We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a 7 day total chill!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Fantastic accomodation, pools and grounds exceptionally clean and well managed. Overall the hotel is very good worthy of at least 5 stars. Food is good but the buffet at times is abit manic whilst getting a table at one of the restauarants can be abit of a mission as the bookings need to be done 2 days in advance and to be sure of a place done before 7am!

Room Tip: Garden suite was idealic and quiet
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurbanboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Mr. DurbanboyLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to know that our facilities, services and staff exceeded your expectations.

Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience.

We will be delighted to attend you in the future. We would like to see you again in our hotel Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora, as soon as possible.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,017)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,514 - 2,520 of 7,017 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just back from a one week stay booked with Thomson in deluxe garden room with Bali Bed. Lots of positives in terms of lovely location, adult-only pool, infinity pool, buffet meals and staff on complex. However, we found the room to be over-fussy with over complicated lighting etc. It was also quite dark with no sun making it to the room at anytime. This made the Bali Bed useless as it was cold and uninviting so not used at all.The main issue is with the grading of different guests with the Red level the top and Thomson guests somewhere at the bottom. This means you get parts of the pool areas sectioned off with loungers only available to certain guests. To me this was rather strange and just felt in very bad taste. The system for booking meals is way too much trouble and in our week we only got one night in the Club Ocean restaurant. Despite being up early for the gym I never got other slots. To be fair the buffet suited us well anyway. Another positive was the excellent gym open 24 hours a day. Please note other hotels! In short we had a very relaxing stay but the hotel could be so much better if a few things were changed.

Room Tip: Maybe go without too high expectations....
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldershot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Aldershot123,

We would to express our gratitude for choosing our resort for your vacation and for having taken some of you valuable time to share your impressions with us through TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed a lovely holiday, although we will take into consideration each of your comments as a great value for us to keep on improving ourselves to offer the highest standards of quality in every aspect of our activities.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We felt pampered by the quality of the room, the bedding, an iPod Dock, large tub, storage room aplenty and a lovely terrace. The kids enjoyed both the pirate pool and the larger pool. The staff were very welcoming and always courteous and friendly. We have been here twice and I was expecting a slight decrease in service or quality of food between the two visits which were over a year apart. Happily I can report the service and resort offerings remain excellent. We will return again as with each visit we discover more and more about the resort and the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mrs Allison M,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay and for spending your time sharing your feedback, as this is the best way to improve and better ourselves.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. We remain at your complete disposal.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just returned from an 11 day stay at this amazing place. Wow, felt as though we were in paradise. Here is an honest review.

Pro's - beautifully kept absolutely everywhere and whole resort has a lovely smell as if someone goes around spraying it with aroma therapy oils! The staff great with a courteous 'ola' and place their hand on their name badge which is very lovely and always genuine. When you walk through the main entrance you feel transported into this serene luxurious world.

There are so many chill out areas and wonderful spots to lie in the sun or the shade and you never feel harassed by anyone.

The food was wonderful with the exception of the paella we ate in the Oasis Grill - rather unpleasant meat in it. This was a lovely place to eat lunch or dinner and had a totally different feel at both parts of the day. Mohammed who works there is just the most delightful person and a credit to the hotel. The Market Grill, great for lunch and the Ocean Club Italian, superb. Pangea was great for breakfast and lunch with show cooking and huge choice.

We only had a standard room although I think it is called a Dulux but huge and clean although lighting poor in places. (4032) Shower water ended up everywhere due to bad design but this wasn't a serious issue. Bed was superb with lovely pillows and a duvet as apposed to hard sheets and stiff blanket that you get in a lot of hotels.

Piano bar is lovely after dinner with the most amazing singer and shows are well put together if this is your type of thing - very professional.

Con's (sorry Gran Melia) not many - on our half board plus, drinks were included with meals but beer is served in very small glasses, less than half pint glass and staff needed to be called to replenish most of the time and when paying for it at other times was actually being sold in these same size glasses and it worked out poor value for money.

The 'sensatori' music piped all around the hotel is very repetitive and needs to be varied. Drives you slightly mad after a few days of hearing the exact same CD!

I don't think anyone can be disappointed with this hotel. We can't wait to go back although want to try Crete and Mexico Sensatori first.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mrs Tina H,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

Your honest opinion is an invaluable reference for other customers who are thinking of staying with us, for this reason we really appreciate the time that you have taken to publish your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate so much all the feedback from our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve all our facilities and service.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Having looked at the sensatori brochures in the past I always thought they can't be that special? Well let me tell you they are!
We booked a week in December 2013 for a cheeky little break pre Christmas and having looked at the pictures we decided to give this hotel a try.
On arrival we were greeted by the usual door men but there was just something extra special about the operation,off to reception our cases now long gone and checked in, in minutes. A very friendly greeting and with a map of the hotel grounds in our hand off we went to our room. We requested a sea view ( have to pay a little extra) however it's with it and upon entering we were not disappointed. A modern spacious room with mood lighting, plasma, docking station along with a safe, fridge and tea and coffee. A deluxe room is standard at this hotel and you would not be disappointed. Also I have to mention The bathroom, huge bath separate rain fall shower and all the mod cons Inc speaker system for your music.
You also have a balcony with stunning views of the Atlantic. No plastic chairs here a very nice sofa and table to sit on and take in the views.
Now for facilities wow is all I can say the choice of. Eateries is amazing proper gourmet dining or you can choose the world buffet. Seriously wonderful entertainment in the theatre and really talented entertainment in the piano bar each evening.
Now for the pools AMAZING..... we were took aback at the magnificence of the infinity pool it's the most stunning sight. along with the other pools you are spoilt for choice and if like us your kids have grown up then the adult only areas are paradise. Waiter service to your sun bed is a little bit of luxury. And nothing is too much trouble.
In a nutshell a real treat to stay here beautiful decor and surroundings immaculately clean a true luxurious escape go on treat yourself :)
Oh and as its a green hotel the 20 euro's they credit you for not having a maid service is a welcome little bonus you can use arsound the hotel a Bali bed for the day or take it off your final bill? It's up to you.
Were already booked in for 2014 and cannot wait :)))

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kerry salmon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Mr. kerry salmon s,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and your compliments are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed last week in the Red Level -Gran Melia, very satisfied very standard of Hotel and Service- I will definitely go back. They say people not places make memories- and a special Thank you to all the staff at Gran Melia, who do a great job.
Only issue I had is that 'Duo Restaurant' was a big disappointment in terms of Food/Wines/and front of house restaurant staff, they have the facilities,
but miss out in the execution of the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank 481TrevorMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mr. 481TrevorMac,

Thank you very much for your interest in our hotel.

Thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions about your last stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Kinds Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday commencing 27th February with a friend to sensatori Tenerife. This was my second visit to this hotel and it certainly won't be the last. This holiday from beginning to end was truly spectacular. Check in was quick and efficient having completed details on transfer. I had forgotten the wonderful smell of orange blossom as you enter hotel. Had a deluxe room which overlooked restaurant and gardens not the best view but that did not matter. Room extremely comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities available and cleaned on a daily basis spotless. Food in buffet restaurant was lovely drink service extremely slow however. Need to be up at crack of dawn to book Italian restaurant not a chance on holiday. Pool area fabulous had one cloudy day so took advantage of the water treatment in the spa superb. Evening shows were also great did not travel with children so cannot comment on children's entertainment. Sensatori Tenerife a truly wonderful experience going to try Egypt sensatori in June can't wait

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Mrs. Julie J,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and your compliments are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,646 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: $209 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing