We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Resort Diamond Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diamond Beach
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

we recently stayed at australis and after reading some reviews we were surprised to find our 2 bedroom villa spotless and smelling very clean, there was dust on some of the blinds, but thats all i could complain about, the kitchen was clean and the bathrooms smelt clean and were spotless, good job to the cleaners of australis, i suggest people should see it for yourself, we ate in the restaurant although the service was a little slow, the food was beautiful, we will return for sure, its in the perfect spot for a romantic weekend away, thanks australis :)

Room Tip: resort spa villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    42
    22
    22
See reviews for
145
61
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

clean, grate size , love the owls, the spa was fun .

Room Tip: w 11 is good 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Earlier this year my family and I wanted a short getaway for a long weekend, we are busy and wanted to get away for some respite. We paid through the nose for the best this resort could offer - the ''beach house" however, when we arrived we were thoroughly disappointed. We expected 4.5 star 'luxury' and got no better than a backpackers hostel. The venetians and ceiling fans (covered in panty hose) were caked in dust, causing my young Son to experience hayfever. The curtains in the upstairs bedroom were covered with black mold, causing my asthma to become so bad, we had to source a nebuliser locally and eventually checked out early. The pillowcase in the downstairs bedroom was ripped, and the light switch in the bathroom 'crackled' when turned on. They did not charge us for the last night when we left early however, there was no follow up from management post the check out. I would never subject my family to a night in this place again - clean basic accommodation is fine with me; but a health hazard at 5 star rates has left us livid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConcernedMum255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamgr, General Manager at Ramada Resort Diamond Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear ConcernedMum255060

Thankyou for taking the time to submit this review. We encourage all feedback and whilst we prefer to hear that our guests have had a positive stay, it is important that we are also made aware of when things have not lived up to guests expectations. It is only through such feedback that we can improve on where we have fallen short.

As the newly appointed General Manager of Australis Diamond Beach I was horrified to read your comments about your stay earlier in the year. Whilst I was not around at the time of your visit and can't comment directly on why what you experienced duirng your stay was so below the standard the Resort has always set and built its reputation on and so inconsistent with the reviews of other guests both before and since your visit, I am confident that the issues you identified have been addressed.

Our whole resort team, but particularly our maintenance and housekeeping staff have been focused over the past couple of months on reviewing the cleanliness and standard of presentation of all our villas. I am confident that all our accommodation options are cleaned to a high standard and the more recent reviews following your visit seem to be reflecting this.

I can only apolgise that your stay was so disaapointing and would welcome you to contact me directly at the Resort at your convenience to discuss the issues in more detail.

Kind Regards
Matthew Wooldridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Diamond Beach hotels

Corlette
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Advertised as "family cabins", this would live up to expectations but it is hardly a resort. Reception closes at 5pm. On checkout, the receptionist doesn't have a clue what is going on but kindly offers to take our credit card details and somebody will sort it out. Chairs in the lounge room are uncomfortable square shaped and impractical. One bed side lamp means a walk to the bathroom in the dark, which would be Ok except there are stairs. Oh, no breakfast and no room service. Steak at the restaurant was over cooked. (Black head bowling club was a much better feed and better priced.) Beach views are possible from about 4 units. Our view was corrugated iron on the back of the next transportable cabin.
Clean, simple, value accommodation with a nice beach close by, walks and wildlife. The two owls overlooking the restaurant were very cute.The potential is there. Advertise honestly and you can exceed customer expectations. Call yourself a "resort" and customers will expect just that and be very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukejohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed two nights in a three bedroom apartment. Excellent and well maintained accomodation with lots of room and everything you need for a short stay. Walking distance to a nice beach. Very nice pool area and great opportunities for walks in the hinterland. We could extend our stay till 2 pm for a small fee.
The restaurant has a friendly atmosphere but the food is "average" but with good service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We only stoped as overnighters, but were pleased with our stay. It is more like an upmarket caravan park, the villas was just large cabins, although nicely fitted out. The "spa bath" should have been the children's bathroom with the large shower belonging to the adults. Very happy with the pool and pool area. A large highlight was the restaurant. The food was fabulous, the service was excellent. The children were well catered for, and the price was reasonable. They also had two barn owls nesting in the outdoors area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Had a big family holiday here over Easter 2012. Second visit after a two year absence. Happy to say it is still a great play. Location is great with short walk to beach, nice pools, kids club, tennis courts . . . . and generally a relaxing holiday.

We were informed that they were full over Easter, but it really didn't seem that way as the cabins are well spaced out. The staff accomodating the family well by grouping our cabins together so we were very close to each other. Much appreciated.

Only subtraction from the holiday was the on-site restaurant 3-nippers. We ate here on Easter Sunday 2 years agio and had a great time. Packed restaurant, great atmosphere, wine tasting, great menu, very enjoyable.

This time the restaurant was empty, and once we saw the menu we understood why. The menu was very small, and not very exciting. And unfortunately the meal size and taste was disappointing. Lobster servings were small, not much trout in the trout salad dish, salad was unwashed with granuals of sand in them . . . . not very good. Give this restaurant a miss.

So in short, great holiday, great place to stay, but don't touch the restaurant.

Room Tip: You are not getting anything extra for a cabin with a spa. Just a bathtub with jets. Just pick the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank da_dogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ramada Resort Diamond Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear da dogboy

Thankyou for your review following your Easter 2012 visit to our Resort. We value all feedback and appreciate it when people take the time to highlight the things we do well but also to indicate those areas where they feel we have mis-managed their expectations.
Whilst it is very positive to hear that after a 2 year absence you found that the Resort offered the same levels of amenity and service it is disappointing to read about your less than memorable experiences in the 3 Nippers Restaurant. Your comments have been taken on board and passed onto our restaurant team to assist them in improving where required.
Having recently taken over as the Resort General Manager I welcome your feedback particularly in relation to the perception of a decline in the atmosphere and dining experience compared to your previous visit. Over the past couple of months the restaurant team have been focused on establishing a new menu with a wider selection of meal choices and price points and some of the more recent feedback reflects positive changes in this area. Our functions team have also been working closely with the restaurant to ensure there is a variety of entertainment and events on a regular basis so as to provide more than just a dining experience and to recreate some of that atmosphere to which you experienced previously.
I trust you will visit the Resort again in the near future and I look forward to your candid feedback which I am sure will reflect the positive recent changes undertaken in the restaurant.

Kind Regards

Matthew Wooldridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Beach
21.8 mi away
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Mobys Beachside Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 10 in Forster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diamond Beach Resort
Diamond Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Meridian Resort
Meridian Resort
#1 of 1 in Old Bar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashells Beachfront Resort
Seashells Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Diamond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hallidays Point
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hal...
#3 of 3 in Hallidays Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Diamond Beach

Property: Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Address: 357 Diamond Beach Rd, Diamond Beach, New South Wales 2430, Australia (Formerly Australis Diamond Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Diamond Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diamond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Resort Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Diamond Beach Resort And Spa
Australis Diamond Beach Forster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing