We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Burton Agnes Hall

Burton Agnes Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A beautiful old house, the gardens are lovely. Nice tea rooms. Dogs allowed in grounds. Old church next door was worth a look. Xmas fare was fab, lots of stalls, well worth a look.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    147
    42
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Enjoy the spirit of Christmas”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a tour of this lovely house to look at the Christmas decorations.It is an absolute joy to behold. We were greeted in a very warm and friendly way and supplied with a printed leaflet explaining the decorations room by room, this was very helpful. The thing that stands out, I feel, is that children were very much involved with the making and decorating of the rooms so that gave everything a very homely feel and, given that Christmas is a celebration of the birth of a child, how appropriate. After our enjoyable tour we had coffee and cakes in the café and they were fantastic, wish I had asked for the recipe of the succulent ginger cake. We didn't tour the gardens because it was getting dark but we will tick that box on our next visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have an affinity with this place, especially the walled gardens which are an absolute joy! Some years ago the walled garden had been left to grass but it has been restored to it's former glory by someone who must have cared deeply. The hall is fabulous, not large, but beautifully kept and so worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A very special House”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We visited Burton Agnes having seen a sign from the road and we are so glad we did. This is a really fabulous property with really interesting rooms, architecture and furnishings. The walled garden is well maintained and the plants are well marked. There are extensive grounds if you have time for a walk. In addition to the main house which has been occupied by the same family for 900 years there is the original dwelling - a Norman manor house which is partly ruined but interesting all the same.
The cafe is worth a visit in its own right with well priced home made food on offer - the special of the day was a Ham and Cheese Ploughmans which two of us just managed to eat - it was huge! The shop also had some unusual items and there is often a market too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank longtimetraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Spooky Good Time”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic setting for a Halloween woodland trail. Although the house was not open, the gardens and trail more than made up for it. Great place for families and very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burton Agnes Hall also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Burton Agnes Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing