We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eight go climbing in the Ariege”
Review of Base Calames Gite

Base Calames Gite
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedeilhac-et-Aynat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Base Calames Gite
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“eight go climbing in the Ariege”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Myself and seven friends spent a week at base Calames. Deborah and Jon were excellent hosts and pointed us In the right direction for some excellent climbing! The accommodation was very good and breakfast was provided by Deborah every morning. She even went further by helping us with a surprise birthday cake for one of our party! So if you fancy a trip to this lovely area of France I recommend Base Calames as the perfect starting point.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ianramsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Base Calames. The main objective of our holiday was rock climbing, but the area is also good for walking. Jon and Deborah were excellent hosts, who are knowledgeable about the area and were able to help with local information. For climbers, the gite is about 20 to 30 mins walk to the nearest crags at Calames. This is still a shorter walk-in than several other crags in the area that we visited. It was good to be able to walk rather than driving to crags every day. The gite is well equipped and the kitchen/ dining room spacious.

The gite is near the village church so be prepared for the bells! They are not loud but clearly audible. We slept through them quite easily and it was pleasant during the day to be reminded of the time.

Twice during the week our group took up the option of having Jon and Debs cook an evening meal for us. The food was excellent and they were easily able to accommodate our special dietary requirements: one vegetarian and one person on a gluten-free diet.

It can get hot in the middle of the day at this time of year. Pleasant for a holiday, but a bit hot for climbing. We will be back - probably late autumn next time for some cooler weather.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_A5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spent a week in the fabulous Ariege region climbing at various locations. Base Calames was in a perfect position. Excellent climbing at Calames literally on the doorstep - it is closer to the crag than the parking for the crag!! The accommodation was ideal. Very comfortable and well equipped. Jon and Debs looked after us very well. I would have no hesitation in recommending both the area and particularly this accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickWharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at Base Calames for 9 nights in May 2012 whilst on a climbing holiday. We chose this place due to it's proximity to the Ariege crags. Having the Calames crag on the doorstep and countless other climbing areas reachable within a short drive, this place is superbly located for all climbers, right through the grades. The gite provided us with accommodation (1 bedroom each) on the 1st floor, bathroom, wc and a communal lounge / kitchen area (shared with the ground floor accommodation). Rooms basic but clean and spacious enough. New towels provided every other day. Breakfast provided each day (juices, fresh coffee, tea, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, fresh breads/croissants and home made jams, yum yum..). English owners, very friendly & helpful. Cost very reasonable. Highly recommended. Take some ear plugs, the church bell chimes on the hour, every hour. And then at 3 minutes past the hour, every hour, for those who missed it first time round (Seriously)!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrshabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed here as a self catering/B&B guest but it was more like having a gorgeous gite all to m yself! The rooms are all very clean and comfortable and the gite is equipped above & beyond everything you could need, including stunning views and a fabulous location for walking/climbing. Jon & Deb went out of their way to make my holiday really lovely, with advice on great walks, loan of maps and guides and even providing transport for me on some days as I really wanted a car-free trip. Not to mention inviting me for dinner as it was my birthday while I was away! If you want a peaceful, relaxing, away-from-it all place as a base for exploring the stunning scenery of the area then you couldn't ask for more, though if you want to go further afield I would advise a car as there's not much in the way of public transport.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJaneOswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2011

10 friends stayed at BaseCalames and found it a comfortable, affordable and brilliantly located, especially if you're a climber, as the excellent Calames crag is only a 5 minute walk away. The gite is also well appointed, with a good kitchen, 2 fridges (gotta put that beer somewhere!) and a super-hot powershower, much appreciated by aching climbers. Jon & Debs were brilliant hosts too and I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We went down by train and spent two fabulous weeks climbing the local limestone crags, cycling and walking. The area was peaceful and the scenery absolutely stunning.
John & Debbie were the perfect hosts and the whole place just had a wonderfully relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and our experience was that the other guests, who came and went during our stay, were considerate, quiet and friendly.
The local rock climbing is second to none and the nearest crag is about 5 mins walk. Ideal if you want to cut your carbon and leave the car at home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jugreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Base Calames Gite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Calames Gite

Property: Base Calames Gite
Address: Lieu Dit Col D Ijou | Bedeilhac et Aynat, 09400 Bedeilhac-et-Aynat, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Bedeilhac-et-Aynat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bedeilhac-et-Aynat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gite and room only in the Ariege Pyrenees, Ideally situated for walking, rock climbing, hiking and a range of other activities. Just over an hours drive from Toulouse/Carcassonne airports and accessible by train from Toulouse. Ski resorts can be accessed in around 30 minutes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing