lovely village (town?) ..
where I just happen to have been brought up 50 years ago...
I will definitely use it again when I visit ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtofgerolstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I Stayed three nights at the Arthur Wakefield in early November. The Motor In is only small, but the location is really good. Located adjacent to Richmond's Queen Street and parkign at the rear, it is very accessible. The Room was showing its age, but it was in a very clean state and nice and spacious. The Bathroom was also of a good size. The owners were friendly on both Arrival/departure, I will stay again on any future visits. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to stay specifically in Richmond.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_Traveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great little place to stay a couple of nights. Very quiet and a basic room but all you need for a couple of nights, had toaster and jug with fridge but no microwave. There was plenty of parking but bear in mind that you share parking with shopping customers. The owners were very helpful when it came to giving advice on restaurants and other attractions. The added bonus is that they do have there own restaurant on-site which looked OK but because there are so many others around within 500m we never got to try it. At $115 a night for 2 I thought it was very good value for money and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gebs832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

On arriving the motel looked dark and univiting. The room was dark and looked onto a car park. However we stayed for two nights and found the room to be comfortable and quiet. Bathroom good with excellent shower. We used the courtyard area to sit out and enjoy refreshments after a long day in the Abel Tasman. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Free wifi and morning paper a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
183 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed in Nelson in January 2011.
We didnìt visited too much the city because it was just a stop before proceeding to the abel Tasman National Park.7

The hotel is very far from the city center in a commercial area.
When you arrive it doesn’t seems to be very good but to spend one night it is enough.
There is a big car parking behind the hotel.
Personnel is absolutely very kind.
The room was very big with an entrance from the courtyard, a small living room and a big twin-bedded room.
The bath room was also quite big.
The only problem is that due to the fitted carped the room seemed to be not very clean.

If you travel with a laptop here a free wifi connection is available.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.5 mi away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nelson
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford Court Motel
Oxford Court Motel
#2 of 4 in Richmond
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Motel & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn

Property: Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn
Address: 294 Queen Street, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing