We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb Resort Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you are booked to go here, you won't be disappointed. It claims to be the best resort hotel in Spain, and I can well believe it. You will find plenty of good advice in these reviews, as well as some minor quibbles. We have just spent 10 days here, and found it to be excellent - we have traveled extensively and are hard to please!
It is best suited to those who simply want to relax and de-stress in a comfortable environment. There were a surprising number of young couples staying with pre-school children, but none caused any problem and most were quite charming. There is an adult only pool if you feel the need, and if you really want to keep well away from kids, you can upgrade to the "Red Level".
the food is excellent, but the a la carte restaurants need to be pre-booked. This involves a rather tedious process using one of three terminals in the reception area, and you need to book well ahead to avoid disappointment. The main buffet does not need to be booked and had an excellent range of dishes.
We upgraded to a Garden Room - these have a small outside space with a "Balinese Bed". You will see comments elsewhere about these, and in retrospect, I don't think the upgrade is worth it. Most are North facing, are well shaded and get little sun. You are probably better off with a South or West facing balcony.
The WiFi works very well in all the bedrooms and across the site. The only minor niggle is that your device will log off every time in goes to sleep, and you have to log on again via a browser every time you want to use it.
The staff are extremely polite and courteous, and all speak excellent english.
We would certainly consider going again.

Room Tip: North facing rooms can be cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scuddriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Mr. Scuddriver,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It’s a pleasure for us realize that your expectative have been exceeded and we are glad to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and experience in our hotel.

Thank you for trusting us to enjoy your vacation and hope to be able to welcome again in our Hotel.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,756 - 2,762 of 7,394 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

After reading some reviews before we went on holiday, we were apprehensive on what we would be getting.

First impressions were good, it was easy booking in and the staff were very friendly. We had booked a garden room with a Bali bed because I have trouble getting around and my thoughts were to use the Bali bed instead of going to the pool, not so. I did request a room with the sun for the use of the bed, but the room we had 2152 didn't get the sun so the extra we paid for the garden room was a. Total waste of money, so take my advise don't book a garden room with Bali bed.

All staff were friendly and helpful, when it came to drinks at meal times we never had to ask for a refill the waiters were there topping up.

You could eat in different restaurants if you booked, but we were happy to eat in the Pangea restaurant. The food was great we ate something different every night, plenty of choices and plenty of seating areas.

We made use of the green choice which is if you choose not to have your room cleaned for a day, you simply put out a green card before eight o'clock in the morning, they credit your room with 20euros, that you can use on your drinks bill, or any other extras.

My one pet hate is the amount of small children in the hotel, I feel this lets the hotel down greatly, why don't they have an age limit. On my first day by the pool, a young lady with a small baby about three or four months old was trying to stop her baby from crying she walked around the area then picked her up, then lay on the Bali bed, still crying and getting very distressed after half an hour of listening to the cries of this small infant I asked the mum did she have any water to give her, and to my surprise she said she's not thirsty she's just over tied, ( excuse me) I'm sure if the mum had been crying for half an hour she would of been in need of a drink and yes your right the mum then starts to drink coke and no water for the baby,

The hotel should have a policy were small children and babies have their meals early and then when the adults have their meals they don't have to listen to screaming tantrums from the children, why don't parents take the children out of the restaurant until they stop screaming, this is off putting to say the least. I love children but the parents do need to have some consideration and thought for other people.

My overall experience of this beautiful hotel is I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sandy186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Mrs. sandy186337,

We would to express our gratitude for choosing our resort for your vacation and for having taken some of you valuable time to share your impressions with us through TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed a lovely holiday, although we will take into consideration each of your comments as a great value for us to keep on improving ourselves to offer the highest standards of quality in every aspect of our activities.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have just had a fantastic stay at the Gran Melia Resort Palacio De Isora resort in Tenerife.
We upgraded to the Red Level part of the Hotel, where the service and attention to detail - is second to none.
The Red Level front desk team were so helpfull - it really made our stay. In addition a special mention must go to one of the staff - David ( from Northern Ireland ) who was so helpful and friendly , and he made us fell so welcome. All in all, a very enjoyable week - we would recommend anyone planning to visit this resort, to consider paying a little more to experience the benefits of the Red Level service / hotel facilities - an excellent holiday , we plan to return soon - Mr + Mrs Jones

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Mr David J,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful comments of your recent stay with us at the exclusive Red Level area at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.

It’s a truly pleasure for us to read your kind and nice comments. All the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora staff will be very happy to read your feedback. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had an incredible experience between us and you loved the hotel.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a future occasion.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have just returned after a weeks stay in Gran Melia palacios Tenerife and what a superb week we had. Like many I was slightly nervous after reading some reviews however this hotel delivered more than what I expected.... Superb rooms (5th floor, very quiet ) fantastic food both in the buffet and the restaurants, great pool service, and very attentive staff... Can't wait to go back!!
We are 2 travellers with very high expectations when staying away and this hotel exceeded them on all fronts

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mrs Beverley S,

Thank you for selecting Gran Melia Palacio de Isora for you vacation, as well as for taking the time to write your review in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our services. We hope you will have beautiful memories of your vacation.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again here at the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is the second time we've visited this hotel,we booked through Thomson as this is a sensatori hotel. It's the only hotel we've ever gone back to as it's fab! Lovely lobby area and grand plaza with water fountains. Each room is contemporary,flat screen tv,double sinks and now offer 20euro drinks vouchers if you decide not to have your room cleaned everyday. This was nice at the end of the week as we had the room cleaned 4days out of 7and this gave us 60euro off the final bill! Lovely food,restaurants are great particularly the oasis grill for a 3course lunch all included in the full board. Adult only pool is nice and relaxed,peace and quiet! Great little shop on site too with loads of home comforts, chocolate and nice treats! We had great weather too(February ), would highly recommend. We heard a few people whinging round the pool about not having any bottled water in their room,this hotel is great and anyone who picks fault really needs their head testing!

Room Tip: Room 3019 is near to adult pool, shop and Pangea main restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tayloj35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mr Tayloj35,

We would like to thank you for sharing in Tripadvisor your kind feedback about your recent stay at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.

I am very glad to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our facilities, service and all our staff have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel.

We hope to receive you again at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Avoiding half term week, I took my daughter for a week (Thomson sensatori, Full board plus) to get away from the UK weather and for a complete rest. Great hotel, beautiful room with garden, Bali bed, stream with carp and mini waterfall however woken by screaming children in next door room and furniture being moved around overhead at 7am. After the second night of not sleeping we asked to be moved to another room - the Manager said if we wanted to guarantee peace and quiet we would have to upgrade to their Red level area. We declined as this was going to be an additional 120 euros per day. The Manager had no sympathy and we were told that he only had one room available in another area of the hotel (this was untrue as we could see that half the rooms were unoccupied), however still the sound-proofing of the walls was so poor that we could still hear children crying during the night, waking up in the morning and running around and it really was not peaceful. I love children but as my own are now adults would have preferred a hotel where there were separate standard family/adult only areas. My fault for booking at the last minute and not researching this enough. Perhaps the Red level accommodation is far superior to this and the additional cost well worthwhile.

Apart from this, the holiday was faultless. Fabulous variety of food to choose from in several restaurants, and as there are separate children's areas, it was very peaceful relaxing in the hot sun beside the adult pools. Great coastal walks in the evening and to the market nearby, range of classes available; pilates, aqua fitness etc and excellent evening entertainment similar to that found on a cruise. Fantastic jazz pianist and guitarist.

As others have mentioned, there was a very evident divide between the Thomson Sensatori package tourists/Gran Melia guests however, overall it was a wonderful warm break and good value for money.

I have previously booked with Thomson and was not disappointed at the the smooth transfers and great flight.

Room Tip: If you are a couple or travelling with a friend and want a good night's sleep don't book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blenheim165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Mr. Blenheim165,

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive comments about our hotel Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

We are really glad to know that you have enjoyed each of your experience in our hotel. Your honest opinion can be an invaluable reference for other customers who are thinking of staying with us, for this reason we really appreciate the time that you have taken for publishing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We recommend for your next visit to know our exclusive only adults experience.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

GRAN MELIA PALACIO IS REALLY 5 STAR+ , THE HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL WITH ITS GORGEOUS SWIMMING AREAS. THE BIG UPSET FOR US WAS THE MUSIC, FROM THE SWIMMING POOL AND PUBLIC AREAS INVADED THE BEDROOM, EVEN WITH THE WINDOWS CLOSED. NO chance of an afternoon siesta. Also you could not get into the other restaurants as always booked out, so we had to eat Buffet Style all the time. WHILST their buffets were excellent I hated the constant up and down and walking around. I am on holiday , like to relax and be served.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mrs Beverly R,

We really appreciate each of your comments and the time that you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Our main objective is to offer the best service to all our guests, and reach your expectations, because of that we appreciate so much all the feedbacks from our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
9.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,893 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,961 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
#2 of 8 in Guia de Isora
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: $222 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing