We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$352
$328
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Isora(Playa de la Arena)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Globales Tamaimo Tropical(Puerto de Santiago)
$87
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ona El Marques(Santiago del Teide)(Great Value!)
$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama(Guia de Isora)
$432
$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,589)
Filter reviews
7,589 results
Traveler rating
4,533
1,763
799
276
218
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,533
1,763
799
276
218
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfamily poolmarket grillbuffet restaurantpiano bargarden roomred levelbeautiful hotelsensatori guestssalt waterbooking systema la carte restaurantsthe wow factorclub oceanwaiter servicepirate shipthe sofa bed
Filter
Updating list...
2,694 - 2,699 of 7,589 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The red level is a must for a great relaxing week the other part of the hotel was not so good and many people there were complaining

Major disappointment was the standards of the restaurants apart from the French one in the red level side considering the prices they charged it was very poor luckily we booked bed and breakfast so started to eat out in the village where there was some lovely small places to eat. Steer clear of the Japanese tapernaki food very poor and covered in a shower of salt a complete rip off

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Mr. David W,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this review of Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor, as well as for choosing us for your recent holiday at Tenerife.

Thank you very much for your criticism and constructive comments. All your comments have been reported to each area supervisor and they will be taken into account in the future to better ourselves. We will continue working to improve our services, as our top priority is to provide the best experience to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The management on the front desk was disgusting... I'd checked out after paying my £8,000.00 bill. Only to have my flight canceled at the airport. I then returned to the resort with my two children, partner and nanny. I was then charged full rates only to have the suite from 12.30am until 10am ( hotel was half empty) This is not the way to do business and as such I will never return to this hotel. We where treated very badly at this resort, I can't say I'd ever recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
4  Thank James_156428337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Mr. James_156428337,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share with us your impressions regarding your recent stay at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

After checking our reception reports to analyze your case, we would like to remind you that as our reception staff informed you during your check in on June 2nd at 23:35, all the rates at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora are charged by night. Therefore, the full rate of the Mastersuite you chose was charged, as you decided to spend the night with us.

We hope that you had a pleasant flight back home and we remain at your complete disposal for any further information regarding our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the recent half term and were extremely impressed. The rooms are huge and although we hadn't requested a sea view we had a wonderful outlook onto the mountains, sea and a banana plantation from our 4th floor balcony (4025) The only down side to the room was the poor quality of the sofa bed which our 11 year old grandson slept on so the hotel really do need to address this as I have read other reviews that mention this issue.

The food was all very good, we ate at all the restaurants included in the sensatori package including the sought after Italian on 2 occasions. We did have to make some effort get up early to book this but managed even in a busy week so we really can't understand al the moans from other reviewers regarding the booking system. We also didn't have any problems getting our drinks topped up at meal times.

The hotel grounds and seating areas are stunning with its out of this world infinity pool. Again although it was a busy week we had no problems getting sunbeds. The promenade area in front of the hotel is also very pleasant for a stroll.

For us the entertainment could probably be improved on and there was little to do for young teens but apart from that this is a wonderful hotel and would definitely recommend it to couples and families for a relaxing week in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 4025 has great views of the sea and mountains
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julia15w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Mrs. julia15w,

We would like to begin by thanking you for choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday and for the time you have spent in sharing your comments with us.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and that our facilities and rooms were of your liking, although we will take into consideration your comments regarding our sofa-beds. We are glad to know that you liked the food served in our restaurants as well, as we create our gastronomic offer for our guests to enjoy the best dishes in unique environments.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I visited here with my adult son in February, and after reading some more recent reviews, I'm pleased we did not visit in 'peak season'. The main restaurant was only just coping with service at half capacity, and the system for pre booking, (or trying to book) at the most popular restaurant was ridiculous! My son managed only once at 6.30 am to reserve a table!
We booked last minute on a full board basis, house wine/ beer was included with lunch & dinner.
On arrival you soon realised that there is most definitely a 'pecking order' at the hotel!
There are the obvious all inclusive packages, but then there is the 'red level' and most of the guests seem to be staying at the Gran Melia Hotel, not the Sensatori, and at times you are made to feel like the 'poor relation'!
The hotel was clean, rooms modern & spacious with a large well equipped bathroom with a good hair dryer, nice robes, slippers etc. be warned though... If you like well lit rooms, you will hate the 'mood lighting'!
There are a number of pools, with the stunning infinity pool being the most popular, although very cold!
Most staff were very friendly, although some of the staff in the main, buffet style restaurant were not overly helpful.
The food was of a good standard, especially the 'impossible to book' Italian style restaurant!
The nightly fountain/music display was very 'Las Vegas'!
There is not too much to do outside the hotel, a walk along the rocky front to a nearby town is about it, but Las Americas is only a 15 min taxi ride...
All things considered, we had an enjoyable week, I would return for another out of season break, but would book the red level service next time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Mrs. Annaannabarnes,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday at Tenerife, as well as for the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our rooms and facilities, although we would like to inform you that our Infinity Pool’s temperature is due to its salt water from the ocean, which cannot be heated. We appreciate each of your comments as a valuable tool for us to carry on with our efforts to always offer the best service.

Referring to the restaurant booking system, we would like to inform you that we do have enough seats for all of our guests in our restaurants, even though sometimes it may be difficult to book a table for an specific restaurant at an exact time of your liking. That is why our team recommends to book in advance, in order to try to get the reservation you want.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have visited five times in the past 3 years and the hotel, service and staff have always been consistently excellent. In a quiet area of Tenerife and although there is no beach to speak of the huge infinity pool filled with sea water makes up for it, plus a family pool and adults only pool.
A great choice of restaurants, especially the Duo with its new Tapas+Wine bar. However, it is the staff who make you feel so welcome and are always so pleased to see returning clients. We will be back in this hotel in October, when the weather is still fantastic.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have Bali beds. a great way to relax in your own outdoor space.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthDevonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Mrs. PlymouthDevonLady,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your valuable comments with us through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our team, that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. It is a pleasure to know that our Dúo Tapas & Wine Bar exceeded your expectations, as well as the rest of our gastronomic offer.

Besides this, we would like to inform you that we do have a beach located just at 3 minutes on foot, as well as some natural pools filled with water from the Atlantic Ocean. La Jaquita beach has volcanic black sand and Beach Concierge service with umbrellas and hammocks.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again next October.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews