We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A WHOLE YEAR GONE BY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A WHOLE YEAR GONE BY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

It has been a whole year since my family and i spent 9 days at the Gran Melia Palacio de Isora coming from Long Island New York USA.....as we always travel this time of year and are owners of the Sol Melia Vacation Club we truly miss not being there this year....the hotel was excellent...food delicious and the right amount of sun and fun at the hotel as well as plenty to do on excursions outside of the hotel. The rooms large, clean and well stocked....the restaurants provided wonderful variety freshness and culinary imagination. We rarely repeat hotels as we always like to see different places and experience new cultures on our vacations. We have stayed at other Gran Melia's and Paradissus hotels and have always found them exceptional. As my son is now in middle school we cannot afford to take him out of school this year at this time but we have already booked Gran Melia Puerto Rico for the Easter vacation and are expecting the same super accommodations we have grown to love at all of our Melia vacations. My 2 children frequently ask when we can go back to Tenerife...and my wife and say as soon as possible.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,413
    1,286
    573
    189
    142
See reviews for
1,961
2,844
43
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,060)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Don't get me wrong the hotel is gorgeous clean and I don't really have any complaints. But it's so large that the kids entertainment don't remember the kids names, and no waiters remember you.
Having previously been to the Bahia principe were there is a sence of welcoming and staff acknowledging that they know you.
The food was average compared to the Bahia wich is spot on. Sorry I couldn't have been more help x

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank littlefoxGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

WHERE do i start ..... we stayed here for one week celebrating our silver wedding anniversary, following a weeks cruise,when the coach pulled up it really was the WOW factor, on arrival given refreshing pineapple juice, our cases were taken to our room , the room beautiful large bed, balcony, sofa, luxury huge bath and a jet shower, perfect .... hotel decor -outstanding white marble with fountains which take your breath away every evening 9pm 10pm and 11pm there is a stunning lightshow in the fountains well music is played,
SUN BEDS theres plenty, awesome pools and views looking directly out to sea, the bali beds a real luxury you can hire for the day a 4 poster bed from as little as 20 euros up to 100 which inc champagne fruit news paper sun cream ect - depending on price you choose ...
SPA this is a real treat 2 hours for just 25 euro of pure relax.. well worth going towels flip flops apples and water inc ...
FOOD we went to buffet restraunt each morning you could have cava and orange juice to cerial cooked breakfast croisiants fresh fruit the choice endless.. the grill bar opened lunch time was nice for pizza baguettes and hot sandwhiches ect ....
the ocean bar lovely lunch and evening out side over looking pools excellent food choice and great staff....
italian our favourite the steak was cooked to perfection...
all staff excellent and plenty wine served at all places...
ENTERTAINMENT...we loved the shows and the friendly team (we didnt go to i5live show as didnt have any childeren but people with younger ones said this was very good)
we spent most of the evenings in the PIANO bar it was relaxed with music played by TOM BEACH..who i must say is i a different league to any piano player ive seen awesome.
SENSATORI REPS .. a special mention to these guys rebecca and lauren who went that extra mile to make our anniversary and holiday so special ..
this truly is a special place to be ...yes it is a bit of the beaten track but why would you want to leave a place like this .... LUXURY ...looking at booking again already will def be going back ..
one more TIP ..they have a go green option where you can opt out of having your room cleaned and given a 20 euro credit instead ..fab idea as you can use against bali beds or spa treatments or drinks ( but would also consider up grading to silver gold package on drinks saves you a lot of money by doing this) leaving no big bill at the end of the holiday x well i hope ive summed it up ..if in doubt go see for your self you certainly WONT be dissapointed .

Room Tip: we had room 5130 which was lovely over looking the pirate pool perfect uyou can up load to a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coatesfamily-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Brilliant for an relaxing break in an artificial environment. So this hotel could be pretty much anywhere in the world but it doesn't pretend to be anything different. The rooms are huge and comfortable. The food is beautiful especially the italian restaurant, Club Ocean. With British TV and wifi coverage it can be hard to fully switch off, so I'd avoid bringing iPads ect. I can really recommend the 'water treatment' in the spa, where you get access to pools, the sauna and steam-room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Unfortinately the hotel was let down becaus of its area there was graffiti most of the places outside but the apperance was brilliant. apart from that the holliday was a sucsess there was lots of activities and fun things for kids to do. we felt safe in the hotel and the activity centres.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dpao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

stayed from the 9th to the 17th of nov/12 a very well run hotel evey thing too numerous to mention 100 per cent,with a special mention to all the staff brilliant,every one who can afford it should try a week or two

Room Tip: we got an average room which was brilliant ,but if you want more or pure luxury it will cost you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 107royp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Myself and my wife were in need of a holiday and some sunshine. We booked 1 week prior to going.The hotel is beautiful clean and tidy . The service is excellent and friendly.We went full board with Thomson the service we got was good even though we were not on all inclusive or the Red level service .
The room was luxurious and although only had a partial sea view (as booked) had a lovely view over the mountains farms and the sea.
The service at times was a little over the top as now i have reached the age of 50 i am still able to turn my own bed down prior to bed time.No doubt some customers enjoy this extra little service.
The food was good and there was plenty of choice and style.
The pool scene is great plenty of sun loungers and the massive pool is excellent.
Although this is a big hotel the whole place is very relaxing and because of its size it never feels crowded even though there is plenty to do in the pools ,sports and spa facilities.
We will return again when our batteries are in need of recharging.
Great holiday

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattA185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#27 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 stars 2,823 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing