We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost all really nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Gran Melia Palacio de Isora is a beautifully landscaped, undeniably luxury star hotel with a lot to recommend it. The rooms are spacious and modern with tasteful decor; although occasionally succumbing to a failing of "style over substance" (e.g. attractive granite-surround double sink, but nowhere to put the soap and an array of sophisticated, atmospheric lighting effects in the room that it took the whole week to master!).

The staff were attentive and the food was really very good. Even the buffet was high quality and the Italian restaurant was particularly nice. However, we didn't eat in the other two speciality restaurants because they were quite expensive.
The reception and common areas were lovely and there was a superb perfume wafting throughout the interior of the hotel which is apparently their "trademark fragrance".

We spent most of our time in the adult only areas because there were quite a lot of families and the main pool areas became quite crowded. We had an issue on a couple of nights due to the noise from crying children in the next door room. Clearly there is insufficient soundproofing and we had real trouble sleeping. Unfortunately, when we raised the problem with the reception staff we were told that they could not be expected to move other guests for us (eve though we had not requested any such thing)! I escalated the matter to the reception manager who completely failed to deal with anything either, despite my saying that I was dissatisfied with their handling of the complaint, as much as with the original issue itself. Luckily for us, the family left anyway after two nights.

Regrettably, this is not the first time that the Melia Group have failed to deal with issues that have arisen in resort. They seem to do so much so well, and then fall down on problem resolution (and let's face it, issues will arise in even the best places from time to time - it is how you address them that sets you apart). It is for this reason most of all that I would not give this hotel a full five stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chilli-Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestexperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Chilli-Cymru,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Tenerife.

We are sorry for the last feeling that you have had about the noises. In addition it is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your vacation here and we are glad to hear that our accommodations and installations have suited your needs.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,035 - 3,041 of 7,119 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Upon arrival we were upgraded which was a wonderful way to start our trip! The room was clean, spacious, and the staff was more than helpful. The resort experience was positive (the pools are amazing) but it did seem a little confining if you did not want to stay on the resort the entire trip. Because of this we chose to venture out quite a bit and found that this only enhanced our experience. The Guia De Isora beach in Alcala was a great place to spend the afternoon and we found a great little restaurant called Pizzeria "El Paseo". The pizzeria is located about 3/4 the way down Calle Carero towards the sea. The food was top notch and the owners made it a point to make us feel welcome and were extremely friendly and inviting... we went back for our last two nights for pizza, pasta, prawns, and of course, vino. We enjoyed it so much. Highly recommend both the hotel and the small pizzeria we fell in love with :)

Room Tip: partial ocean views are great because you see the ocean (obviously) as well as the mountains, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErinM864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestExperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear ErinM864

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

We are pleased to know that you had a positive experience and you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff very helpful.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We first stayed in this hotel a Dec, 2010. It was much less busy, colder and cheaper. The most amazing thing about this sensatori and i have stayed in the Egyptian and Cretan one is the physical dimensions of it. From the moment you step into the high ceiling atrium with metal twisting which looks like flying it is a delight. Throughout the central area where the restaurants are there are marble sculptures with changing coloured lights and in the evening a light and water show. The hotel is only 40% sensatori the rest gran melia but i like the cultural mix.
The first day i have to admit i had a turn and i apologise to anyone who witnessed it. The children sleep on a sofa bed. Ours was lumpy and uncomfortable. I complained the next day and received another matress to put on top. Had to tire out the kids so they would sleep. This was a big downside. The adults get to sleep in large comfy beds. Everywhere is clean and well taken care of. The staff are politely aloof.
The on site spa is OK and look out for special offers.
The sports staff were excellent. I did zumba, time challenge, boxercise, pilates and yoga and all were of an excellent quality and the staff were freindly and helpful. You need it to work off the pounds in the restaurants. I thought the food was very good. The pangea is where you will mainly eat. This is the buffet and you don´t have to book. If you eat in the market grill or oasis make sure you take a cardi as it can be cold in the evening. The restaurant where tickets are like willy wonka´s i.s. Club Ocean you have to get up at 7am when the machine where you book tickets for all restaurants except those you pay for and the pangea and book yourself in. It is a bit stressful but the italian food there is very good. There are segregated areas for adults without children and red level higher spec services. These seem to blend well.
The kids club is Ok. Playhouse Live is fine and only for 1 hour at 7.30. There is nothing really specific apart from a room for teenagers to do like in Egypt and I think this would have helped.
If you have a windy or wet day kids can use the spa at certain times and it has an indoor heated pool.
I discovered a baracito (don´t this is spelt correctly) but it si a lovely coffee on the menu with levels and condensed milk in the bottom. Me and my youngest daughter are veggie, The buffet has loads of salad and a warm veggy section too.
We went to MT Teide one day. It was a half day trip. Although too windy for the cable cars it was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try and get a garden room. The kids love to play with the ghekos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our third holiday to Sensatori Gan Melia and we visited the Hotel earlier than normal.The weather was OK, Cool first thing and then cool on an evening so take cardigans or light jackets.We had booked an upgrade in England but when we arrived we were overlooking the road which was unaccepable. We went straight to the Reception and the options were to pay additional and have a room over looking the pool or stay in that room. So we paid again!.
If you wanted to reserve a table at the Itailian you had to ensure you were up early i.e before 7am as all the tables were reserved. This was always a favourite of ours so on two occasions we were up early and we did get a place. We decided to treat ourseleves to the Bali Beds and had the best bed in the Adults only section. This is a must if you want total privacy.We hope to try Crete or Mexico later on in the year and feel that the rooms do need a little TLC as they are not as good as they once were.We enjoyed our week at Tenerife but its time for a change!

Room Tip: Chose a sea view room and fully gain the views of the Senatori Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spent very nice and relaxing 7 days in this hotel. The room was clean, beautiful and very comfortable. The pool area was amazing. The big pool was 260 meters long with nice refreshing salt water. Other pools were heated. Enough sun beds and separate areas for adults only and families with kids.

I don't usually like buffet style meals, but this was something different. Actually I found the hotel buffet superior to ala carte style restaurants of this hotel. Especially the selection of fresh fish , other seafood and meats cooked according your wishes was really nice.

The staff of this hotel was supernice.

All in all, this was a good holiday. One of the best.

Room Tip: If your room is in the wings of this huge hotel, it will be quiet, but very long way to reception an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlliHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestexperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear HolliElsinki ,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It’s a pleasure for us realize that your expectative have been exceeded and we are glad to know that you have enjoyed our food and our services.
In Gran Melia Palacio de Isora we offer a different experience, your wishes are always covered because in our Hotel your expectative are the most important for us.

Thank you for trusting us to enjoy your vacation and hope to be able to welcome again in our Hotel.

We are waiting...

Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Book a holiday at Easter and expect kids, otherwise don't moan and go at a different time...(we were on honeymoon with no kids)
Staff lovely, rooms amazing and so much food you will want to pop on your return. No problems with drinks, only book all inclusive if you are an alcoholic otherwise full board plus is cheaper. It was quiet on a night but it was low season. People that moan just need to research their holidays better and not give a bad review. Would definitely recommend to couples and families alike. The only thing that's wrong is you have to lift your head off the sunbed to get a drink and unfortunately apply your own sun tan lotion but otherwise get booking!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FisherMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were encouraged to holiday at this hotel by friends who recommended it highly.Accordingly, we booked an eleven night stay in March.I've read quite a few reviews of the hotel and would like to add our thoughts to what has been said as some of the comments are quite uncomplimentary.The buildings,inside and outside, are beautiful and excellently maintained as are the gardens.The furnishings in all areas are tasteful and comfortable particularly in the bedrooms.The pools,bars and restaurants are lovely to look at and relax in.There is a great choice of good quality food catering for every palate in the restaurants particularly the Pangea.A range of activities are on offer to those who want more than exploring the area by coach or bus or walking.The staff are extremely friendly and respectful and the Hotel Director is in evidence patrolling the areas and keeping a watchful eye on all activity.I feel that the hotel is as worthy of its 5 star rating as it compares well with the Las Vegas ones that we have stayed in.I will say,though,that I would never consider taking children to this hotel as they like beaches and although there is a games room for them I don"t think there is sufficient interest for them.It is,in our opinion a sophisticated hotel for adults only.I can foresee that in high season they would be nuisances for people who want to relax and chill out.I can appreciate,also,that if you do not eat early in the Pangea then queues would build and gaining entry to the Italian Restaurant would be well nigh impossible unless you were stationed outside the ticket machines at 7am prompt.I feel that we were lucky that we went in low season when the hotel was not full and that we ate early and therefore did not experience harassed staff or over- long queues.We think,too,that in high season when the young adults are in residence there would be plenty of noise from the 2 am departees.Unfortunately,no hotel can be blamed for inconsiderate families or young people who have no regard for anyone but themselves;neither can it be blamed for windy intemperate weather.We found the holiday so enjoyable that we have booked another Sensatori one for next year in Sharm el Sheik.

Room Tip: We've always preferred rooms away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,677 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: $212 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing