We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karrinyup Waters Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great for families. We have camped in a tent around 7 times here now. Toilets are mostly very clean. Obviously in the summer holidays they get dirty quickly due to high demand. There is a great Park and jumping pillow, safe relaxing pool and reception staff are very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    54
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
75
56
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is our second time here - the last time was over 5 years ago in a campervan, this time it's in one the cabins. The place is very efficient, organised and the girls at reception are lovely and friendly. This is a VERY BUSY park, so much that it is like living on a highway. A lot of people seem to live here permanently, so you've got a steady stream of people going to work and all the noise associated with that starting at 5am, the cleaners yell across the place to each other all morning too, so it's not really a relaxing place to be. It's functional, the location is convenient but it does not have a holiday feel like a lot of other parks. It is clean and well run but it is overpriced for what it is. The units could be made a lot more welcoming. All up an ok place to stay.

Room Tip: Take cabins at the back and off the main throughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This place has it all: close to the city (20min) but quiet, clean bathrooms even some very new ensuite ones, friendly staff, spots for all sizes of campers, super clean kitchen and a bonus with the lake. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CayeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here on a recommendation and were not dissapointed. The staff were helpful, the park very well maintained and facilities were great and clean. There were ducks (and baby ducklings) which you could feed and watch them on the lake. The pool area was big and inviting- the spa was as big as a pool itself! It had a well equipped camp kitchen which was right by the park so the kids could play while families cooked dinner- well thought out. Very good value for such a central location in Perth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeriouslyKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was cautious about staying here when I had read negative review but am glad I decided to find out for myself.
It was said in one review that the staff were not helpful but I didn't find that at all. In fact they were very friendly. There were 4 vans in our group. On booking in one of the young ladies was very helpful even giving us information on public transport into Perth. Three of the vans (smaller) were put on a "sloping" site which was done by tractor. Our friends were quite happy with these sites. We had a 6.5m van & was given the option of 2 sites even though they were full. We took the larger one. Even though we were beside a walkway it was a very pleasant site.
The camp kitchen, laundry & amenities were of a good standard.
They provided us with both a bus & train timetable & the bus stop is out the front. Was very easy to get to Perth & Fremantle without the hassle of driving. There is a main shopping centre approx. 15 minutes up the road with Woolworths, Coles, Kmart & specialty shops. Although there is no shop in the park, this was not a problem.
There is a separate building which is stocked with tourist brochures which was well stocked.
This building also provided Internet facilities (I never used this facility).
On the downside I found one of the young girls in the book in office to be "weird". While the young lady with glasses was helpful to us the other was sitting there, unsmiling, staring - very unnerving.
We were next to a permanent van which was a bit dingy on the outside so I kept my kitchen blind closed. Think they should perhaps get onsiters to maintain their vans a better.
Can feel a little crowded but once you are set up it doesn't feel that way at all.
Other than that I was pleasantly surprised at the overall service & cleanliness of this park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guineagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A lovely caravan park who's staff couldn't do enough to help out - maps, local advice, booking flexibility, online communication. Park style camping areas with good showers and toilets. Clean and well equipped camp kitchen. Lovely feathered residents.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairecim675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Bedok Reservoir
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

In my numerous travels to Perth, getting an affordable yet easily accessible accomodation is always a problem. Karrinyup Water Resort is one of the few that can be counted as value for money.

Location wise, it is an easy 15 minutes drive to the centre of Perth by Mitchell Freeway. It is also relatively near to the beach. Downside is there is no amenities nearby within walking distance. You need to drive to get things you want.

Facilities in the park - Very Good. There are two playgrounds, one very big jumping pillow and a picturesque lake with lots of ducks running around. There is also a heated pool, which suit my child very well as we came at the midst of winter. The other unheated normal pool is large, in fact one of the largest among caravan parks I have seen. I reckon this pool must be very popular during summer times.

Room wise, the one bedroom Cabin that I stayed is quite small compared to the other Caravan parks I stayed around WA. But this is expected as land cost is higher in Perth. The Cabin is also quite dated but you can see the owner is making effort to modernise them. The toilet basin and shower area for example are newly changed. The TV is also the new plasma type and is pretty big. Bed is clean and comfortable. My wife and I have a good night sleep, so did my children.

This park has a small library near the reception. The book selection is quite lousy so don't bother. There is also an internet kiosk which charges about $2 per 40 minutes, cheap by Australian standards. But this come with a catch, the internet keyboard is faulty and you have to punch really hard one by one to type a message, a real torture to me. I really hope the management can do something to this. Personally, I do not mind paying more money but have a good PC that I can use.

All in all, this is still a value for money accomodation option in Perth. If you drive, have children (who like to play and rough it out) and do not want to pay the exorbitant rates many CBD hotels are charging, this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AhHwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerKWR, Owner at Karrinyup Waters Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks AhHwee,

your review is very thorough and I am sure that people will find it helpful.

Many of your points are spot on and you must be commended.

We are looking at adding printing functionality to our web kiosk in the future so will make sure that the keyboard is replaced or fixed.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gwelup
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
74 reviews
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Lakeside Retreat
#1 of 1 in Gwelup
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karrinyup Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrinyup Waters Resort

Property: Karrinyup Waters Resort
Address: Careniup Caravan Park 467 North Beach Rd, Gwelup, Stirling, Western Australia 6018, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Gwelup
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gwelup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Karrinyup Waters Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Karrinyup Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing