We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat - only cash allowed”
Review of Mangoes

Mangoes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: European, German, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat - only cash allowed”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Great place to eat, nice atmosphere. Aussie burger and fish fillet spectacular. Service is top knotch, come and enjoy western food. Bring cash no credit card allowed

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weaponx78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    71
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine homecooked meals with wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor to Mangos from the beginning. For a home cooked meal for someone with a western taste it almost makes me want to go home to Canada. Lutz,, Michelle and Christina are joined by a staff who have long enjoyed working in this restaurant and their quality food is a tribute to this dedication. I love the lamb shanks but there are lots of items to select...all delicious. Going to Mangos is like being invited out to a friends home for dinner...its just that nice. When I return in 3 weeks I will go straight there for a good meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cosy place by the water side”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

How many times I had dinner here I can only guess. Never been disappointed. Lutz and Michele are one of their kind and go out of their way to ensure that you get royal treatment! From great salads to German sausages you can indulge yourself.
Put it on your list!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank grandezza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NICE!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

If You want to be treatet by really good western food I can recommend the Mangoes. My T-bone-steak was excellent and this just for an example. The location is quite hidden, but as it`s well known people can give You directions. Comming from nearby Sheraton Beach Resort You can walk from the beach to Shinis Restaurant and cross the tiny little bridge if it`s low tide and daylight. It`s THE meeting place for expats, easy to meet people here...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mumie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Greatness”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Of the few meals I've had in Langkawi, I must say my experience at Mangoes is definitely the best in every regard. It was a bit difficult to find, but the place has a large regular crowd and had no problems keeping the supplies fresh. Awesome setting, awesome service from the staff, and awesome food. Will be back for more on my next visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangoesmichele, Owner at Mangoes, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us.We loved having you. Hope all went well with your return journey and we will look forward to seeing you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangoes also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Mangoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing