We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

The George Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A lovely old characterful village pub set in the heart of Cullingworths conservation area. Surrounded by fields and moorland. Two wood burning stoves, 7 real ales brewed two mins away by the owner. A large selection of lagers and other beers both draught and bottled. A fully comprehensive wine menu. Fantastic home cooked food created by our team of chefs with locally sourced fresh ingredients and to top it off good old fashioned polite service with a welcoming smile. Now with a newly completed extension used as a dinning room, a brand new kitchen as well all sympathetically built in keeping with the local conservation area.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

A lovely village pub and very popular. Arrived without booking and was full. Great selection of beers so had a drink before moving on for food. Within 10 mins member of staff came to find us to say there was a table free but was a barrel table. We accepted and although the seating became uncomfortable around the barrel, that was soon forgotten when the food arrived. Freshly cooked meals with twice cooked chips in mini chip pan baskets, great touch. We didn't realise the 2steaks and a bottle of wine deal for £25 included gammon steak, which I had ordered. The waitress returned to tell us so we were more than happy to have the wine. Bonus service points! Lovely food, nice atmospher and good value for well prepared and very tasty food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jen17hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    90
    29
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great meals ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Had our tea at The George on friday we just got a table because as from 6 they were fully booked ! The food was great we had a burger and stuffed chicken which I recomend it was delicious but didn't try a pudding as the portions were far too big would recomend a visit

Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We enjoyed another top class meal at The George again last night. Finest and freshest food for miles around Old Spot ales are not to be missed either. We have always had great service with a smile from the whole team of staff and good value for money. This place is a credit to the owners, Chris and Jo and all the staff. Fantastic atmosphere, food, ales and service combined. Top quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OODIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Selwyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Just had a meal here today. The Tour de France passed near today & the place had a huge volume of business yet when we called we were well served, the George pie was to die for. The beer from the local microbrewery was super & the service friendly & attentive. Considering the pressure the place was under today, standards were still maintained. Many thanks to head chef Phil & landlady Jo.

Helpful?
1 Thank Selwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a typical West Yorkshire country pub without the usual pretensions found in many North Yorkshire gastro-pubs. Booked the morning of the lunchtime meal (for 13:45) and got a table for eight...from aged two to 82.

Arrived 15 minutes before to have a drink and our table was already laid up but unfortunately two of our party didn't make it; which was their loss as this pub serves great food, great beer and the staff are ultra-helpful...all of which made our lunchtime get-together a really good experience.

Most of us had the two-course roast (meltingly-tender slow-roast brisket of beef) with either the smoked haddock chowder or prawn cocktail starter...both of which were excellent and large (£10.95 per head). In fact me and my son swapped starters halfway through so we could both have both! My son asked if he could have an extra Yorkshire Pud and we all ended up with two each and two extra jugs of gravy; much to the delight of my granddaughter who ate three of them!

The local beer (forget the name but a light bitter) is one of the best I have ever tasted and is apparently brewed by the pub's landlord; so you will need a designated driver that isn't a beer drinker or you will be ordering a taxi, as one pint just isn't enough!

After the meal we sat and chatted for a good hour and were never hassled by the staff. A great way to spend an unhurried Sunday lunch with friends and family.

This was my third visit to 'The George' in the last year and so I can say, without fear of contradiction, that the consistency of food quality and service are excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Hotel also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing