We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food & location -not good if you want a good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Avoiding half term week, I took my daughter for a week (Thomson sensatori, Full board plus) to get away from the UK weather and for a complete rest. Great hotel, beautiful room with garden, Bali bed, stream with carp and mini waterfall however woken by screaming children in next door room and furniture being moved around overhead at 7am. After the second night of not sleeping we asked to be moved to another room - the Manager said if we wanted to guarantee peace and quiet we would have to upgrade to their Red level area. We declined as this was going to be an additional 120 euros per day. The Manager had no sympathy and we were told that he only had one room available in another area of the hotel (this was untrue as we could see that half the rooms were unoccupied), however still the sound-proofing of the walls was so poor that we could still hear children crying during the night, waking up in the morning and running around and it really was not peaceful. I love children but as my own are now adults would have preferred a hotel where there were separate standard family/adult only areas. My fault for booking at the last minute and not researching this enough. Perhaps the Red level accommodation is far superior to this and the additional cost well worthwhile.

Apart from this, the holiday was faultless. Fabulous variety of food to choose from in several restaurants, and as there are separate children's areas, it was very peaceful relaxing in the hot sun beside the adult pools. Great coastal walks in the evening and to the market nearby, range of classes available; pilates, aqua fitness etc and excellent evening entertainment similar to that found on a cruise. Fantastic jazz pianist and guitarist.

As others have mentioned, there was a very evident divide between the Thomson Sensatori package tourists/Gran Melia guests however, overall it was a wonderful warm break and good value for money.

I have previously booked with Thomson and was not disappointed at the the smooth transfers and great flight.

Room Tip: If you are a couple or travelling with a friend and want a good night's sleep don't book the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blenheim165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Mr. Blenheim165,

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive comments about our hotel Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

We are really glad to know that you have enjoyed each of your experience in our hotel. Your honest opinion can be an invaluable reference for other customers who are thinking of staying with us, for this reason we really appreciate the time that you have taken for publishing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We recommend for your next visit to know our exclusive only adults experience.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,023)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,534 - 2,540 of 7,024 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

GRAN MELIA PALACIO IS REALLY 5 STAR+ , THE HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL WITH ITS GORGEOUS SWIMMING AREAS. THE BIG UPSET FOR US WAS THE MUSIC, FROM THE SWIMMING POOL AND PUBLIC AREAS INVADED THE BEDROOM, EVEN WITH THE WINDOWS CLOSED. NO chance of an afternoon siesta. Also you could not get into the other restaurants as always booked out, so we had to eat Buffet Style all the time. WHILST their buffets were excellent I hated the constant up and down and walking around. I am on holiday , like to relax and be served.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mrs Beverly R,

We really appreciate each of your comments and the time that you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Our main objective is to offer the best service to all our guests, and reach your expectations, because of that we appreciate so much all the feedbacks from our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a short break to this hotel. can honestly say I have no complaints. everything from the food to the surroundings was perfect. Found staff to be polite, happy and could not do enough for you.
The next holiday we have will have a lot to live up to after staying at such a fantastic hotel. it certainly has the WOW factor..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Mr. C M:

Thank you for taking time to report your recent experience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, we are really happy to read your positive comments.

We can assure you that we always try to do everything possible to create enjoyable experiences for our guests

Hoping to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

In the past 5yrs this Hotel has Introduced additional Furniture, Services & Products year on year to Improve the Holiday experience. We last stayed here in Aug 13, since then the Beach Area has opened, additional Dining Areas in the Plaza for the Pangea Restaurant are avail. The Red Level have extended the Dining Areas outside the "La Terrace",

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Yoshipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Mr. Yoshipup:

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments in Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holidays at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora and to know that you have liked the new beach located in front of the hotel with natural pools.

We hope to see you soon again. We are always welcome.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you want to be surrounded by screaming babies, get up at 6am to book a restaurant,deal in shades if grey when it comes to what's included in your upgrade to all inclusive and be treated like a second rate citizen if you booked with Thomson, then this is the hotel for you.
The rooms are lovely (when you pay to upgrade), some of the staff are lovey and the views incredible. It's just a shame that it only heightens the wrong senses. Plus the buffet food is tepid and blah and the red wine undrinkable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Maruzella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Mr. Maruzella M,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your recent holiday at Tenerife, as well as for the time you have taken to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We regret not being able to cover your expectations during your stay. You may rest assured that we will forward your comments regarding the restaurant booking system to Sensatori in order for them to take them into consideration for future improvements.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from an eleven day holiday at the Sensatori. The hotel was everything we expected - from the amazing food, flexible eating choices to the polite and helpful staff in every department. The location is perfect opposite the sea and just a short walk from a beautiful unspoilt Canarian village. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the layout of the complex just flowed. Would definitely recommend. Possibly bottled water in the fridge in the room on arrival would be a bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 655SusanChambers655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Mrs. 655SusanChambers655,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us and your compliments are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Having just returned last week from this hotel we have to say we had a lovely break. Hotel really good on our arrival we were informed our room wasn't ready but if we went into lunch which was still being served and came back in about half an hour we would be upgraded to a suite. This was a very good start and the suite was lovely. Food was really good in all the restaurants we went too and we had no problems booking them. Liked the adult areas for sunbathing. Only down side for us was that you had to keep asking for a drink at the table , staff work exceptionally hard and it would be so much easy for them to leave a bottle of wine on the table. Little things like this and having a drink offered to you on arrival would make this 5star+.



  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank TEDEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Mr. TEDEY,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora, and for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

We are pleased to know that you had a positive experience and enjoyed our facilities, and found our staff very helpful.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,647 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: $210 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing