We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Should you be seeking a standalone resort where their is no need to venture far , then this is the hotel for you . We opted for the Red Level Experience / Adults only and experienced some of the best customer service you could wish for . We opted for a sea view room with Spa Bath and you could not ask for more the quality of the room and house keeping was fantastic. The pool area was child and noise free !! The hotel does not permit reserving of sun beds before 10 am , although there is no need as there are ample beds in the Red level. Only slight down side was the odd bit of drilling by workmen that are making the new man made beach which will make the resort even better. Add the hotels car transfer to your list as you get collected in a quality vehicle and provided with refreshments on route, From the moment you check in you are made to feel special in the Red level , Just what you want

Room Tip: High Floor is recommended and sea view , some of the ground floor in facing rooms are a little dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robc7324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestexperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear robc7324;

Thank you very much for your positive words about your stay with us. We are very glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, we always try our best to accomplish the wishes of our guests to make their stay as perfect as possible.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, if there is anything we could do for you regarding any upcoming stay with us.

Kind Regards.

Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,060 - 3,066 of 7,250 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just got back from a week at the Sensatori Hotel in Tenerife. It was an amazing holiday and our daughter who is 2 in a couple of weeks loved it.
The restaurants are great, particularly the Italian restaurant where the food quality was fantastic. Even the buffet restaurant was good and I am not a fan of buffets at all!
We had no problems booking the restaurants, although after reading the reviews on here we did get up early when booking the Italian (booked by 8am) and managed to book in there twice.
We found the service to be fine. The staff were not as chatty and friendly as they have been at other places we have stayed, but if we asked for anything it was bought over quickly and wine glasses were refilled voluntarily or as soon as requested.
We spent most of time around the family pool and found it easy to get sunbeds. We were only given 2 towel cards, but just requested a third towel on our first day for our daughter and were then given a third towel card when we returned the towels so we could get 3 everyday. Our daughter loved the children's pool with the pirate ship.
We didn't use the nursery facilities, but there was a playroom open from 12.15-1.15pm and 4.15-5.15pm that you could take children to each day and stay with them, so we did this a couple of times. It was great for toddlers and gave our daughter something else to do besides swimming.
The evening show for children was also really good, although we only managed to get there twice as it started at 8pm and most nights we were still eating at this time.
The people on here moaning about children running around are right - there were lots of children there and they do run about and make noise. But that's what children do and they're entitled to enjoy their holiday as well! We had a group of adults look disgusted and get up and leave a restaurant when we entered with our daughter and our friends (another couple with a daughter the same age) and our children were quiet and well-behaved!! I'm not sure what people expect when they book into a family resort. They are plenty of adults-only resorts they can go to or they could stay in the Red Zone.
We used the 'green credit' a couple of times, which covered the cost of an extra drinks we had and is an excellent idea. With this option there is really no need to go all inclusive unless you plan on drinking A LOT!!
Simialr to a lot of the other reviewers we also had a room near the back of the hotel, but didn't find this to be a problem at all. It was a lovely room with plenty of space and was very quiet.
A good tip is for any extras you need - there is a supermarket about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Although the shop in the hotel has most things including nappies etc for the children, it is over-priced. You can get drinks etc for the room in the supermarket and they are much cheaper than buying them in the hotel and there are fridges in the rooms.
Overall I would definitely recommend this place for families looking for a bit of luxury with plenty to do for the children. We hope to come back next year and think the hotel will be even better when they finish the beach area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissKLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Gran Melia Hotel. We had an incredible time. We booked direct with the hotel and at the time of booking I asked for a higher floor room away from the main hotel plaza based on the advice from other reviews. Our room was quiet (5th floor), spotlessly clean and of an incredibly high standard. The staff were so helpful and friendly and all pool areas were stunning. The food was great in the most part, fabulous in some of the restaurants. The breakfast buffet was lovely (complementary Cava was a nice touch) but the lunch and evening meal in Pangea (the main buffet restaurant) wasn't great. I guess it's standard buffet food but there are many other dining options if you do not want buffet. The hotel also recommended two great restaurants to us as we fancied a walk one evening; one on the sea front called Soroco and a restaurant in Alcala market square called Lupolo. Both were wonderful. I would definitely go back to this hotel. I'm incredibly fussy when it comes to hotels and have been very lucky to stay in some fabulous hotels over the years (Four Seasons/Firmdale Hotels etc etc) and this is up there with the best.

Room Tip: High floor rooms away from the main hotel plaza, garden view or sea view but try and request a 4th o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestexperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Lou598;

First of all thank you so much for sharing your kind remarks regarding your last visit to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, we appreciate your kind feedbacks about our food & beverage offer.

We are happy to know that you really enjoyed your holidays and that our facilites, services, and our staff becouse our main motivation it is to obtain good feelings and experiences from our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you very soon,

Receive our most kind regards,

Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just returned from are second trip here in 4 months,and have booked again for january with are three daughters, I do like quality, style, Value, and service, this has the lot, First the hotel itself very modern immaculate,the infinatiy pool I am told is the largest in europe,so gracefully styled,its salt water so easy to swim in, with palm trees and gardens all around the edge , and streams flowing through the gardens,You have a choice of pools, one for grown ups only ie over 16 years old that is heated,a childrens pool, and the infinatiy one, By the time we return,There will be the beach area rock pools, and beach,Wich I particulairy think is very brave move by grand melia and very praise worthy is that if you place a towel on sun bed before 10 am, they will take it of and leave a message saying please collect from beach attendant, NO reservation before 10 am, There are no shortage of sun beds,the staff are and helpfull, you have a choice of restaurants , differant menus ,all very good,There are walks on the coast to los gigantes & san juan very rustic, a perfect place to relax

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This a amazing family hotel with great views, service and food. I only wished I stayed 10 days.

Please note that the beach area is still under construction but by end of the season it will be complete and I'm so tempted to return next year.

There are also sea turtles you can swim in there own enviro,net on the pier bait further down and see them from the side lines too.

Please do try this hotel.

Oh I forgot to mention that Disco live for the children every night at 8 pm will get you the parents a great lay in lol

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barnett2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

All the staff are very friendly. Thompson's reps have been spot on. The sports hub staff are really professional but I have to say I have had a good laugh with them but I have learnt a lot. Everything is clean. The smell in the lobby is so nice. I read a review saying that they found for what they paid for the holiday which was £4000 a cheap holiday, now I live in the real world and the next thing it said is that they have been to Dubai 3 times in a year. Any body like this don't come here. If you expect some Dubai standard hotel it is not Dubai. The standard and the level of service like I say is very good. On arrival we were told last year the rock, vin diesel and the reset of the fast and furious cast stayed here which to me says a lot. If you have enough money you could have star quality. Me and the misses had to save however did not stay in the red level but would love to at some point I can only imagine the service is epic.

Room Tip: We booked last minute and got lucky and got a garden room view with no extra cost. I would suggest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fireblazer2k7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestexperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Fireblazer2k7;

Thank you very much for your confidence choosing our Resort to enjoy your holidays.

As well, we wish to thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions about your last stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Kinds Regards.

Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The holiday is fantastic. Everyone is helpful and sports coaches and personal trainers are really canny and know their stuff.
People that go to Dubai 3 times a year and on one of the reviews they said that a £4000 holiday is cheap the if your one of those types don't bother coming and ruining this peaceful place.
Just last year the cast of the fast and the furious stopped here. Yes vin diesel, the rock etc and they must of been more then happy. So if your a hard worker and work just gets on top of you come here to relax. Granted me and the misses had to save very hard for this but it is worth it.

Room Tip: We got lucky and got a garden view without any charge as we booked last minute. This view is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fireblazer2k7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
9.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,779 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: $206 - $824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing