We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll be surprised!”
Review of Taylor's Cafe

Taylor's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Phone: (08) 9250 8838
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You'll be surprised!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Quirky barely begins to describe this restaurant. There is so much that is surprising about the decor that it is worth a visit for that alone. A welcome change from so many other places. We stopped for tea and cakes so I can't comment on other aspects of the food but don't doubt for a minute that it is very good. As mentioned by another reviewer the young staff were extremely pleasant and friendly - service with a genuine smile. Whatever you do don't be deceived by outward appearances - step inside an enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    66
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Could not have had a fresher breakfast, eggs poached to perfection, great atmosphere, with excellent service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna03972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Enjoyable eclectic and friendly”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stopping here was a pleasant break from all that is "proper" about Perth. Taylor's was wonderfully disshevelled, relaxed, fun. The young staff were delightful and so friendly. The music playing in the cafe was funky and added a vibrancy which seemed to be missing in Perth (which was oh so....vanilla.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foxylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joondalup
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hit and miss.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a family breakfast at Taylor's on a Sunday morning. Six of us. We took an inside table. A varied and interesting breakfast menu which I thought slightly on the pricey side for breakfast. Order at the counter and take your number back to the table, but pay at the end when leaving. An option that seemed to create a bottle neck at the counter. The staff are all friendly and young, but seem disorganised. That may be because the Cafe itself seems fairly disorganised. We all ordered various meals and drinks.
The food started to arrive bit by bit over a 10 minute period so not conducive to groups really. Given that some had hot food (which came first) it was a toss up whether to wait for all meals or get started before cooling had it's way. Some coffee turned up, but a reminder had to be given for others which came well after all meals finished, so not well coordinated.
The meals were ok. I had the pancakes, lots of fresh fruit salad, Pancakes average though. The bacon and egg panini was huge and given the thumbs up. the carnivore and herbivore were both rated as okay, but scrambled eggs a bit well done. On a down side I had a fly commit suicide into my glass of water. I know flies are an oz tradition, but seemed to be few too many for an inside setting.
Overall: Ok, but not great. Friendly staff, but an inefficient work place or method seems to interfere with service delivery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Love this place, been a few times for lunch and breakkie and every time have walked out happy. Good food, great atmosphere and well priced. Good place to take the kids. One of my favs

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shiiiiindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor's Cafe also viewed

Millendon, Swan Valley
Caversham, Swan Valley
 
Guildford, Swan Valley
Henley Brook, Swan Valley
 

Been to Taylor's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing