We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Isora(Playa de la Arena)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Bahia Flamingo(Playa de la Arena)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Village Tenerife(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Globales Tamaimo Tropical(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ona El Marques(Santiago del Teide)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,521)
Filter reviews
7,521 results
Traveler rating
4,497
1,745
791
273
215
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,497
1,745
791
273
215
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfamily poolmarket grillbuffet restaurantpiano bargarden roomred levelbeautiful hotelsensatori guestssalt waterbooking systema la carte restaurantsthe wow factorclub oceanwaiter servicepirate shipthe sofa bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,730 - 2,735 of 7,521 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was my second visit (booked via Thomsons Sensatori) to this truly wonderful hotel. I have also been fortunate to stay in the Gran Melia Colon in Seville.

This hotel is a real gem and I have to say reading previous reports, I cannot fault any of the staff. I would like to particularly praise the staff in Club Ocean restaurant whom made us feel so welcome on every level being totally attentive and polite throughout our visit. Nothing was too much trouble even on busy nights! A real pleasure and the food was superb.

I have as I previously stated stayed before and there are many improvements since my last visit for the better of all guests I would say! I have to say the booking system that Sensatori guests are subjected to needs looking at as often the restaurant was no-where near to capacity! That said, if you are polite and ask, you often get what you require!! I cannot fault anything that Gran Melia do.

Food, facilities, staff all a complete credit to the hotel.

Thank you for a fantastic time Gran Melia.

Room Tip: Email the hotel prior to arrival. Ask the hotel staff when in resort if you want something that Thomsons can't provide!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRWLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Mr. DRWLeeds_UK,

All of the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora’s team would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to write such an excellent review of our resort, as well as for choosing us again to spend your holiday.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have decided to trust us again to enjoy a wonderful time in Tenerife, as it encourages us to keep working to offer our guests the most unforgettable experiences. We will forward your kind comments to our Club Ocean’s staff, who will be delighted to know that you have enjoyed their service. Your comments about our facilities and food are highly appreciated too.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for the third time at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice 5 star hotel but not the best location and overall a disappointing experience due to long queues at reception and buffet breakfast / dinner etc. Staff less friendly and helpful than most similar standard hotels. Also not very child friendly as several areas of the hotel and some pools and restaurants are off limits to under 16 year olds. I would only stay again for a short break if the price was very attractive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Mr. Jonathan G.,

Thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your last holiday at Tenerife and for spending some of your valuable time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

As you said in your review, in our resort with more than 70,000 square meters, there are some areas which are just for adults, although we have several areas for children as the Pirate Pool, Family Pool, Infinity Pool, our MiniClub, our Teenagers Club, the Red Level For Families Lounge and the Sensatori’s nursery. Also, our activities team offers every day a lot of sports and activities designed for families or just children. We are glad that so many families (more than 500 children during your stay) choose us to spend a lovely family holiday and we do our best for them to have a wonderful time here.

We hope to welcome you again at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our room was robbed one day after our arrival, after speaking to the hotel staff it soon became apparent this was a fairly common occurance. Spent a lovely day at the police station reporting the crime.

Thomson raised our concerns to the Hotel director who did not bother to contact us.

Two days after the theft we returned to our room in the evening to find the maid had left our door open.

Don't take anything with you that you do not wish to lose, Hotel building is lovely but the surrounding area is filled with gypies who gather at the hotel perimiter, madness to place a hotel in such an area.

Buffet and Italian restaurants are okish but other restaurants are awful.

We are taking our grievancies to the hotel group.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank REAGAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Mrs. REAGAN N.,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking some of your time to share your impressions about Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor, as well as for having chosen us to spend your recent holiday at Tenerife.

Referring to the situation you mentioned, we are sorry that we were not able to find your valuable comb during your stay. This kind of incident is not usual in our resort, as our staff is very careful regarding our guests’ belongings to avoid certain situations to happen. We are really concerned about your comments regarding our surroundings, as we have never heard about any criminal gang operating in the area. Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora is located near the charming fishing village of Alcalá, in the southwest of the island, where peace and quietness are the main attractions for our guests. It is usual to find locals exercising along the marvelous promenade located just in front of our hotel, but we have never had any problem with the local community as you suggest.

Do not hesitate that we will contact you if we find your lost item.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We would totally recomment Gran Melia Palacio de Isora resort and spa. The big stand out was the Red level for families, the service was amazing. The children had an amazing time and we were able to relax and unwind knowing that the children had so much to do from friendly staff. A huge thank you to Ana,Charlotte and Alessandra you all went out of your way to make the trip memorable, the special touch of hiding easter eggs in our room for the children to find was lovely and a welcome gift for the kids made them excited from the moment they arrived. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Mrs. Trish M.,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to spend your last family holiday in Tenerife, as well as for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that your family enjoyed our Red Level For Families service. Your may rest assured that your kind comments will be forwarded to Ana, Charlotte and Aleksandra, who will be glad to know that your family had a lovely holiday with us.

We remain at your complete disposal.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the Palacio de Isora in Easter 2014. We went for the RedLevel for Families and I have to say is totally worth it. We were very pleased with the service (including the our personal butler for the RedLevel to arrange bookings and everything else) and all the facilities in the hotel (incredible swimming pools for adults and children, excellent mini club for kids).
The food is very good as well, we had lunch/dinners in every restaurant of the hotel and we really liked them.
Lastly, the activities organised by the hotel are great - particulary the sports activities (Jasmine is the best!!).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Mr. Javier P.,

First, we would like to thank you for having chosen Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to enjoy a lovely Easter holiday, as well as for writing this excellent review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our Red Level For Families service, as all of our team works every day to offer you unforgettable experiences, where every member of the family enjoys every minute here. We will forward your kind comments to our activities staff, who will be delighted to know that our sports program fulfilled your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming your family again at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews