We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, definitely recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel, definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel with our 4 year old son and we have had a fantastic time. Having read some of the reviews before we went I was a little worried, but I do think in some cases the reviews have been harsh or maybe some people have been very unluckily!

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed warmly and our expectations were blown away with the interior and look of the hotel, it really is beautiful. Our room was perfect overlooking the fish gardens, very clean and spacious. The only poor element was the quality of the sofa bed, like others have stated it was poor (you could literally feel every spring in it!). Fortunately our 4 year old was so tired at the end of each day he was never bothered.

The restaurants were great and we did manage to book all of them at convenient times. I appreciate the booking service must be difficult in high season, but at the time we visited we had no issues. The buffet was always excellent, great choice and we were always given good service with lots of wine top ups! We did choose the all inclusive option and I'm glad we did as I do believe the drinks are expensive, so definitely worth paying the extra for this as I'm sure we got our money's worth just from soft drinks and coffees alone!

The staff from Sensatori particularly the entertainments team were excellent. The reps were friendly and helpful, the crèche team were lovely and the entertainments team really put 100% into every show they put on. Amy and Kenny were a real favourite with the playhouse live shows for children, our son loved this, they could have just stepped off of cbeebies!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a family friendly holiday that is luxurious at the same time. It is in an isolated spot so if you want commercial shops or other restaurants outside of the hotel you will be disappointed. Also this is a pool holiday, if you like beaches head to costa adeje as this is where you will find golden sand, it's all black surrounding this hotel so not very appealing if you like a beach holiday.

We had a fantastic week and would definitely return, but would most certainly book all inclusive again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the fish pools was nice and pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxtonjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mrs. luxtonjen,

We would like to begin by thanking you for the time you have spent on sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor, as well as for your preference in selecting us for your recent holiday at Tenerife.

We are glad to know that your family enjoyed a lovely stay with us. Your compliments on our entertainment program, gastronomic offer and rooms are highly appreciated, although we will take into consideration your comments regarding our sofa beds.

We always consider all your feedbacks in order to offer the best service and accomplish our main goal: to provide the superior customer service. As you may know, we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we want.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to our resort soon.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,973
    1,501
    663
    223
    171
See reviews for
2,290
3,327
60
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

earn the stars they carry, money was worth spending there. we had a wounderful relaxing time. what I liked most-the hotel is in a town, where there is not other hotel within the next 5km to the south/north, which means you have a a handful restaurants and bars in walking distance, where also the locals go to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mr. K K,

Thank you for the time you have spent in sharing your nice review on TripAdvisor, as well as for choosing us for your recent holiday at Tenerife.

We are very proud to know that your experience at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora satisfied your expectations and that our surroundings were to your liking. As you know our principal goal is to give you our best service, make your stay exclusive and unforgettable. Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to assure our Guest Satisfaction.

We hope to see you soon at our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Staying at this hotel now and just been told by a very upset guest that the pool boy has told him he is not allowed to use his own "blue" towel what next they will be telling us what colour shorts to wear around the pool, interesting last year all the hotel pool towels were Blue ?? WHY does the hotel manager not come and speak to guests rather than sending the pool boy, A great hotel being spoilt by silly rules not expected in a 5 Star hotel. Someone needs to start communicating with guests. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in 7 stars hotels but never ever have I seen a resort hotel set such rules, !! I did not see any mention of this rule when we booked this hotel , they really do know how to drive customers away here at the Grand Melia Palace

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Mr. P4949,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your recent holiday, as well as for the time you have spent on sharing your impressions with us.

After checking the situation you mentioned on our reports, we would like you to know that our Pool Concierge team just informed these guests that we have towels available for all of our guests and there is no need for them to carry their own towels, as we have plenty of them to use if needed.

We hope this misunderstanding did not besmirched your impression of our resort.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a 5 star hotel on the outside, in reality it's a dive.
tonight our 2nd night we watched a waiter give away something (to who appeared to be a freind of his as he spent 40 mins talking to them about his cousins and uncles, which was surprising as the hotel applies a "strict" no visitors or guests policy throughout) only for the owner of the item to come back and reclaim it from the said person who reluctantly gave it back.
We then went to the disco, to be ignored for 45 minutes and the people to our right who seemed like sales reps to be served twice.
when we said excuse me we were stared at as we had thrown something at the waiter only to be told "your not even next"
and then another in plain clothes enters the bar area and starts to kick things and throw his weight around.
It turns out this was the arrogant waiter from the pool bar that morning.
He was rude to everoné that morning and at that time of night he seemed more intoxicated than most of the clients.

that is one problem with the staff.

The hotel has an all inclusive package. but getting served even in the day is impossible.
They have points around the pool to summon waiters for drinks. We were in the same spot for 2.5 hours and watched dozens of people wait and wait with no service.
I went to the bar twice myself only to be told to return to my place and wait, I refused so the waiter showed me a screen which apparently said I never pressed the button and neither had anyone else for that matter. He then said maybe the button(s) weren't working.
so we changed pools and went to the one 10 yards from the bar. same story all afternoon.

We asked one of the extremely polite reception girls what the problem was and she asked the waiter only to be insulted by him.
maybe they thought we didn't understand Spanish??!!??

if you want. 5 star room it's good. but the service is 2 star if you can find a member of bar/restaurant staff who isn't too arrogant or too busy with their own mobile to help or serve.
For the price they charge for everything it is the biggest rip off imaginable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Teneriferesident13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Mr. Teneriferesident13,

First we would like to thank you for the time you have spent on sharing with us your impressions regarding your last stay at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora, as well for having chosen our resort for your last holiday at Tenerife.

Regarding the situations you mentioned, we would like to inform you that the behavior you describe does not match the code of conduct of all of our team. The incidents explained on your review are not usual at any of our bars or restaurants, as all of our team strives to always offer the highest standards of service, as it is due to our commitment to service excellence. We will take into consideration each of our comments and we will perform a thorough investigation to determine if this kind of events happen. Also, after checking carefully our front desk reports, we would like to inform you that there are not any complaints recorded about our waiters on the dates of your stay you mentioned (13th and 14th June).

We hope that your experience at our resort was not besmirched by this incidents and we hope that you will trust us again for your holiday, as we will do our best for you to enjoy a wonderful time at our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Merseyside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We simply adore this hotel. It has everything we need for a prefect holiday. We requested our room ahead of arrival and was really pleased our request was granted. We never had a problem with any restaurant booking and pleasingly ate in our favourite restaurant the Italian several times. The BBQ on Friday night is a must. The staff can't do enough for you here. The service in the bar was fabulous and our drinks were remembered! One night a whiskey arrived for my hubby before he had even ordered it. That's service for you. If you are friendly and look after the waiters they definitely look after you.
Overall another amazing holiday and we can't wait to return in November.

Room Tip: High floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mrs. GTH1,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your impressions with the TripAdvisor community.

It is truly a pleasure for all of our team to know that you have chosen us again to enjoy a lovely holiday for the 4th time. Thank you for trusting us for your stays at Tenerife, as the loyalty of our guests encourage us to keep on working with the same service philosophy to always offer our guests unforgettable experiences at the island.

We remain at your complete disposal.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here in March and were truly impressed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We only ate in the buffet but this was more than adequate, the choice was huge at each meal. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were very comfortable. The light switches took some working out, in fact were extremely complicated.it was a bit isolated but that suited us well. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mrs. Andrea841,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share such an excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a wonderful holiday, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff, that we are able to accomplish our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to see you soon at our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We (Me, my Husband and 3 year old daughter) booked our holiday via Thomsons in January and stayed at Sensatori Tenefire for 10 days at the end of May/beginning of June.
We were a little worried having read some of the reviews, but we found this hotel to be excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were so sweet with our daughter always made a fuss of her.
The food was fantastic in the buffet and also the Italian restaurant. Service was fast and they were always topping up your glass at lunch and dinner (apart from on the terrace club ocean in the evening which could be very slow).
The hotel is spotless and the rooms are excellent. The entertainment was good compared to other hotels we have stayed at and the kids playhouse live was brilliant (as was the kids club through the day)
The only 2 minor complaints we have is that the sofa bed for our daughter was terrible - the mattress was very thin - I think when you are paying this amount for a holiday your child should get a proper bed. And secondly the restaurant booking system is odd - you have to book very late (after midnight) or very early (730am) to get in at a restaurant, especially if you want to get an early slot when dining with young children.
We'd recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely go back again although we would probably try one of the other sensatori hotels next time.

Room Tip: Sensatori rooms are well out of the centre of the hotel - if you book direct with Gran Melia you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Mrs. JDPW,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your recent holiday at Tenerife, as well as for the time you have taken to share your comments with us through TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that your family has enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us, as all of our staff strives every day to pamper each of our guests. We are glad to know that our gastronomic offer and rooms, although we will take into consideration your comments regarding our sofa beds.

Referring to the restaurant booking system managed by Sensatori, you may rest assured that we will forward your comments to our colleges from Thomson, in order for them to take them into consideration four future improvements. Also, we would like to inform you that we do have enough seats for all of our guests in our 8 restaurants, even though sometimes it may be difficult to book a table for an specific restaurant at an exact time that you prefer. That is why our team recommends to book in advance, in order to try to get the reservation you want.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
9.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,317 reviews
9.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing