We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A working holiday”
Review of Marama Vineyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marama Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 5 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A working holiday”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Saviignon suite is beautifully presented and stylish and the setting amongst the vines beautiful, private and peaceful. My hosts were welcoming and delightful. I definitely want to experience Milcrest Estate again...a 12 out of 10!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here in March and the weather was still very nice. The winery has an impressive selection of wines, many of which are award winning. I stayed in the Pinot Noir Suite. This was a good size with modern bathroom and a small kitchen area. The staff and Terry, the owner, were helpful and informative. I had an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sawbridgeworth
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

You really are surrounded by vines. This is a little bit out of the town but all the better for that. We stayed for three days and the hosts were attentive when we needed and we were also left to our own devices, a difficult balance to strike but well done. This is a modern and very well presented accommodation. Clean and well set up you can be as isolated as you choose. The fresh continental breakfast can be taken in your room or outside. The menu is sorted the day before so you get exactly that which you choose. The flat screen TV and the docking station is all there too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend - a Christmas gift from my partner - and it has to be one of the best small resorts/estates I've experienced. The peace and quiet amongst the vines, the beautifully finished and presented suite (opt for the Sauvignon Blanc suite, it's probably the best), the great continental breakfast, and sitting out in the sun at the end of the day with a bottle of Terry's fine wine, and it's easy to forget all that ills you! We'll almost certainly be returning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Milcrest for a long weekend break away. We couldn't have chosen better - the room was meticulously presented, spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and beautiful linens and furnishings. The view over the vineyard was picturesque, and it was very peaceful while not being very far from anywhere we wanted to explore around the Nelson region. Sitting out on the terrace with a glass of the host's wine in the evening was just blissful. Terry and Christine are thoughtful, generous and considerate hosts - very hospitable. Fantastic breakfast. Right from the start of booking, Terry kindly offered us the best deal available, and organised room reservations so that we wouldn't need to move rooms for one of the nights.

As people who enjoy wine and have a small cellar, Milcrest was a real find for us - well-crafted, well-presented wines so we had some freighted home (of course) and will look forward to enjoying. We especially appreciated the time taken by our hosts to explain their winemaking philosophy and the wines themselves. Hope to back again soon - wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I had planned on doing a day hike through Abel Tasman as our first activity in the South Island and I found a special online for the Milcrest Estate that we just couldn't pass up. The B&B is located on a working winery so not only are you surrounded by vineyards and picturesque mountains, you get a great room with a continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. The room itself was beautifully decorated, spacious, and clean with a small kitchen area and ensuite bathroom. You even get your own BBQ if you'd like to do some grilling.

And of course, staying at a winery, you just have to sample the product, right? The nine Milcrest Estate wines that are produced were all delicious but we were partial to the Sauvignon Blanc (maybe because that was the name of the room we stayed in) and the Riesling. Make sure you stay up late enough to check out the stars too. Being away from the city, the sky is lit up at night and conditions are perfect for stargazing.

This really is a fantastic gem of a bed and breakfast. If you're in the area, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scallywag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Milcrest for an overnight weekend break. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room by Christine our host. She took the time to explain what was availablea and everything worked. The room was top quality and the bed super comfy. We really enjoyed an evening outdoor spa which was very relaxing under a big Nelson sky. I would be happy to recommend Milcrest as a quality place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
6.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
10.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Pear Orchard Lodge
The Pear Orchard Lodge
#1 of 5 in Richmond
141 reviews
6.3 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
3.4 mi away
Richmond Motel & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marama Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marama Vineyard

Property: Marama Vineyard
Address: 114 Haycock Road | Hope, Richmond 7081, New Zealand (Formerly Milcrest Estate)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marama Vineyard 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marama Vineyard offers two 5 Star luxury suites situated within our operational vineyard, 50 square metres in size, with stunning views of the Western and Richmond Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Marama Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marama Vineyard Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing