We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and friendly service”
Review of Oxford Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oxford Court Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and friendly service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spotlessly clean and very comfortable with welcoming homemade muffins awaiting you when you arrive. A great wee 'home away from home' when visiting Nelson. Very handy to Richmond shopping facilities and the 'motorway' into and out of Nelson.

A bit a tight squeeze for four adults but fine for a family with two small children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the corner away from the main road and Oxford Stas these are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    73
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
40
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Value for money hotel close to all amenities. Little dated but very affordable. Breakfast included in our deal but failed to deliver on second morning. Muffins provided daily was a nice touch! Close to main road but didn't bother us overnight. Very small toilet with awkwardly placed shelving made standing in the toilet to use it impossible- had to turn 90 degrees and stand in the bathroom. Apart from this it was perfect for our needs for the weekend and provided a very affordable place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clward99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nice clean recently renovated unit, good shower and lots of hot water. Friendly helpful staff.well situated just off the main road. Two bedroom unit for $115.00 is great value for money.
We wull definately stay agan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauricecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excellent value for money, this motel is ideally situated very close to the centre of Richmond. Clean. comfortable and with all the essential facilities. Friendly staff, generous wi-fi allowance, plus the daily muffins/buns , make this a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordCourtMotel, Manager at Oxford Court Motel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks for your review, i'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us :) See you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very friendly welcome with yummy muffins. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The kitchen suited our needs. As we stayed just one night, we had only breakfast there. The motel was ideally located, close to the shops and although close to a busy road, we had a quiet night. The beds were extremely comfortable, the best we ever had at a motel or even hotel. For the price we paid, we did not expect such a good standard. We can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbnbtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordCourtMotel, Manager at Oxford Court Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review , we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us :) It's our goal to bring travelers the lowest price for their stay as we believe the prices in the industry are way above what they really need to be. And being a family owned and operated motel we keep our costs down and give that back to you the traveler.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future, safe travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Convenient to Richmond, a few minutes from the airport, comfortable and cheap. I paid $85 per night for a queen size studio which was a deal on an accommodation website and rack price was $105 or close to. Felt the $85 was an appropriate price, the room was a bit scruffy and in need of redecoration and maintenance. The bathroom area was very, very small (no vanity area to put toilet bag, shelf over toilet with towel rail so close you'd either knock the shelf or get tangled up in your towel), and whole layout pretty basic. Reasonable standard of cleanliness although could be better (carpet dusty and worn at the edges, track for sliding door between bathroom and kitchen is dirty, kitchen cupboards tacky and need repaint etc).

It was interesting to me that there were no blankets in the room - bed had a sheet and bedspread, with an electric blanket. This may suit some but I'm not a fan of the electric blanket. I was a bit cold, and forgot to ask for a blanket the next days. Not a biggie, a jersey works fine, but maybe something others need to check when you're staying.

Positives: Convenience to Richmond and airport. Bed was super comfy. Good wattage bedside lights (hate jumping into bed to read my book and barely being able to see the page because the eco light is so dim). Home backing a nice touch. $85 a good price but wouldn't pay more for that room. Friendly, helpful check in and good knowledge of township. Minimal road/traffic disruption.

Room Tip: Small queen room is suitable for one, but would be close quarters for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordCourtMotel, Manager at Oxford Court Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your review, We are aware that unit 2 that you stayed in is in need or a refurbish and it is currently top of the list. We have 8 units that have been fully redone in the last year with units 1 to 4 left to be done. It is a small unit but great for a solo person or couple. A new vanity and kitchen for this one is currently on order :) Once arrived it will also have a full repaint, carpet & vinyl done to match it's twin unit. Sadly due to a large number of thief's we had to remove all extra blankets and pillows from the units but we do have heaps available. I will look at ensuring that when checking someone in we make sure we ask if they will need any extra from now on in case like yourself their not a fan of the electric blanket.

Next time your in town please let us know and we will make sure everything is perfect for you in a newly refurbished unit :)

Thanks again for all your comments , :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Well it's about time! We have finally found a property that gives you that "feel good feeling". Travelling as a family with 2x kids we were given lamingtons on check in and free wifi!! The kids loved it the touch was greatly appreciated. Our two bedroom unit was not what I was expecting for the dollars spent as the unit was spacious, immaculately clean and had been refurbished. Well done Oxford Court Motel, I would highly recommend your property and will ensure that others are aware of this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckieandcorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordCourtMotel, Manager at Oxford Court Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks for your review :) We always like to give a little bit extra to our guests just to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible :) I had quite a few of the lamingtons myself, so i'm glad you enjoyed them.

See you next time your in the region,

Thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.4 mi away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
6.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Motel & Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Court Motel

Property: Oxford Court Motel
Address: 73 Oxford Street, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Oxford Court Motel we have everything you need to make your stay with us a pleasant and relaxing one. With Two Compact Studio Units, Two Larger Studios, Two Queen Two Room units, One King Unit with full disabled access, And Five King Two room units we cater for just yourself passing through or a family getaway right up to your sports team. All our units are fully self-catered so no need to spend up big on restaurants and takeaway. Just pop down to the local supermarket and cook up a feed the way you like it and if it's breakfast your after we offer continental breakfast delivered to your room eaither the night before or in the morning to get you going for the day. Our guest laundry is open 24rs in the middle of the complex so no matter what time you can get your washing caught up. During the summer feel free to take a dip in the pool or relax around enjoying the sun. Cook up a feed on the BBQ to end a long day.. It's all there for you while your with us. With Sky Guest Select in each room you have the freedom to choose what you watch while your in and Wireless Internet access is available through all area's of the motel through Zenbu you won't miss out on any of the comforts from home. Just a walk away from the Richmond mall, shopping is a breeze, and a quick five minute drive north and your in Nelson city makes the Oxford Court Motel your best destination to access the Tasman region. So look no further and book today for your Nelson Tasman Getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Oxford Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Court Motel Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing