We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Milcrest Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Milcrest Estate
Ranked #1 of 4 Richmond B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Milcrest for an overnight weekend break. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room by Christine our host. She took the time to explain what was availablea and everything worked. The room was top quality and the bed super comfy. We really enjoyed an evening outdoor spa which was very relaxing under a big Nelson sky. I would be happy to recommend Milcrest as a quality place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found Milcrest an excellent place to stay, Terry and Chris (and Roger) are excellent hosts. We enjoyed a platter of food with their very good Sauvignon Blanc. Wine tasting was excellent with samples in appropriate full-size glasses adding to the experience, all wines are medal winning. We thought the Pinot Noir and the Syrah were outstanding. We really appreciated Terry's in-depth knowledge of his product and were impressed with the range they produce . Milcrest is in a rural setting just outside of Hope and offers lovely peace and quiet. It is an excellent base from which to explore the Nelson region. We appreciated being able to use a barbecue to cook some of the local fare. We spent 3 nights in this lovely environment and thoroughly recommend Milcrest. We hope to spend time there again. Les and Margi M

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were fortunate to stay at Milcrest for our honeymoon in July. Unfortunately, we were hampered by travel delays and illness, but once we got to Milcrest all of that was forgotten! The room was very comfortable, and staff very approachable.
The food and wine was superb. We had a platter in our room with a bottle of pinot noir for our dinner one night:The platter was generous and very tasty, and the wine outstanding - we stopped by the cellar door on our way out to buy more :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

such a lovely place to stay, my partner and I decided to take a local holiday and Milcrest was the perfect place, we arrived and were greeted by their lovely employee who took us to our room and showed us everything we needed, then asked us to partake in a complementary tasting of their wines, their rooms were amazing! such lovely hospitality and a nice way to spend a weekend in Nelson over the cold winter months. A place I would personally recommend to my friends and clients wanting a wee get away. Also definitely a great spot for the honeymooners out there :D

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our second stay at Milcrest. We've used it as a little weekend getaway to explore that side of the city. Both times we've stayed in the Sauvignon Blanc Suite which I think is probably the larger of the 2 rooms. Beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Our 1st stay was the end of summer so we were able to have our dinner platter out on the 'patio' and watch the sun set. Our recent stay was May so a lot cooler but very snug in the room - again we had the platter for 2. The wines are excellent and Terry will give you a commentary about them.
Tea and coffee making facilities are in your room and breakfast is delivered at a time you specify. If you don't want the platter there are plenty of good eateries not too far away in Richmond.

Room Tip: I recommend the Sauvignon Blanc Suite. Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Really lovely B&B, our room was very spacious and private. It was the perfect base for us for our weekend in Nelson. Milcrest Estate gives a feeling of tranquility and we really enjoyed our couple of nights there. Do try their wine, it is some of the best in the region. Lovely to sit in the sun outside your room sharing a bottle with one their platters - very yummy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Self contained room/bathroom. Nicely located close to Richmond, we used as a stopping off point between Endeavour Sound and Abel Tasman. Rooms are cleverly designed so they are separated from neighbours so were exceptionally quiet. Beds were very very comfortable; bathroom and shower excellent and high quality.
There is a fridge and (from memory) a kettle and microwave (and bbq) but no cooker, but it is close enough to town for this not to be bothersome. More important for those of us touring there was access to laundry facilities (thank you to our hosts). The English breakfast was served in the room, and was definitely 10/10 (best we had in NZ) and very good value for the extra few dollars.
We tried the wines and the Syrah 2010 was truly exceptional. Worth going out of your way just for that. There is also a complementary bottle of the white advertised on the web but we forgot to pick ours up.
If you want another excellent B&B on a vineyard, try House of Ball, an hour from Christchurch airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
10.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
10.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
10.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
457 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milcrest Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milcrest Estate

Property: Milcrest Estate
Address: 114 Haycock Road | Hope, Richmond 7081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Milcrest Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milcrest Esate offers two 5 Star luxury suites situated within our operational vineyard, 50 square metres in size, with stunning views of the Western and Richmond Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Milcrest Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milcrest Estate Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing