We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet location, kid friendly accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diamond Beach
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice quiet location, kid friendly accommodation”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Enjoyed our stay here. The only negative was the restaurant was closed for two nights due to weddings - I think they should still provide food to hotel guests in this case as there are not a lot of dinner options in the area. The accommodation was good, our toddler loved the park and beach

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    106
    45
    23
    22
See reviews for
151
63
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed in a three bed/three bath villa, which was very nice. We made good use of the upstairs deck, table and chairs, and BBQ. The kitchen was adequately equipted. The bathrooms were modern, and the beds comfortable enough. I did note that in our villa that could sleep 6+, there was only enough lounge chairs for 4-5 people. The room was also a little dusty, and there were some cobwebs in the bathroom. Our minor issues were immediately and politely resolved (blown light globe, broken dishawasher) and the staff seemed friendly.

The atmosphere mid week at this time of year was quiet and relaxing, expecially for those travelling kid free. It has the potential to be very busy and noisy in the summer months, and we noticed on our last night when people checked into the neighbouring villas that voices carried quite a lot from the verandas, as did car doors slamming etc, shattering the previously peaceful atmosphere. I would personally not stay there during peak times, but for families that enjoy meeting new people, it would be a great place to mingle and relax.

The beach was peaceful, and we enjoyed just wandering about up and down the beach. There is a patrolled beach at nearby Blackhead, which kiosk etc, which would be our choice for the warmer months if we intended to have a swim in the surf.

The food at the 'award winning restaurant' was nice, but I wouldn't rave about it. There is a significant lack of other nearby options, so we alternatively ate in Tuncurry or Forster (20 or so mins away) or cooked our own BBQ. We did have some great cocktails from there though!

Tips: Get petrol before you turn off the highway. The nearest petrol is about 20kms away in Tuncurry. There is also only one Foodworks supermarket, about 7 mins away, with somewhat limited choices. I would recommend grabbing some nibbles and breakfast food before you head into the resort.

We did come away raving about the Spa - the facials and massages were absolutely fantastic!! The spa staff were wonderful.

We found it to be a perfect choice for a mid week girls getaway, and intend to return :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromthecountry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boambee east
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

This weekend have just returned from this so called resort after catching up with our friends, thankgod we only booked for Saturday night as there would be no way that any of us would been able to have a week there.
On searching the internet the " resort " shows beautiful accomodation, don't be fooled this is only their beach houses all others are similar to relocatable and shipping containers.
On arrival us two girls went to reception to ask if we would be able to upgrade, the staff member was uninterested and informed us that there were no other available cabins etc. her whole attitude was one of boredom and we we don't really care so bad luck.
The other thing is if you have a resort with restaurant attached make sure that one staying can book for dinner and breakfast, as we were told sorry no vacancies.
The cabin that we booked was supposed to be one kingsize bed and one queen size, yeah right, both incorrect again, second bedroom was two single beds pushed together and on rising this morning my husband had been bitten either by a spider or fleas, his left side of his back was a large red weals.We reported on leaving but the answer was "" no-one has said that before""" maybe next person who complains the resort managment might do something about it.
Forget about being comfortable as furniture outdated, kitchen area not equipped for making own meals but seeing that we had to eat somewhere we had to make do.
Lift your game Australis and give people what their paying for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sootycatBoambeeEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Diamond Beach hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed here on the Anzac long weekend and were pleasantly surprised by the accommodation, considering what we paid. Our 2 bed 2 bath villa was great, having a kitchen with convection microwave and cook top, fridge and a bbq on the balcony as well as a washer a dryer, everything was there for us. Ensuites were great, one having a shower and the other a shower over bath.

One thing I could suggest to the owner is to GET THE POOL HEATED, it would have been so nice to enjoy that lovely pool, not just grin and bear it for the kid’s sake.

Did not dine in the restaurant, but we had takeaway fish and chip from there which was great, and not bad value.

Note to travellers, fill up on petrol before you get off the freeway as petrol was a bit hard to find once off the main roads.

Overall a very enjoyable stay, nice and peaceful and quite, no hussle and bustle around. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bond33w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The whole family (10 adults + 10 kids ranging from 1-15 years old) stayed at Australis Diamond Beach for the easter break. We had a great time. Plenty of room for the kids to play sports, pool was very nice, with entrance to Diamond Beach excellent.
Rooms were nice and clean, and spacious, well set out.

Service was good, needed a light globe changed and it happened fast. Location is ideal, short drive to Forster, yet far enough away to allow a relaxing break.

Had Easter lunch at the 3 nippers. All the family had positive reviews of their food, and I can say the pizza is excellent. Even my 1 year old devoured the crusts.

Would definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da_dogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

My fiance and I stayed here for one night and generally enjoyed the resort. We used the pool, which was just near the beach access. The room was clean and tidy, quite comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom villa, which could comfortably take 4 people. The day spa was excellent, and the reception staff let us have a slightly late check out without any hassle. The resort could look at putting some more paths around, as we had to walk across some newly laid grass to get into our cabin.

However, there is a big downside with the restaurant. We had to wait 1 hr 15 mins for our mains, when the restaurant was only half full. My meal came out with eggplant slices that were burnt to a crisp and couldn't be eaten. For meals that are priced in the mid $30 range, this is unacceptable. The service was really slow, and the food not that great.

The hotel is quite remote so if the food is no good, then you are a bit stuck. Also, the restaurant doesn't do breakfast, I think they can give you some food to prepare yourself in the room, so if you are travelling there, probably a good idea to take your own food for breakfast.

Overall, a good resort, but until they fix the restaurant, I won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamgr, Manager at Ramada Resort Diamond Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
Thank you for your feedback, and am pleased that you enjoyed the Resort, the Villa that you stayed in and the location, but dissapointed to learn that your restaurant expereince was not as positive.

Having launched only a couple of days ago an exciting new autumn menu, this could have an effect of slowing down production & service, and I will review your comments today with the executive chef and restaurant manager.

Thanks again for staying and I hope to welcome you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

The word "resort" suggests a certain ambience - relaxation by the beach, pool etc with some level of service. As a previous reviewer noted, this is really a set of permanent shacks (freshly painted) planted next to an unpatrolled beach. This is not suitable for kids. Also, you are a very long way from Forster (30 mins drive) - I think you would be better to stay in a caravan near Forster Beach.

The "resort" is so boring that kids staying there have to make their own fun, like "spotlighting" into other people's rooms at midnight, making noise etc Don't expect to sleep here.

The park is clean and well-maintained, but more suited to a rough buck's party than families.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExperiencedOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamgr, Manager at Ramada Resort Diamond Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
Thanks for your feedback. It sounds perhaps that our Resort location was not to your taste. We are located adjacent to a National Park, we do front onto 6kms of pristine empty beach, and we do also include a complimentary supervised kids club every weekend for children ages 4+.

So there is no hustle & bustle, no pool halls or night clubs close by, and most guests simply relax and reconnect...the vast majority of our guests are families with children such as yours, and not what anyone would describe as you have.

As the onsite manager, I respond to any calls or requests from guests overnight...and I did not recieve any calls about noise, and this is usual. Any calls to reception are switched directly to my mobile phone every evening, and I respond personally to any notification of any disturbance, however minor.

Thank you also for advising that we are clean and well maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Beach
21.7 mi away
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Mobys Beachside Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diamond Beach Resort
Diamond Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Meridian Resort
Meridian Resort
#1 of 1 in Old Bar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashells Beachfront Resort
Seashells Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Diamond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hallidays Point
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hal...
#2 of 3 in Hallidays Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Diamond Beach

Property: Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Address: 357 Diamond Beach Rd, Diamond Beach, New South Wales 2430, Australia (Formerly Australis Diamond Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Diamond Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diamond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Diamond Beach Resort And Spa
Australis Diamond Beach Forster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing