We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel in Everyway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Staffordshire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel in Everyway”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent a week cruising followed by a week in this hotel came home on the 30/3/2013. We booked the holiday with Thomson Sensatori who apparently have an agreement with Gran Melia to use 50% of the rooms. I would like to say we had the lowest grade room and it was absolutely fantastic. The room consisted of large bathroom with the biggest bath you have ever seen, Toilet with phone at hand, Be-day, Fantastic shower, Him and Her wash basins, the biggest bath towels. In the hall were two large wardrobes and a set of draws. The bed room have an enormous bed piled high with pillow and cushions, a large side board with more draws and storage and a settee. The balcony was lovely with a two seater settee, but unfortunately we were facing north so we never got any sun on it, I do believe that is why it was classed as a low grade. The facilities for eating are fantastic, for breakfast the is everything you could wish for and a choice of where you eat it outside in the sunshine, inside in the cool or outside in the shade by the large pool full of enormous Koi carp. There is a good choice of other Restaurants you can book for your evening meal. It has the biggest infinity pool in Europe surrounded by sun loungers, or you can use the heated outdoor pool which is for adults only. Thee are many places to sit and relax usually on white leather loungers, or these pod type things that swing you to sleep. The whole of the hotel is spotless due to the large number of staff always busy cleaning. The entertainment good and varied. I highly recommend this hotel I cannot praise it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for sea or pool view. Try not to go for one in a main corridor which serves the main area's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruise010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestexperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Cruise010,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful comments of your recent stay with us at the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora

It’s a truly pleasure for us to read your kind and nice post!! All the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora staff will be very happy to read your feedback. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had an incredible experience between us and you loved the hotel.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a future occasion.

Best regard

Guest Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,093
    1,540
    677
    231
    178
See reviews for
2,359
3,429
61
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We travelled as two families with small children and booked half board directly with the hotel. We didn't book red level because we were advised that the room would be the same (albeit with posher toiletries) and the red level pool was adult only. We had no difficulty booking restaurants, but this may have been because we took the children for dinner in the buffet first and then dined later ourselves once the children were in bed.
In many ways this hotel ticked an awful lot of boxes for us. We had a few issues during our one week stay which were all caused by the same underlying problem which is a lack of attention to customer service. The vast majority of the staff were friendly and very helpful, but those staff members who do not have the same commitment to making sure their guests have a great experience are evidently allowed to continue in this manner without challenge.
On our arrival there was a long queue at check in and only two staff members. There were however a number of staff members at the nearby guest services desk having a chat. They could see the queue but made no effort to see if they could assist. Eventually I approached them and very grudgingly one disappeared off and fetched another person to help checking people in. Having 4 small children in our group we had booked an early check-in. Frustratingly our room was not available so we sat for well over an hour in reception waiting for it. We were not offered a drink during this time, and beyond being told that we wouldn't be charged for the early check-in there wasn't really a sense that they were embarrassed by their disorganisation.
Our room (we had a family suite) was excellent. Housekeeping was a little patchy (on some days the room was not made up until late afternoon or at all, and often the turndown arrived after 8pm when we had already made up the sofa bed and put the children to sleep). The housekeeping staff themselves were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is beautiful and well maintained and feels a bit more luxurious than similar hotels on the island where we have previously stayed. The two heated pools (adult and family) were definitely less chilly than the unheated pool but they really need to be a couple of degrees warmer - if you were not actively swimming you got cold very quickly.
Sun loungers were a scramble at the adult pool. From 10 am people are allowed to reserve them for the day with a towel and it was frustrating to hunt for a lounger during the day while so many were empty for hours on end. Lifeguards at all the pools are attentive and watchful, but there is nobody who assists with moving umbrellas, finding loungers, getting towels etc. On two afternoons the wind made sitting at the family pool impossible but the children's pirate pool was more sheltered.
The children's club was excellent and our children ran in happily every day. The staff were very welcoming and did an excellent job of integrating children who spoke different languages. Knowing that our children were in good hands for 6 hours every day was a huge part of why this holiday worked so well.
Food quality in the resort was very patchy. The main buffet for breakfast and dinner was comprehensive and of a good standard. We were less impressed by the food at the pool restaurant, the fish restaurant and the Italian restaurant so we didn't bother trying the fine dining restaurant (instead we nipped down the road to MB at the Abama which is expensive but consistently excellent). In all of the a la carte restaurants we had some food which was quite good and some which was very poor. In the poolside restaurant the grilled swordfish was a lovely plate of food but when the fish and chips arrived (a small chunk of battered fish and a cup containing maybe a tiny handful of chips, with no garnish of any kind) we thought they had given us a child's portion by mistake. Staff were not particularly interested in why we were unhappy with some of the dishes, and overall the style of the food feels a little dated.
I popped into the spa to have a look at the facilities and book a massage. I could see from outside that the pool area was deserted, but the receptionist refused my request to have a quick look around and did not suggest another time so I left without booking.
Babysitting is extremely expensive (€25 per hour for two children) and as they cannot guarantee the qualifications, the standard of English or the same babysitter throughout the stay we organised our own qualified nanny locally to care for the babies and look after the children while we ate dinner. We notified the hotel of the arrangement, I checked with reservations staff that she could use the children's pool area before we travelled and we got an extra room key for her. When our babysitter arrived in the evening she was denied entry by hotel security. How the staff we spoke to that evening (including a guest services manager) handled the issue was truly appalling. Their position was "it's our hotel and we can do whatever we want" followed by "if you want to check out in the morning that's fine with us". Whoever is responsible for their training should be both ashamed and concerned. The following morning we met with the hotel's assistant manager and she resolved the issue in a professional and efficient manner, but she did not address the mismanagement of the issue the previous evening by her staff/colleagues.
The vast majority of the staff in this hotel are professional, helpful and friendly, and much of what the hotel does they do very well. From reading the reviews it is clear we are not the only guests who feel that some aspects of the hotel's service need to be addressed (almost 10% of reviewers rate the hotel as poor or terrible). We clearly had a mixed experience and would have been happy to give the hotel feedback about our experience (my friend works in customer services management and I work in hospitality and we have stayed at a number of the hotels on the island which would be their direct competition) but there does not be any avenue through which the hotel seeks to listen to their guests. As well as patting themselves on the back for the things they do well, a more dynamic and less complacent management might consider negative feedback to offer an opportunity for improvement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ski_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestexperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ski_tourist,

Thank you for selecting Gran Melia Palacio de Isora for you vacations, as well for taking the time to write your review in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our services and facilities.

On the other side we are sorry for the last feeling that you have had of your stay but, for security reasons, is not allowed to anyone other than guests to enter in the hotel whatever is the issue.
We regret this inconvenience but our main objective is to control the safety of customers by monitoring and recording all the people entering the hotel.
In addition, talking about our rating, the 10% that you mentioned refers to the total percentage of the last four years. It does not reflect the actual performance of the hotel.

Anyway your feedback will allow us to enrich and improve day after day.

Besides we have taken note of your comment and we followed your opinions here as in our internal questionnaire witch we have already received from you. So, as we always do with all our clients, our service can improve and be more efficient every day.

We appreciate for sharing this information with us, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again; we have at your disposal.

Best regards

Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked the Easter break at Sensatori with Thomsons and must admit we were disappointed - not with the hotel itself, but with the whole "Sensatori" concept. We turned up at the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora only to realise at that stage that this is not a Thomsons resort at all (as suggested to us at least, in the brochure), but merely a room allocation in another company's hotel.

From the moment you check in you are a second class citizen due to the fact that you booked through Thomsons, as you are sent away from the beautiful and impressive reception to a shabby desk tucked away around the corner in a corridor.

The actual Thomsons staff themselves did nothing to make you feel more valued either. The girls were ill informed and seemed indifferent to their guests. We went up to their desk on two occasions with questions and no one even asked us if we were having a nice time. Neither of our issues were resolved. We even went to the welcome meeting which was, frankly, an embarrassing, amateur effort. I can only assume that Thomsons do not earn commission on the spa as no mention was made of it, even though it turned out to be really good!

Again, as a Thomsons' guest you are disadvantaged in restaurant bookings as all Thomsons' reservations must be made via a computerised console in the reception area (Melia guests book via concierge staff at any time, and with seemingly unlimited availability). The booking computer system was only available at certain hours and if you didn't book the most popular (Italian) restaurant by 08.00am at the latest, then it would be guaranteed to be fully booked and unavailable for the following evening. All reservations had to be made a day or two in advance. Many people we spoke to didn't get in to a restaurant at all and had to eat in the buffet every night. Luckily my husband is an insomniac and booked our dinner table at 06.30 every morning! The food was very good...

We also found that there were an awful lot of families with babies and small children in the hotel. The sound insulation was not good between the bedrooms and we had a couple of disturbed nights with crying children. This did surprise me as I felt the resort had been sold as a luxury spa location. There were adult only areas which we made use of in the day, although there was also building work going on when we were there and this was noisy - and affected the adult only areas predominantly.

I would recommend this hotel, but I would possibly consider booking direct - although, be warned, the food and drink charges are five star steep, so make sure you book the all inclusive beverage package available from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chilli-Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Gran Melia Palacio de Isora is a beautifully landscaped, undeniably luxury star hotel with a lot to recommend it. The rooms are spacious and modern with tasteful decor; although occasionally succumbing to a failing of "style over substance" (e.g. attractive granite-surround double sink, but nowhere to put the soap and an array of sophisticated, atmospheric lighting effects in the room that it took the whole week to master!).

The staff were attentive and the food was really very good. Even the buffet was high quality and the Italian restaurant was particularly nice. However, we didn't eat in the other two speciality restaurants because they were quite expensive.
The reception and common areas were lovely and there was a superb perfume wafting throughout the interior of the hotel which is apparently their "trademark fragrance".

We spent most of our time in the adult only areas because there were quite a lot of families and the main pool areas became quite crowded. We had an issue on a couple of nights due to the noise from crying children in the next door room. Clearly there is insufficient soundproofing and we had real trouble sleeping. Unfortunately, when we raised the problem with the reception staff we were told that they could not be expected to move other guests for us (eve though we had not requested any such thing)! I escalated the matter to the reception manager who completely failed to deal with anything either, despite my saying that I was dissatisfied with their handling of the complaint, as much as with the original issue itself. Luckily for us, the family left anyway after two nights.

Regrettably, this is not the first time that the Melia Group have failed to deal with issues that have arisen in resort. They seem to do so much so well, and then fall down on problem resolution (and let's face it, issues will arise in even the best places from time to time - it is how you address them that sets you apart). It is for this reason most of all that I would not give this hotel a full five stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chilli-Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestexperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Chilli-Cymru,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Tenerife.

We are sorry for the last feeling that you have had about the noises. In addition it is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your vacation here and we are glad to hear that our accommodations and installations have suited your needs.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Upon arrival we were upgraded which was a wonderful way to start our trip! The room was clean, spacious, and the staff was more than helpful. The resort experience was positive (the pools are amazing) but it did seem a little confining if you did not want to stay on the resort the entire trip. Because of this we chose to venture out quite a bit and found that this only enhanced our experience. The Guia De Isora beach in Alcala was a great place to spend the afternoon and we found a great little restaurant called Pizzeria "El Paseo". The pizzeria is located about 3/4 the way down Calle Carero towards the sea. The food was top notch and the owners made it a point to make us feel welcome and were extremely friendly and inviting... we went back for our last two nights for pizza, pasta, prawns, and of course, vino. We enjoyed it so much. Highly recommend both the hotel and the small pizzeria we fell in love with :)

Room Tip: partial ocean views are great because you see the ocean (obviously) as well as the mountains, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinM864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestExperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear ErinM864

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

We are pleased to know that you had a positive experience and you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff very helpful.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We first stayed in this hotel a Dec, 2010. It was much less busy, colder and cheaper. The most amazing thing about this sensatori and i have stayed in the Egyptian and Cretan one is the physical dimensions of it. From the moment you step into the high ceiling atrium with metal twisting which looks like flying it is a delight. Throughout the central area where the restaurants are there are marble sculptures with changing coloured lights and in the evening a light and water show. The hotel is only 40% sensatori the rest gran melia but i like the cultural mix.
The first day i have to admit i had a turn and i apologise to anyone who witnessed it. The children sleep on a sofa bed. Ours was lumpy and uncomfortable. I complained the next day and received another matress to put on top. Had to tire out the kids so they would sleep. This was a big downside. The adults get to sleep in large comfy beds. Everywhere is clean and well taken care of. The staff are politely aloof.
The on site spa is OK and look out for special offers.
The sports staff were excellent. I did zumba, time challenge, boxercise, pilates and yoga and all were of an excellent quality and the staff were freindly and helpful. You need it to work off the pounds in the restaurants. I thought the food was very good. The pangea is where you will mainly eat. This is the buffet and you don´t have to book. If you eat in the market grill or oasis make sure you take a cardi as it can be cold in the evening. The restaurant where tickets are like willy wonka´s i.s. Club Ocean you have to get up at 7am when the machine where you book tickets for all restaurants except those you pay for and the pangea and book yourself in. It is a bit stressful but the italian food there is very good. There are segregated areas for adults without children and red level higher spec services. These seem to blend well.
The kids club is Ok. Playhouse Live is fine and only for 1 hour at 7.30. There is nothing really specific apart from a room for teenagers to do like in Egypt and I think this would have helped.
If you have a windy or wet day kids can use the spa at certain times and it has an indoor heated pool.
I discovered a baracito (don´t this is spelt correctly) but it si a lovely coffee on the menu with levels and condensed milk in the bottom. Me and my youngest daughter are veggie, The buffet has loads of salad and a warm veggy section too.
We went to MT Teide one day. It was a half day trip. Although too windy for the cable cars it was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try and get a garden room. The kids love to play with the ghekos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our third holiday to Sensatori Gan Melia and we visited the Hotel earlier than normal.The weather was OK, Cool first thing and then cool on an evening so take cardigans or light jackets.We had booked an upgrade in England but when we arrived we were overlooking the road which was unaccepable. We went straight to the Reception and the options were to pay additional and have a room over looking the pool or stay in that room. So we paid again!.
If you wanted to reserve a table at the Itailian you had to ensure you were up early i.e before 7am as all the tables were reserved. This was always a favourite of ours so on two occasions we were up early and we did get a place. We decided to treat ourseleves to the Bali Beds and had the best bed in the Adults only section. This is a must if you want total privacy.We hope to try Crete or Mexico later on in the year and feel that the rooms do need a little TLC as they are not as good as they once were.We enjoyed our week at Tenerife but its time for a change!

Room Tip: Chose a sea view room and fully gain the views of the Senatori Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing