We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diamond Beach
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Had a big family holiday here over Easter 2012. Second visit after a two year absence. Happy to say it is still a great play. Location is great with short walk to beach, nice pools, kids club, tennis courts . . . . and generally a relaxing holiday.

We were informed that they were full over Easter, but it really didn't seem that way as the cabins are well spaced out. The staff accomodating the family well by grouping our cabins together so we were very close to each other. Much appreciated.

Only subtraction from the holiday was the on-site restaurant 3-nippers. We ate here on Easter Sunday 2 years agio and had a great time. Packed restaurant, great atmosphere, wine tasting, great menu, very enjoyable.

This time the restaurant was empty, and once we saw the menu we understood why. The menu was very small, and not very exciting. And unfortunately the meal size and taste was disappointing. Lobster servings were small, not much trout in the trout salad dish, salad was unwashed with granuals of sand in them . . . . not very good. Give this restaurant a miss.

So in short, great holiday, great place to stay, but don't touch the restaurant.

Room Tip: You are not getting anything extra for a cabin with a spa. Just a bathtub with jets. Just pick the n...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank da_dogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear da dogboy

Thankyou for your review following your Easter 2012 visit to our Resort. We value all feedback and appreciate it when people take the time to highlight the things we do well but also to indicate those areas where they feel we have mis-managed their expectations.
Whilst it is very positive to hear that after a 2 year absence you found that the Resort offered the same levels of amenity and service it is disappointing to read about your less than memorable experiences in the 3 Nippers Restaurant. Your comments have been taken on board and passed onto our restaurant team to assist them in improving where required.
Having recently taken over as the Resort General Manager I welcome your feedback particularly in relation to the perception of a decline in the atmosphere and dining experience compared to your previous visit. Over the past couple of months the restaurant team have been focused on establishing a new menu with a wider selection of meal choices and price points and some of the more recent feedback reflects positive changes in this area. Our functions team have also been working closely with the restaurant to ensure there is a variety of entertainment and events on a regular basis so as to provide more than just a dining experience and to recreate some of that atmosphere to which you experienced previously.
I trust you will visit the Resort again in the near future and I look forward to your candid feedback which I am sure will reflect the positive recent changes undertaken in the restaurant.

Kind Regards

Matthew Wooldridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 283 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

The food and service at 3 Nippers is 1st class. This is our 5th night of 7 and have enjoyed most of the menu. It is with pleasure I recommend the Chicken roulle accompanied with an excellent relish. The chicken was rolled in spinach, pesto and sun dried tomatoes and then everything was wrapped in bacon and due to the multiple layers a mixture of crispy and soft bacon really added to the taste experience. The slow cooking made everything so tender you could break the chicken with your fork.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizwaynerobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Dothis46

Thankyou for taking the time to provide a review of your visit to Australis Diamond Beach Resort & Spa during April. It is pleasing to hear that you had such positive dining experiences in the 3 Nippers Restaurant during your stay.
Our restaurant team are enthusiastic and committed to offering a high quality dining experience that represents good value and it would appear that they delivered on this during your numerous nights of dining.
I have passed on your comments to our team as they truly appreciate it when someone takes the time to acknowledge their performance.
We trust that we will see you again in the near future and that your dining experience will be equally as memorable.

Kind Regards

Matthew Wooldridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at this resort & we were really impressed. The villa we stayed in was roomy & had everything to enjoy our stay, even a king size bed & a dishwasher. The rooms were very clean & comfortable & well maintained. The restaurant was closed for a wedding so we didn't get to sample the food there, but saw the menu & it looked a little pricey. We purchased meat & had a bbq, with a decent little barbeque right on the deck of the villa, another night we bought takeaway. Overall we were very happy with the resort & would recommend it to anyone, we are booked to go again in May.

Room Tip: The villas have ample room for a family of four, with two bedrooms & the kids have there own ens...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Leanne V.
Thankyou for taking the time to provide a review of our Resort following your visit in March earlier this year. At Australis Diamond Beach we pride ourselves on delivering a high quality guest experience and value honest guest feedback to assist us in determining the areas we are excelling in and to identify those areas that may require a greater focus.
I have passed your comments onto our team and particularly those related to the cleanliness and standard of the villas.
Whilst your overall experience was obviously very positive I do note your comments regarding the perception of our restaurant menu seeming a little pricey. Over the past couple of months the restaurant team have undertaken a complete review of the menu and it's pricing and I'm sure you will notice when you next visit that the new menu offers a greater selection of meals at prices that reflect real value for money.
We look forward to you visiting again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Excellent spa, great pool, rooms very comfortable, excellent walks along the beach to cute shops, good coffee from the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troppodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamgr, Manager at Ramada Resort Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thanks to comments as yours that we are able to use this feedback onto are staff.
At Australis Diamond Beach we pride ourselves on delivering a great value for money product, and excellent customer service, it is clear that we did deliver on those values in this instance. Your experience certainly did live up to the standards which we as a resort hold ourselves to.

Kind Regards

Marcus Hammond
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay in an apartment & all in all have to say it was Fantastic.
The girls at reception were very friendly, the room was fantastic & clean.
The location was spot on (only a few minutes walk & your on the beach).
The food from the restaurant was top notch.
I even saw rabbits running all over the place which added a cute touch.
Suggest you go & try it out for yourselves.
We will be back :)

Room Tip: Apartments or the beachouses.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamgr, Manager at Ramada Resort Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Shane K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, and I am glad to hear that your experience with us at Australis Diamond Resort was a positive one. I take all feedback very seriously, and it is thanks to comments as yours that we are able to use this feedback to improve our resort and pass onto all our staff.

Kind Regards

Marcus Hammond
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night in February. The "villa" is really more like a cabin/mobile home, but it was well-appointed and contained everything we needed, except a spare blanket in one bedroom. The bathrooms and most furniture are looking tired though - mould in the bathrooms, stains on the lounge/soft furnishings, and a cockroach problem (although insect spray was provided in the laundry). We were looking forward to eating at the restaurant, however it closed at 8pm which is when we arrived - but the takeaway fish and chips was reasonably priced and very nice.

The main negative was lack of wi-fi as I was needing to work during my stay: in this day and age, I expect wi-fi access to be provided and also included in my room rate (no extra charges) so for this reason I would not choose to stay at Australis again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Itchyfeet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamgr, Manager at Ramada Resort Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, and I am extremely sorry to hear that your experience with us at Australis Diamond Resort was not a positive one. I take all feedback very seriously, and it is thanks to comments as yours that we are able to use this feedback to improve our Resort.
Your experience certainly did not live up to the standards which we as a Resort hold ourselves to. I do not seek to hide behind any excuses in relation to the issues you experienced, however I can give you my assurances that all the issues you raised are being thoroughly investigated, and will look into rectifying as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at Australis Diamond Beach through peak season in January and had a wonderful time. Staff are friendly and helpful. The kids could not get enough of the pools and bike track and most of all the kids club the carers/girls genuine, friendly and enthusiastic! Entertained our kids and they loved pizza night! While we sat back and enjoyed 3 nippers. Rooms were tidy but I agree with the need to update. Will be back next year as requested by the kids!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familygalxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamgr, Manager at Ramada Resort Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, and I am glad to hear that your experience with us at Australis Diamond Resort was a positive one. I will take on board your comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Beach
21.8 mi away
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Mobys Beachside Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diamond Beach Resort
Diamond Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
60 reviews
4.3 mi away
Meridian Resort
Meridian Resort
#1 of 1 in Old Bar
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seashells Beachfront Resort
Seashells Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Diamond Beach
56 reviews
2.5 mi away
Secura Lifestyle Happy Hallidays
Secura Lifestyle Happy Hallidays
#1 of 3 in Hallidays Point
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Beach Holiday Park
Diamond Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Diamond Beach
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Diamond Beach

Address: 357 Diamond Beach Rd, Diamond Beach, New South Wales 2430, Australia (Formerly Australis Diamond Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Diamond Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diamond Beach
Price Range: $102 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Diamond Beach Resort And Spa
Australis Diamond Beach Forster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing