We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice hotel, pools and view is amazing. Dont take any full- or halfboard (eventhough they try to convince you) caus we had diner in one of those restaurants and that was very disspointing. The Japanese restaurant has really good food, go there at least once (they are not included in the boards anyways). In puerto santiago (10min drive) are some very good restaurants for real good price (40 euro for 2 incl. drinks and dessert).
The breakfast in hotel is umbelievably big and good, enjoy that one!! The gym is also good, but the airconditioning wasn't working, so couldnt do too much (good excuse).
All together a 5star place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestExperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Nl6,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

We are glad that you spent beautiful days with us and enjoyed our facilities and installations; on the other hand we are very sorry for your last feeling anyhow
our guests with full board or half board, taking advantage of our culinary offerings, can choose and meet the kind of cuisine that pleases them most. Certainly between them Nami has one the most higher ranking.

So we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again here at the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,882
    1,469
    640
    216
    166
See reviews for
2,225
3,253
54
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Queensferry
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just got back from a fortnight at this wonderful hotel. We had a deluxe garden room which was luxurious, large , quiet an very comfortable. The entire resort is spotless and the staff are the most friendly an helpful we have ever met. The service was superb. Treat the staff with courtesy and smile an you will receive a fabulous service. Apart from lack of wifi in rooms cannot find fault. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myrtleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned back from the red level gran melia in tenerife for one week this was adults only area which was exclusive. The staff were very professional and attentive to our needs . The only thing I would say is in the evening there is only one resturant to eat at in the red level for a selection of resturant you have to eat in the main part of the hotel which means it gets very busy and not so exclusive . The buffet area was like a canteen. I would highly recommend an experience in one of the villas which we stayed in on the last day and night it was amazing you had you own butler ,and breakfast was like a banquet . Overall a stunning hotel lovely people would go back . The cerullos from surrey

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceullos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuest Experience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear ceullos,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience in our Villa.

We are glad to know that you found our staff very professional and helpful , on the other hand we feel sorry about your last feelings, on your next stay we will recommend you the best choice in restaurants according to your needs.

At Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us

With my warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Ignore any negative comments on here, we've never had a more perfect holiday! Excellent food, great choice of restaurants and bars, friendly staff, wonderful room, beautiful grounds, what more could you want...we certainly wouldn't be going back for the third time if we had any doubts! 5 star +, perfect for couples and families, and that's considering I've stayed in some of Dubai's most popular 5 star resorts...no complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holsrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just when you think you have already been to the best Holiday resort & Hotel something else comes along,this holiday was not cheap but was worth every penny spent we went platinum plus+ which included drinks all day not just at meal times, everything was quality from start to finish, first impressions always makes a holiday and this did not disappoint the journey from the Airport to the Hotel it was a bit like royalty our own mini bus just for 4 of us ,when entering the Hotel your eyes are all over it was nothing like the hotels you come to expect, it had a lovely scent as you walked in,soft lighting all over, 4 poster beds in the resting area, marble lit walls and reception desks it was just so inviting from the start...so welcoming ,well Impressed from this point.getting to the room was just as pleasant everywhere give you a view of the outdoors, mountains scenes or sea views not one closed in passageway .
The Hotel rooms surpassed our expectations soft lights, iPod / clock dock station - free internet
massive bed, massive bath and bathroom you could think you were in a luxury home though the electronic light switches took some getting use too!
View from balcony overlooked the Gardens & sea , the Garden area had a large koi pond with beautiful plants and trees surrounding the pond, then there are the Pools, heated ones and a quiet pool just for adults only and a private one if you upgrade(red square?).the Infinity pool is superb the views exceptional Sunshine from 10am till 7pm with everything around you from sauna/pool,bar, restaurants,all within 20 ft from the sunbeds.the entertainment was superb something different every-night and the piano bar is a great place to finish your night off.
Me and my friends went for 7 days which is usually enough for a break but I could have stopped a bit longer as it was just a great place to relax and unwind from the normal daily stresses .
we went in November the weather was sometimes cloudy but warm everyday and every evening was pleasant, dress code was smart but casual . the fountain area gives you the impression of being indoors but it is in fact it is outdoors and you get to see the light show every evening around 9 pm which is very impressive .I would recommend this hotel to any couple,it's not really a family hotel though there were families there but with Infants rather than teenagers.they are tennis courts & gym just outside of the hotel which belong to the hotel but whats the point of going on a relaxing holiday if you want to go and work out..chill and enjoy a value for money Hotel holiday. outside of the Hotel is a little town with local market 10 minute walk from the hotel you can get there via the main entrance or the promenade which is a pleasant walk .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCavsnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo Q, eGuestExperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear PCavsnr
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience on TripAdvisor, in order to make it known that we have made a positive difference at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your vacation here at the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora and we are glad to hear that everything was “quality” from start to the finish.
Your honest opinion can be an invaluable reference for other customers who are thinking of staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you're looking for peace and quiet, a bit of luxury and some pampering, this has got to be on your shortlist. It's not perfect, especially if you book through Thomsons, but it is very very good.
The good bits.
Location is stunningly peaceful, 20 minutes away from all the touristy rubbish that now fills Cristianos/Americas/Adeje.
Comfort and Design of the hotel. Oppulent best describes it. I'm pretty sure all rooms will be as impressive as our own, but location of room can be a neagtive (see later)
The infinity pool is tremendous if a little chilly, but very refreshing.
Food choice is large and as you would expect in this climate - lots of salads and grills.
The environmental 20 Euro credit if you avoid room servicing - handy to offset the additional cost you will incur.
The not so good bits.
I thought booking 'All Inclusive' through Thompsons meant that we would be seen as sort of special - it's not the cheapest option, so you do presume that you'd merit some special services. The opposite seems to apply(despite this £30pp per day upgrade) What you get instead is a 'silver' wristband locked on to your wrist at check-in, which shows everyone that you're entitled to certain items. Now we don't go all inclusive in order to spend a holiday endlessly drinking alcohol ( as some might) - but rather just to take out the hassles of where to eat and what to drink. Thomsons version of all inclusive here however seems to add these uncertainties BACK IN, as there are more 'exclusions' on where you can eat and what you can drink(even 'when' you can drink certain items) It really is confusing figuring out what range of drinks you are permitted in which bar/restaurant. Only 4 of the 8 dining locations are included and of these 2 need to be booked up to 24 hours in advance. Again, the hassle is being built up.
My biggest gripe though is the fact that this this IS NOT a bespoke Thomson hotel - Gran Melia is a resort hotel in itself, and anyone attending through Thomson 'Sensatori' are clearly treated as 'tour group' Even the rooms allocated to Thomson's (nice in themselves) are all located in rear facing or non-view locations. (All are identifiable by the Thomson logo on the door lock)
On arrival you dont get checked in at the main desk - you get slipped away to the side for a 'special' check-in, which is really a 'group check-in.' This is where you get the wrist band slapped on your wrist, told what you can and cannot eat or drink, and are made to feel instantly un-special. Not really what you expect.
Service ranges from 5 to 3 star.
The resort is 5 star.
The restaurants vary between 3 and 5 star.
The staff service is 3 star plus.
Thomson and Gran Melia take note - the Thomson rep spends 30 minutes at your welcome meeting talking at length about the relaxation aspect of a Sensatori Holiday - Hence the name. However, staff service in all catering areas is a rushed and frantic affair and staff are even seen running from table to table. It does not add to the relaxation that you are after in a holiday.
Would I go back?
Perhaps, but I would save a lot of money by forgetting the all inclusive deal - and perhaps by going to Gran Melia direct.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the south - avoid a garden view, which can be overgrown. We stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I never write reviews but felt compelled to do so after spending a week at this beautiful and majestic hotel. The first point I would like to make is that some of the negative comments about this hotel, its staff and the service provided are simply not true.

I stayed here with my wife, one year old daughter and our two mums. We booked via Thomsons Sensatori offering.

Upon arrival at Tenerife airport we we greeted by a very pleasant rep who quickly showed us to our air conditioned private coach. There was only my family and one other family on the coach which made the 40 minute transfer a pleasant journey. When we finally arrived at the hotel we were not disappointed; from an architectural perspective it is stunning. You are met with a wonderful fresh and crisp aroma which really does set the scene for what is to come. By the time we were shown to our rooms it was nearing 7pm and my one year old daughter was tired so my wife decided to stay on the room with her. I went to the main restaurant and asked if they could take some food to my wife in her room as she was unable to join me. The waiter could not have been more obliging. He gave me a tray to put my wife's food on and then whisked it off to her in her room with a large glass of red wine. Now that is what I call service!

The hotel grounds were simply beautiful. We have never seen such well maintained and manicured gardens. Our room was beautiful and spacious with a lovely balcony. Yes, it didn't get a lot of sun, but is this enough to really spoil ones holiday as some on here are suggesting?

With regards to the food, we found it to be excellent with lots of choice in the main buffet restaurant. The hygiene standards of this hotel were quite simply excellent. Everything was spotless and clean. We managed to book a table in the Italian restaurant on two nights and a table in the grille/bistro on another two occasions, all without the need to get up at 7am as some are suggesting! The food in these restaurants was on another level. If you like gastronomy, then you are in for a real treat.

The staff were all fantastic and spoilt our little girl rotten, so much so that she now has the holiday blues! They were all so polite and could not do enough for us and went out of their way to make us feel welcome in their hotel and country. Whenever we ordered drinks with our meals our glasses were refilled time and time again. We certainly never went short of drinks on any given day. If you treat the staff with respect then they will treat you with respect and there will be no problems!

We used the kids play centre provided by thomsons and our daughter loved plying in here each morning. The play centre staff were all lovely and brilliant with the kids.

All the pools are fantastic and exceptionally clean. The infinity pool is something quite special but quite chilly as it is not warmed. However, my wife thoroughally enjoyed her swim in it!

I could go on but to summise we all had an absolutely amazing holiday and would we return? Absolutely we would.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
9.6 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,212 reviews
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.2 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#26 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing