We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander the Great Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vineyard
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The room I got was spacious and completely refurbished which gave a clean and tidy look. The room was completely furnished, making it a good place to stay for a longer period. We paid 85 dollars/night for the room which made this stay an excellent value for money experience. The value for money makes this hotel a good alternative for accomodations in Richmond/Windsor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Rated as 3 stars and it fits this rating very well. We stayed in Deluxe room, which are some of the newly refurbished rooms. Very clean and tidy, a bit bigger than most similar rated rooms. Plenty of space to move around the room, even had a small table. It is right on the main road, but slightly set back. Still heard traffic noise though. Right next door is Chinese restaurant, served really good food for a suburban place. There is Hungry Jacks and Maccas just down road for those inclined.

In summary, it's a clean place, convenient to get to and great for a quick stop over.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank chuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I would not stay again. In need of a makeover. Photos on web look good but it is just old inside. Carpet was dirty and shower needs a good scrub around the bottom. Not impressed. Noisy air con. Rattled all the time. Not for us. Sorry.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juls0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The room was a bit dated but seemed comfortable. We found a syringe in the bathroom. This really didn't make us feel comfortable at all. We discussed this with people in the office.
Once the owner was notified (after my email once we'd returned home) they were very apologetic.

No discount or partial refund was offered.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haylee268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just what we were looking for- clean, comfy, hot shower, great bed,warm air con -as we were cold from the rain after a wedding in Bilpin, couldnt stay close to wedding as all booked out after we were booked into a place that didnt exist with Housetrip. Glad we stayed here -$95 a night WOW, its old but has everything you need- why pay for a fancy room? Owner is nice and genuine- you wont find better value, theres a restaurant on site too- Will stay again GOOD OLD FASHIONED MOTEL! The pool is massive.

Room Tip: upstairs was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We needed to have an overnight stay in the area and just wanted something cheap and cheerful. After reviewing previous Tripadvisor reviews of the properties available, we picked this one and where very happy with it. It is a budget travellers hotel, so we didn't expect too much. It delivered a clean room, comfortable bed, a bathroom big enough that we could both get ready and simple friendly check in.
The room had a large wardrobe if a longer stay is required, a small fridge and basic coffee and cooking facilities. The TV was old, but reception was OK. Did not use the Foxtel channels, so can't report on availablity.
Out the back was a really nice pool area that we would have used had we not arrived so late and had to leave so early. It had nice grass area and picnic tables. The room had a view of the pool and the cows in the paddock behind the hotel.
We heard no traffic noise at all from the room we had (5). The motel is set a fair way back from the road.
There is an attached Chinese Restaurant, but we did not use it.

Room Tip: It is a 2 storey block, so get a downstairs room if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Nothing flash, clean, slept well, on the highway but quiet. TV is very old but it works. Towels are teeny weeny but clean too. Can't complain for the price

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Dragonfly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard
11.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Blacktown
12.0 mi away
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
#1 of 1 in Eastern Creek
400 reviews
12.6 mi away
Atura Blacktown
Atura Blacktown
#1 of 2 in Prospect
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Ibis budget Wentworthville
Ibis budget Wentworthville
#1 of 1 in Wentworthville
300 reviews
10.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
9.4 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander the Great Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander the Great Motel

Address: 317 Windsor Rd, Vineyard, Blacktown, New South Wales 2765, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Blacktown > Vineyard
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vineyard
Price Range: $90 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander the Great Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander the Great Motel is a 25 room fully renovated 3.5 star motel. All bedrooms and bathrooms are fully refurbished. We also offer 8 FREE foxtel channels and FREE WiFi. Free on site parking, swimming pool and licensed restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander the Great Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing