We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very private & relaxing but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diamond Beach
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very private & relaxing but...”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from 6 nights at the resort. We stayed in a resort spa room as we wanted a bath. As per the previous review, we were disappointed in the standard of accommodation for the price that we paid. The photo's on the site are a little misleading. The rooms are not serviced, and even for a longer stay no linen is changed either. I had to wash our towels. Once over this we had a great relaxing holiday.

The resort is very private, there is no passing traffic so you felt comfortable with the kids running around and riding their bikes. We ate at the restaurant on site just one night, the food was delicious. The good thing was there was nothing else or nowhere else to spend your money so no pressure to spend any added cash if you don't want to. Each cabin had its own Weber so we went shopping and used the bbq most nights.

The pool was busy but large, the beach as per previous reviews is not really swimmable. Blackhead beach though is only a 5 minute drive away. This beach is patrolled and has a nice kids ocean pool, with a shady park area at the top. The gym was hardly a gym, so a walk on the beach is the best alternative.

We had a great holiday but will look for better value if we return to the area next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    106
    45
    23
    22
See reviews for
150
62
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I found the accommodation and resort in general fairly comfortable and enjoyable, however, for the money we paid, I was expecting a lot more!!! I had read some negative reviews from this site, but also read the positive ones so went in with an open mind. The resort was very secluded which was fine once you had all your supplies and no need to go into the shops and actually made it feel like a relaxing holiday. Both pools were lovely and clean and were a comfortable swimming temperature. The only negative about the pools was that during peak season they were quite full and there were no rules about ball games etc in the pools (not good when you have young children getting scared at balls almost hitting them). The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

The main disappointment for us was the accommodation. The kitchen was very minimal for a self-catering apartment - there were very few cooking utensils etc (I ended up going to the supermarket to buy some things so that we could cook meals). Our apartment was FULL of ants. No matter how much wiping and spraying we did they were everywhere!! The rooms lacked ceiling fans and because of the apartment set-up there was no breeze which made it quite uncomfortable to sleep at night. I also found our garden to be a bit overgrown especially over the pathways.

While the resort was nice and the apartments were spacious and modern, for the price we paid I expected a lot more. I understand we went during peak time but I still feel it was very over-priced for what we actually got irrespective of the time of year. We have stayed in other accommodation of similar pricing and star-rating before and this was definitely the lesser of the two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Relaxed_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Our family recently spent the weekend at this resort in a two bedroom villa. It was very clean and well equipped. It was pleasant to sit outside and have delicious take away pizza from the resort restaurant but there is no real view except of other villas but still nice and relaxing. As other reviewers have mentioned the beach is not great for kids, or adults I think as we could see rips and it was quite rough. The pool though is very nice and a good size. Outdoor furniture could do with some maintenance. We intended to dine in the restaurant on the Saturday night and were advised to make a booking when we checked in. When I went to make the booking at the restaurant I was told that it was closed for a wedding that evening, leaving no option but to leave the resort to find somewhere else for dinner. Blackhead beach bowling club was fine but I find it hard to believe that a 'resort' would just close the restaurant to all the guests without giving any other option. It was fine but a bit isolated and bare, wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeGios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this resort and it was excellent,we had a three bed apartment which was great it had everything in it that you needed.the only problem that I had was poor lighting around the resort it was very difficult to see where you were going when dark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I recently stayed at the location in a resort spa villa with my family. Previously I have stayed in a cottage and while cheap rates may be on offer at times I feel the resort villa / spa villas are worth the extra coin for better features/appointments. My kids love the main lagoon pool but the beach, while close by, is not a swimming one for the "littlies" (not patrolled and can be rough conditions at times). There is a playground, tennis court and a gym (needs work) if you feel the need to get active. The restaurant has "resort" prices so if you want to save some money head to the local supermarket about 10 mins drive away (Foodworks) or if you need one of the big 2 head into Forster. We found the villa to be clean on arrival and staff friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights quite nice bit out of the way have to get in the car if you need anything as shops are not in walking distance.
If looking for a quiet stay would be good but not in peak season as units are very close together.
Beach is very close but is not patrolled.We had a meal at the restaurant not the best selection and was a bit expensive.Watch out for the hidden costs from toilet paper to towels etc.The unit was very spacious and clean and very comfy so overall quite a good stay.

Room Tip: Apt 1 is a very good disabled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellacentralcoastNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The 2 bedroom cabin we hired was quite tasteful and the pool facility was good. I would give this property four stars, but my husband suggested 3, so I'd say overall we give it 3 1/2! There is just not a lot to do here, as other reviews have alluded to the restaurant seems to be closed on a whim so you can't rely on it, and every person I spoke to during our stay was having BBQ issues. But if you were mad on spending time at the beach or just wanted to laze about at the pool, would be a good option. The cabins are as others have said very close together so keep this in mind if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Beach
21.8 mi away
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Mobys Beachside Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
196 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diamond Beach Resort
Diamond Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Meridian Resort
Meridian Resort
#1 of 1 in Old Bar
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashells Beachfront Resort
Seashells Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Diamond Beach
56 reviews
12.0 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Forster
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Diamond Beach

Property: Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Address: 357 Diamond Beach Rd, Diamond Beach, New South Wales 2430, Australia (Formerly Australis Diamond Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Diamond Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diamond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Diamond Beach Resort And Spa
Australis Diamond Beach Forster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing