We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional Moaners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dewsbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Professional Moaners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Thompson Sensatori package Gran Palacio 'what a place', manicured gardens, curtious friendly staff, superbly thought out complex with areas for specific preferences ie tranquil/quiet, adults only pool, family pool, general pool area etc. Food sensational whether in the main food hall or in any of the 5 restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know and can only think that some of the comments I read before going on holiday were from 'Professional Moaners' or 'very unlucky people' who go from disaster to disaster.

Room Tip: Sensatori package from Thompsons bedrooms all seemed to face outwards from the hotel, rooms with bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,974
    1,501
    663
    224
    172
See reviews for
2,292
3,328
60
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel third week of May on an all inclusive basis. As you walk into the reception area you smell Orange Blossom! Room very comfortable with a lovely area outside with sofa and chairs. The service, food and facilities were 5 star plus - could not fault it.
Cannot understand how anyone could complain about this hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend upgrading to a Garden Room where you get a Bali bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westeyMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked a "sensatori" package for one week As a couple in our early 50s who have approx 2-3 one week holidays a year usually in Melonaras, Gran Canaria & usually at the Baobab or the Costa Melonaras hotels, we decided this hotel would suit us after viewing many videos mainly on you tube (great tip..view holiday makers own videos to get a true idea of the hotels). I have mobility problems and usually can't walk unaided. I emailed the hotel a few days prior to our arrival and cannot praise them enough. We had originally booked a deluxe garden room with Bali bed in our garden, I then requested if possible if they could ensure the room was located as near as possible to the restaurants & adult pool as we realised the hotel complex was rather large. The Costa Melonaras in Gran Canaria was so large last I needed to hire a wheelchair for the week when we stayed there in may 2011! My email was replied to within an hour and every assistance has been given to me by all staff since we have been here. The guests we have met so far have been polite genuine decent people, the food very good, many free sun loungers with plenty of space between them, beautiful gardens & pools. We had no problem ordering drinks with pool waiters taking orders and delivering drinks promptly to any guest, so can't understand previous reviews who complained about that issue. There are families, young couples & middle aged people like us but have not encounter any "loud beer swilling louts" at all. There are Spanish , Italians & others who like us enjoy a touch of quality with like minded people. It's not pretentious, just a beautifully designed hotel with quality furnishings and every amenity you should need for a relaxing break in the sun. The people who seem to pick on silly things should perhaps go to Dubai's 7* hotel & pay for those things they feel are missing from the sensatori which in our opinion at the cost of approx £600-800 full board flights/transfers etc per week is excellent value. Personally the thought of extreme indulgence puts us
off. We will be returning here and would happily recommend Sensotori Tenerife to those who want to relax, enjoy beautiful surroundings, good food and kind, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Deluxe garden rooms with Bali bed in the garden are lovely, imagine for you younger couples, a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Gran Melia is just a fantastic hotel, the decor and the design hits all relaxtion senses and still gives more. The hotel speaks for its self so what part do Thomson play in the design of things. We are told, by Thomson, that we were going to experience all our senses and have the ultimate relaxing time as it was the purpose of Sensatori to deliver this. I'm sorry but it was Thomson that did the opposite. We planned our week by looking at the leaflets given to us by Thomson, and went to book trips accordingly, each and every one of our chosen trips were either cancelled or the leaflet had the wrong day printed because it had now changed, maybe it would of been a good idea to take away all the wrong literature and replace with the right information, that could lessen the frustration. Every time we tried to book an excursion I felt like I was in a comedy sketch "computer says no" type scene. So therefore all our plans were now ad hoc, the itineries could have been more descriptive and copies given for our perusal. Booking and going on trips, which sometimes took 11/2 hours as we go picking up at other resorts, sorry but I thought a Sensatori holiday was going to be relaxing, this was far from it. The whole concept of Sensatori stands alone and should provide a unique service which in all cases it failed to do. The service it did provide were provided by the Gran Melia for free and the hotel reception provided them anyway. So what is the purpose of Thomson Sensatori? The hotel delivered the relaxation and it was lovely to come back to a cool and sensual ambience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I booked this overhyped hotel through Thomson's, unwisely believing that this was a refined and sophisticated place in which to spend a relaxing week. How wrong I was. After the seemingly interminable and uncomfortable plane journey we arrived at the hotel at midnight, to be greeted by a jolly Thomson rep who showed us to our room. This was the first disappointment: small, overcluttered and populated with a confusing array of weirdly illuminated light switches which you could never learn what lights they controlled. The bathroom was also odd, with the loo pushed into a corner so tight that you could barely move into, and a shower room where the showerhead seemed more designed to drown the user than clean him. There was certainly nothing luxurious about the room. As for the bed, this was typically Spanish in being extremely firm and uncomfortable - a far cry from the lovely beds found in true luxury chains such as the Westin or the Sheraton.
Once settled into our room we were offered a cold buffet - rather disappointing given that we had paid for the evening meal as part of the package. On the way there we noticed a bar still open at 1am with a number of inebriated British guests flouncing around some tables - not a goood sign.
The interior of the hotel was covered with what appeared to be wall-to-wall marble - a pointlessly ostantatious touch which did nothing to impress me. What did impress me, in a negative sense, was the omnipresent piped 'lift music' in every part of the hotel - inside and out. Instead of inducing relaxation this merely induced irritation. Infact, the general impression of the hotel was one of studiously designed gaudiness; even the waiting staff wore white uniforms that seemed more suitable in a hospital than a hotel.
The worst experience was seeing the hotel taken over by guests that had apparently taken a detour from Butlin's. Around 80% of guests had small children with them. Whilst being far from hostile to children, I was wondering why this so-called 'luxury' hotel with an air of exclusivity was being taken over by people who I could only describe as typical Butlin's customers. And, upon closer observation, I was surprised to see that the number of male guests with tattoes seemed in the majority. So much for the refinement and sophistication! Given the prominent advertising of 'The Sun' in the hotel shop I should have known that this place was going to attract the great unwashed.
Taking an afternoon nap was impossible due to the noisy child next door, so we then asked to move and were handed a room on the ground floor near the 'Club Ocean' area, where a DJ played out moronic 'chillout' music from 6pm to 11.30pm, non-stop. Frying pan into the fire comes to mind. At least the one good thing about the hotel rooms was that you could see full UK TV channels (not just Sky news or BBC news).
This was just as well, as the entertainment in the hotel was a joke. On the first night the main highlight was a dire George Michael impersonator, and more pitiful acts followed on other evenings. Suitable for chavs, I dare say, but not really what you would expect in such a hyped-up hotel. Where was the class and culture?
As for the food, this was actually pretty good. The previous Melia hotel I went to, in Madeira, served boring food every day, but the Pangea restaurant here had planty of choice and something for everyone. And, being a buffet, you could of course have as much as you wished. For me, this was the highlight of the hotel - and with wine and beer included I could hardly complain. The desserts were particularly nice and highly recommended. We did eat a couple of times in the prententious waiter service Oasis Grill and Ocean restaurants, but the food is the same as in the Pangea and the portions miniscule - so why go there? A marketing trick - avoid these places.
Lastly, there was simply nothing to do in this resort, other than laze on a sunbed all day. Not what I would call a stimulating experience. The hotel is located in a sleepy backwater called Alcala, where there is nothing to see or to do, and no decent shops other than a cash and carry. The immediate area outside the hotel smells strongly of dog mess, made worse by the heat. The excursions organised by Thomson were expensive and more suitable for children - inexplicably there was no opportunity to visit the island's capital, Santa Cruz, and even the trip to the Teide national park did not involve a trip to the summit of this important mountain but merely skirted around it. The one trip to a town was to Los Cristianos, a chav magnet a few miles away where we were taken to an awful market that sold cheap junk of various types. Even this trip cost €19 each!
I will not criticise the Thomson reps - they were all fine people who did their jobs splendidly and were always helpful. However, something is badly wrong when Thomson advertise this resort as exclusive and sophisticated, while in reality being more like a Butlin's. From now on I will plan my holidays independently.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MLVReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

From the moment we arrived, settled into our room and had a wander around the resort (which took a while as its pretty big and spread out) we knew we'd made a great choice. Its not a purpose built package holiday resort but rather a hotel from the Gran Melia group which are generally of a high standard. Thompson have carved out a number of rooms for Sensatori guests and as a result the other guests were from all over Europe giving a more cosmopolitan feel. We had a standard room for the four of us (two girls 2 & 7) and it was v comfortable and well appointed with a good size bathroom.

The range and quality of restuarants were very good with some better than others but that was more down to taste and what suited my kids than quality. Breakfast was great in the main buffet restuarant and its the first time in two weeks on hols that none of us got board with what was offer. They like you to book in advance for dinner 24/48hrs beforehand and you soon get the knack of this and getting where you want when you want. If you've got young children that get you up earlish I suggest you wander down then to book at one of the machines to get a head of the curve. Our favourite for dinner was the Italian (Ocean Club - I think) which was excellent quality and service for an all inclusive holiday. The general standard of service from all the staff again was better than expected. They clearly have a policy of recruiting kid friendly staff which might sound obvious but not always the reality.

The kids club was great as were all the girls supervising. This sounds crazy but the club have sleep overs for kids so that the parents can get a night to themselves. Before arriving and getting a sense of the quality of supervision and feedback from other parents the whole idea left me cold. Anyway may daughter made friends with other kids who all had a sleep over (which included hot chocolate and marsh mellows, movies and story time) and they loved it, so did mum and dad! There were eveing shows (not cheesy), events and bouncy castles which ensured our kids were properly ready for bed at the appropriate time. The huge inflatables in the family pool for the kids twice a week were another winner!

This place set the bench mark for us as a family holiday it was a real wrench leaving as it was of a high quality in an informal, relaxed and safe environment with enough variety for two weeks. Granted (as per in other comments/reviews about the hotel) its not five star plus in the context of Mayfair and Park Lane hotels such as The Dorchester etc. But then that works for me as having stayed in such hotels where the service and quality might be up there, they lack the informality and casualness thats required to ensure you're kids have the best time. But this hotel is still of a good standard sufficient to ensure you've not sold yourself short, indeed far from it.

Would we go again? absolutely it was great! Do I think I might regret not trying somewhere else for a change. Possibly but I am more worried about ending up somewhere else that does not measure up!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

exceeded all expectations in every respect.hotel staff were brilliant,facilities really were 5 star and the activities were an added bonus.
although90% occupied the resort never appeared too crowded,plenty of sunbeds available[outside school holidays] and also adult only areas.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
9.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,320 reviews
9.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing