We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe some reviews!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I had checked the reviews on here before going to Sensatori Tenerife and I was a tad concerned over some of the comments. Firstly the drinks service which is fine both during dinner and in the bars, yes sometimes you have to attract a waitress/ waiter's attention to refill your glass but thereafter it was refilled quickly. Clearly there are not personal butlers ready to refill your glass after each sip, which some reviewers seem to expect.
Moving onto the quality and choice of food, this is nothing short of outstanding huge choice in the main Pangea buffet with plenty of alternatives available. The restaurants with the extra to pay looked mostly empty as there was little need to go beyond the choices included.
The staff are delightful and couldn't do enough for you.
When in the Pangea we ate outside mostly so perhaps the service inside was not so good, as with most things we found if you treated the staff with politeness and thank them they offered a great service, will definitely be back!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Mr Chris M,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on Tripadvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.

We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our friendly staffs have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our services and facilities.

We hope to have you back soon enjoying Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,017)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,683 - 2,689 of 7,017 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Poor food . Poor service in bars etc . Drinks /meal packages poor value as so many exclusions.Fabulous building and delightful rooms but overall not good value .Supposed better restaurants very expensive and very disappointing.Seems to be conflict between Gran Melia and Sensatori in respect of guest treatment. Will return next year to Bahia Principe Costa Adeje. Better food ,Genuinely all inclusive for half the cost .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Mr Donald B.

Thank you very much for your constructive and criticism comments. Your feedback is the best way to better ourselves.

Hoping to have a new opportunity, it will be a pleasure to receive you again at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We did book a room with "magnificent panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean". The terrace fence on our room was about 130 cm high and massive, means you had to stand up to enjoy the view. At the hotel website they show photos off terraces with open fences.
The service at the restaurantes was to "factory like".

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Mr. Morten B,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay in Hotel Gran Melia Palacio de Isora on Tripadvisor and thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your vacations.

It is a real pleasure for the entire team listening to your kind comments. Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to assure our Guest Satisfaction.

We are at your complete disposal for everything you need.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Not a patch on Sensatory Egypt,
The hotel looks lovely but no choice of rooms, and everything is extra, even on full board plus package, not even a bottle of water in the room.
If your going for a special occasion, don't bother as they can't seem to arrange flowers or champagne for the room even when you offer to pay for it......too much trouble perhaps?
Staff seem to have a lie in perhaps as very few available for breakfast service starting at 7am, and had to wait to get coffee most mornings. We even had dirty plates building up at the table as no one noticed to clear them away(one man I saw clearing his own table and taking the plates away)
Food poor quality and lack of choice, several of the restaurants were closed.....or you had to get up during the night to book the ones that were available due to the automated booking system that they operate.
We left early and will not be going back there again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Mr. Jo M,

We are very sorry that your holiday with us did not meet your expectations and we appreciate your constructive comments.

We have the following choices of rooms ´deluxe, deluxe with side sea view, deluxe with frontal view, deluxe with private garden. We also have master suites & Red Level rooms with varying choices of views & facilities.

We receive numerous requests regarding special occasions, all of which we personally recognise. In your case, the Sensatori Manager did in fact call and speak to your travel agency, as we had not received any notification of the request for flowers prior to your arrival. Although we are a 5* hotel, we cannot unfortunately deliver flowers free of charge. Had this been requested on arrival, we would of course have arranged this for you. Rest assured this would not have been too much trouble as is arranged for people almost on a daily basis, on request. We understand from our files that you did speak to Guest Relations on various occasions.

Regarding your comments about restaurant staffing, we have passed your comments to our supervisor area.

We are at your complete disposal.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We came back following a lovely holiday last year. Unfortunately that time we had paid Thomson extra for a garden room - what a disaster and waste of money. It was dark, dingy and faced a wall so we lost the money we paid to Thomson and upgraded to another room for which we had to pay the hotel nearly £300. So this time, we booked and paid extra for a sea view room and we emailed the hotel before we came to ask for a nice room. We were really pleased with room 4099- lovely sea view with palm trees swaying in the breeze. The only downside was the 6.30am arrival of the cleaning staff in the grounds below our balcony with their extremely noisy trollies and returning bar staff at around 1am with their noisy trollies too!
The staff are really helpful and friendly but in the restaurant are overworked. Our room was kept spotless by the cleaning staff. Nothing is too much trouble.
We agree with other reviewers that there is a " them and us" culture. Red level visitors have their own roped off section of the outside restaurant area making us feel like second class citizens. Had we known there was going to be obvious segregation and bias we wouldn't have booked to come here again. It's a beautiful hotel, fantastic decor and elegance but we intend to have two cheaper holidays next year instead of one week away in a pretentious hotel. Thomson will hopefully realise soon that their Sensatori brand isnt what they make it out to be. We went to the Sensatori in Crete in June and we were very disappointed by the standard of that hotel.
Please Thomson, take notice of your customers otherwise they will vote with their feet.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view at front of hotel away from central bar area
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_S351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My boyfriend and myself traveled from Edinburgh to Sensatori on the 19th of November for 1 week. This was my first time going all-inclusive at a hotel and our main purpose for this trip was solely just for relaxation despite the fact we do usually enjoy a holiday doing lots of exploring etc.

The transfers included in our booking through Thomson saves so much hassle and just means there is one less thing to worry about during your holiday. The bus journey doesn't take long from the airport to the hotel and the Thomson reps are always so helpful.

Upon our arrival at the hotel, we got checked in quickly and got told a little bit about the hotel etc.

We were in a deluxe twin room (room 3133 to be precise) and it was pretty much faultless. The room decor was absolutely beautiful and it was a really good size. The bathroom had two sinks, a large bath, a shower and a toilet - great size and was really clean when we arrived. Everything else in our room was great, we did have a problem with our TV and our Iron but we called the help desk and someone had arrived within 5 minutes to fix the problem.

Breakfast in the hotel was AMAZING. There was literally everything you could think of e.g. fruit, cooked breakfast, cheese, meat, pastries, bread, muffins, doughnuts, yoghurt, dried fruit, freshly made crepes, omelettes etc - there is literally something for everyone. The same goes for the lunch buffet in the Pangea Restaurant. There was a brilliant selection of cold meat, cheese, bread, salads, vegetables, fruit, hot food, pasta, soup etc and you could also have chicken breasts, different meats etc cooked to your liking. The buffet did change slightly everyday but there was still all the usual salads, fruit etc available. Not to mention the amazing selection of deserts and ice cream available for pudding.

We ate in the Ocean Grill restaurant the first two nights that we were in the hotel simply because there wasn't any other restaurants available. This was the only slightly frustrating thing with the hotel was booking the tables and not always being able to get the restaurants you wanted but it wasn't really a big problem.The food at Ocean Grill was good both times, the service was good at this restaurant and the atmosphere was lovely.

The third night we went to the BBQ night at Ocean Grill which is every Friday night. This night was absolutely brilliant: the atmosphere was so nice, it was so busy, there was a live band playing, the service was great again and the food was really lovely. They had a big BBQ which had a good variety of meat, chicken, pork etc and then the rest of the area was a buffet with all different types of sides, salads, etc.

The fourth night we ate in Duo, which was outside of our all inclusive package so had to pay separately for this one but it was SO worth it. The decor is so luxurious and the service is second to none. Every little thing about this restaurant was amazing and it was definitely my favourite night. The food is absolutely amazing - so delicious and my boyfriend even got his steak cooked right beside us at the table which was a nice experience. This restaurant isn't too expensive but the drinks etc do add up but it is all so worth it, do not hesitate booking this restaurant - I would have eaten here for two night's if I could.

Last but not least we also ate at Club Ocean for two nights in a row. The first night the restaurant was closed and unfortunately was moved to the Pangea restaurant. This wasn't really a problem but was just slightly frustrating as no explanation was given as to why it was closed. The food was lovely though, it is all italian themed food and both the nights that we ate there was lovely.

Also, we had no problem with getting drinks topped up during our meals as was mentioned in previous reviews. Our wine and beer was constantly getting topped up during meals, we never had to ask for a refill at any point during our stay. Guests that have previously complained about the service in previous reviews were possibly there during a busy time or were just a little unlucky.

The location of the hotel is lovely, looking out to the sea from the poolside or sunbed is really nice. The town isn't very big and there isn't an awful lot of souvenir/tourist shops etc but it didn't really bother us. There is a great bus system (we have been told) that can take you to nearby towns etc.

The infinity pool is brilliant, it is definitely so cold but once you build up the confidence to just take the plunge and go in, it really is so lovely. We had no problem with getting a good area with sunbeds and we also booked a bali bed one day which was 60 euros. It was right by the pool and included a bottle of wine and a platter of fruit, it is definitely well worth it - so relaxing and feels like a total treat!!

The general feel of the whole hotel felt so unique, everything about it was immaculate and looked so different to any other hotel I have stayed in. It really is a treat (for me personally) and was such a good experience.

I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone and with regards to previous negative reviews: some people may have just been unlucky/had a bad experience which can happen ANYWHERE but please do not let this put you off!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were staying in the Playa Del Duque area of Tenerife and found out that very close friends of ours were staying at this hotel and decided to pop over to see them. When we arrived at the hotel, after paying 30 euros in a taxi, the management would not let us into the hotel to meet up with our friends and would only allow us to sit in a bar area in reception.

For a hotel of this standard we found this outrageous and very silly from a customer services and marketing point of view as we are regular visitors to this area and would have considered this hotel for a future booking.

As it now stands we would NEVER consider staying, our friends will never return there and nor will the friends that they made while staying at the hotel.

Very, very short sighted of the management and such a terrible shame !


Our friends were very disappointed as we had to leave the hotel and go into the village close by and had lunch and drinks there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,646 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: $209 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing