We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great gite, great hosts, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Base Calames Gite

Base Calames Gite
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedeilhac-et-Aynat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Base Calames Gite
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great gite, great hosts, great location.”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

10 friends stayed at BaseCalames and found it a comfortable, affordable and brilliantly located, especially if you're a climber, as the excellent Calames crag is only a 5 minute walk away. The gite is also well appointed, with a good kitchen, 2 fridges (gotta put that beer somewhere!) and a super-hot powershower, much appreciated by aching climbers. Jon & Debs were brilliant hosts too and I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We went down by train and spent two fabulous weeks climbing the local limestone crags, cycling and walking. The area was peaceful and the scenery absolutely stunning.
John & Debbie were the perfect hosts and the whole place just had a wonderfully relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and our experience was that the other guests, who came and went during our stay, were considerate, quiet and friendly.
The local rock climbing is second to none and the nearest crag is about 5 mins walk. Ideal if you want to cut your carbon and leave the car at home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jugreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Just come back from 2 weeks at Basecalames. The gite is great. We squeezed 12 of us into the house without a problem and even arranged to put 2 more up camping in the garden. It's a lovely place, 10 minutes walk from the nearest climbing and with plenty more opportunities for walking and mountain biking in the area.

The cost was very competitive (even compared to camping in the region) and the owners Jon and Debbie were always friendly and helpful.

If you're taking a large group or just a few friends this is definitely worth considering.

Mark Day
Brighton Explorers Club

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goclimb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Recommended by a friend, a few of us stayed for the weekend to have a go at some cycling. Jon and Debs were excellent hosts and Jon cooked up a superb BBQ on the saturday evening. Bit of exercise followed by good food and good company in a lovely location. recommended

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Jon and Deborah made us feel totally at home. They provided anything we needed, even 2 playmates for our 2 years old son! Which was great!
The room was clean and the bed comfortable.
The kitchen area was also clean and had all we need.
Internet connection, tv, dvd, and speakers came very handy (specially when it was raining, not for too long luckily)
Very relaxing place, with restaurants nearby, and more on the nearest town, easy access by car.
Plenty of things to do for "city children" (feed the chickens, collect eggs, hunt for bugs, warms, talk to the birds, see the cows, sheep, etc....)
And the best of all is the location. just 10 min walk to the crags! Really enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmourino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France - 30
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Just one night, alas.....

I was referred by a friend and had no idea what Base Calamès was all about; now I do and wish I'd stayed longer :-)

Jon and Deborah are friendly and knowledgeable, their hospitality completely genuine and unpretentious ... and wonderful value too. I hope to be back soon and will be recommending Base Calamès to all my family and friends.

Merci pour tout!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunescratcheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We only spent one night here on our motorbike tour, and we wish it had been more! Jon and Debs are fantastic hosts and made us feel completely at home. They even cleared a space in the garage for our bike.

Dinner was delicious and relaxed with a wide range of choices - you certainly won't go hungry here! We really hope we can make it back one day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazzaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Base Calames Gite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Calames Gite

Property: Base Calames Gite
Address: Lieu Dit Col D Ijou | Bedeilhac et Aynat, 09400 Bedeilhac-et-Aynat, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Bedeilhac-et-Aynat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bedeilhac-et-Aynat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gite and room only in the Ariege Pyrenees, Ideally situated for walking, rock climbing, hiking and a range of other activities. Just over an hours drive from Toulouse/Carcassonne airports and accessible by train from Toulouse. Ski resorts can be accessed in around 30 minutes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing