We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay. Nothing stand out.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Houston Inn

The Houston Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A local pub in Houston, Scotland, UK.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Okay. Nothing stand out.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Staff a bit vacant. Food was okay. To be honest, we struggled to remember anything stand out about this one, so, average.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    42
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great pub, good restaurant.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

this pub is almost 240 years old and has great character. it's often queit during the week but fills up nicely at the weekend. very friendly bar staff are attentive and helpful. good music, live bands at weekends and football o9n multiple screens. cant really ask for more.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nicely updated pub with good food and tasty beer”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We recently had a very good meal here, as we were stopping at a hotel in the area.
This pub had been recommended to us by a local, and they were right.
Decent sized car park, nice updated decor in the pub.
The two ladies who served us were both friendly and helpful.
The beer was well kept and more-ish.
We had starters and a main, all food was well prepared and quick to arrive.
It was also decently priced.
If this was my local I would be there all the time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for a bar meal”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Good for a bar meal but a little noisy from the adjoining bar

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Little Gem,”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Arrange a visit to an adjacent pub, which was nice, lovely cosy open fire. We decided to have a walk, and luckily found the Houston Inn, very friendly and could not fault the meal.
Good service. It was also a luck break , because there was a local band on.
a great night. worth a visit again

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gmoncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Houston Inn also viewed

 
Crosslee, Renfrewshire
Bridge of Weir, Renfrewshire
 

Been to The Houston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing