We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay, lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in October 2010 so this review is a little late but I would still like to mention what a lovely time we had. Since we stayed I believe this is now a Sensatori hotel for Thomson so not sure if this has changed much.

The hotel is amazing on arrival we were 'wowed' by its appearance and the huge reception area. The decor is all modern and open and very clean. The rooms are a bit of a maze to find but throughout our week only got lost once. The rooms are very big and spacious and have lovely romantic lighting. The rooms were always kept clean.

There are 3 pools of which we used the one by our room which was frequently empty. The big saltwater infinity pool is where most people used to go. It was peaceful. I'm not sure how busy the hotel was throughout our stay but it never felt overcrowded or needed to rush for a sunbed.

The food was lovely, buffet style but good variety. There are other restaurants you could visit for a fee. The Italian was lovely. The breakfast was also always of good quality. And the staff were really attentive.

Its a beautiful hotel with lots of open space and kept very well.

The location is limited with being right in a very spanish village with very little around but buses are easy to get to Los Gigantes or to Playa las Americas.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed this holiday and loved the hotel. Would definately recommend this to anyone visiting Tenerife.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPLLW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,953
    1,495
    660
    223
    170
See reviews for
2,276
3,314
59
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed in this very good property while attending a conference (also held at the hotel).

After you get over the grand layout of the hotel, and get impressed by it's infinity pool, you'll settle well into the hotel. Despite its size, the hotel still feels exclusive and private (although it was not quite peak season during my stay ) and you can go about your business without fighting crowds. This place had a fun vibe, has a bit of buzz all about (in short, I wouldn't come here for some peace and quiet)

There are also not a lot of steep and long stairs in this resort like some resorts of this type, so you'll have an easy time navigating the place.

The rooms are well decorated. My room had dark tones - not exactly my thing when it comes to resorts - but I'm sure other folks would love it. Some of the fixtures showed wear and tear like electric plugs that you have to handle all too gently (otherwise the entire thing comes off) and the steam iron that was dripping water. The shower door also did not quite shut completely so water would spill into the floor and flood the doorway just outside. I didn't bother calling maintenance because I knew they wouldn't be able to do anything about it except to tell me not to shower too long or something like that.

For some reason, my iPad was not able to access wifi (it works fine in other hotels) - my notebook worked just fine though.

Re the beach, there is no beach to speak of, so don't imagine walking a beach of fine sand - there is a park and seafront running track just outside the hotel, so you can still have a decent enough oceanview walk. The infinity pool compensates for the lack of a good beach though.

I was quite impressed with the breakfast buffet. It is quite a huge place, and the food was great. The restaurants were also quite impressive, and is of high standard. Service in these restaurants and throughout the hotel was great. Nothing to complain about.

Overall, I'd say that this is a great property and probably the best place to be in Tenerife (the hotel does advertise itself as the best in Europe, but I'm sure there are similar others of this standard - and after being awed by the pool and the layout, you might get used to the place very quickly and might feel underwhelmed in the end).

Room Tip: If you want an early night, ask to stay away from the pools or the open-air entertainment venue (clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYKNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio_Alastuey, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your vacations, as well for taking the time in telling us about your recent experience.

It is truly pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Gran Meliá Palacio e Isora as well to know that our services and facilities have met your expectations.

Concerning the beach, it’s a pleasure to inform you that one is being constructed in front of our Resort, the sand will be black as is the typical sand of a Volcanic Island as Tenerife.

We hope to have opportunity to welcome you again at your second home,

We are expecting you…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We are just back from a great vacation in Tenerife and we loved the hotel. We stayed at the Red Level and the Red Level staff - Sergio, Cira and Roberto were super helpful with arranging trips on the island. The hotel itself is beautiful with great pools and very good service- it would have been perfect if they had a) some form of private beach access b) the spa did not quite cut it in my view and needs to get better. Aside from this, I would recommend the hotel and the Red Level is worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Book the Red Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMohinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio_Alastuey, Guest Experience Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at RedLevel and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the RedLevel staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our 40th Wedding anniversary

We notified Thomson`s it was our 40th wedding anniversary, nobody told the reps, room was nice but was very dark, then to cap it all on our anniversary night we were eating in the Italian we asked to leave the desert for ten minutes but the waiter said sorry NO we want you out in ten minutes, so we took our drinks outside to finish them. We will certainly remember our Ruby wedding "Thank you Thomson Holiday".
If that is Sensatori we wont be visiting again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lincsperson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We read the excellent reviews before travelling on our 2week family holiday. After experiencing the hotel first hand I think that some balance is in order.
Likes:
Quality of food especially in main buffet restaurant- lots of fresh fish and meat cooked to order
Room was modern with nice bathroom
Gardens were really well tended and beautiful
Sports hub great with helpful staff - esp the british instructors/trainers

Dislikes
The sofa bed my 2 children had to sleep on which I would not expect a house guest to sleep on at home for a night. It was terrible quality and my 8 year old daughter complained of back pain after a week. My children ended up on the "mattress " on the floor. Not good value considering we paid £1000 per child for a fortnight.
The smell of sewage/urine which occasionally drifted across our balcony
The lighting on the balcony is inadequate to read at night when thie kids are sleeping (even if you could ignore the odour).
There are only 2 designated pools for families/children which are very small and wholly inadequate considering at peak times most of the clientele are families. At one of these pools the kids are not allowed to use inflatables or play ball games.
There is a distinct lack of service outside the main restaurants- it is very difficult to order any drinks by the pool. A waiter/waitress comes around perhaps 2 or 3 times a day and if you miss them tough luck.
The main infinity pool is very salty and difficult to swim in without goggles/facemask.
It is very difficult to book some of the "included" restaurants on the full board/inclusive packages.

In summary, with some work could be much better, though we generally enjoyed ourselves. Was it good value? Probably not.

Room Tip: Book with gran melia hotels direct- don't go via Thomson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davetheraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had a fantastic week in this beautiful hotel. Rooms great size and really lovely to relax. Restaurants served great quality food and service great. Definitely will go back for another relaxing and high standard resort.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Gran Melia in Tenerife with our 2 older teenagers. Having never done this type of holiday before we had done a lot of research both before and after booking. Possibly this is the key to ensuring a positive experience as we were aware of a lot of the things people had had issues with in previous reviews. We were certainly not disappointed- from the moment we arrived at the hotel we all had a totally relaxing and happy week. The layout of the hotel was such that in spite of being so big it never felt crowded or noisy. There were plenty places to chill out, and a lot of thought had gone into having shared spaces as well as areas which were specifically for adults only or for families with young children, for example in the Pangea restaurant and around certain of the pools. We found the food to be of very high standard in all the four restaurants we tried and also had no problem whatsoever with getting plenty drinks top-ups during our meal. Yes, we were disappointed with the booking system esp for the Club Ocean but did discover that if you just turned up at 7 and asked it was possible to get an unbooked table during the evening -providing you were as polite to the staff as they were to us (without exception). The rooms were very luxurious with the comfiest bed I've ever slept in. Our teenagers were particularly taken with saving their green credits from not using the cleaning service as there were far more exciting things 20 euros a day could be used for! Joking apart I think this is a really positive way of helping the environment and one which other hotels could learn from. There was plenty to do for everyone-if you wanted to-but no pressure if all you wanted to do was lie on your bali bed all day long! At 100 euros for 3 days we felt the bali beds were a good investment just to have space and privacy- along with sangria and a bowl of fruit at noon! We found the staff throughout the hotel to be at all times exceptionally friendly, polite and helpful; at no time were we aware of Sensatori guests being treated as second best ( re previous comments) All in all we felt this holiday presented very good value for money- and it was the first time ever we had a hotel bill in credit at the end!!! We hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 37fee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,512 reviews
9.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,306 reviews
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing