We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL YOU REQUIRE IN ONE PLACE.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“ALL YOU REQUIRE IN ONE PLACE.”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Have just spent two weeks at this superb hotel with the "All In" Package, but not extra drinks which are ridiculously expensive. As wine, beer and soft drinks are included with meals, we only had a couple of cocktails extra at London prices. The hotel is close to an undeveloped typical Spanish village, where a coffee in the Square is 1Euro, compared with 3.5Euros at the hotel, as an extra ! I questioned why coffee was extra, with the Manager and he informed me it was because of a contract made at the opening of the hotel in 2008. The village has a Market Day on Monday morning, which is worth a visit. The hotel charges 19.50Euros each to visit the Market in Los Christianos, but we went by public bus for 6.90Euros each. We then had the chance to walk to Costa Adeje along the Boardwalk, which is very attractive. We also went in the other direction to Los Gigantes one afternoon, by bus for 6.10Euros return each.
The hotel is extremely elegant in all departments. A choice of four restaurants for the "All In" plus three more if you wish try others at a cost. They are very expensive and I do not see why they are required, because the food selection is magnificent in the included. Where else can you start your day with as many Bucks Fizz as you like ! The quality of the food includes smoked salmon, crayfish, steaks, duck, monkfish, lamb, asparagus and what ever vegetables you may require. The bedrooms are huge with spacious bathrooms. The sanitary ware is classy - shame about the Spanish plumbing ! Possibly the most impressive things are the hotel architecture, with great attention to detail and sculptures every where. The gardens are an absolute delight, with ponds full of large, colourful koi carp and lush green grass. With
five swimming pools - one for adults only - there is space for all. I have marked the total value as excellent, for this reason. While initially the cost may seem expensive, if all the food and wine is taken into consideration, then I believe the value IS excellent.
I have written enough - just go there and enjoy !!!

Room Tip: If booking with Sensatori during Winter months, do not get a Garden Room. They are facing north and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MartinDNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,205
    1,600
    712
    242
    182
See reviews for
2,486
3,508
61
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Had a very relaxing chill out week in early March. Delighted with quality of most things. Room, reception, public areas, pools and general service and attention were excellent. Really needs to improve the dining experience though. there is a bit of a rush in the morning to ensure tables are booked for the non Buffett dining areas and the service we received was only so so. This was in contrast to the Pangea buffet areas where the service was far more attentive.
Couple of tips during your stay - hire a Bali bed for the day around the infinity pool, this was 50 euros but worth the privacy, you also get 2 sun beds, ice bucket with bottle of wine and plates of fresh skewered fruit - a nice treat. Use the cash and carry at the back of the hotel for all your incidentals and take a stroll along past the pier and have a beer in the small town square.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimjackie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azores, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The hotel is certainly one of the best in Spain, as already stated by travel agencies. A very upscale atmosphere, state-of-the-art suites and great restaurants ans public areas.

Prices of course match to that, but if you're really looking for getting away from it all, this could be the place.

Yet, for families with small children sharing a suite, you may find it's a bit small for the hotel standard. You better go for a communicationg room or a family suite.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisManuelDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Had a fab week on our return to this super melia. The hotel should be praised for their efforts in helping guests have a great time as they try to think of everything so you can just relax and enjoy! In particular, the staff are amazing - perfectly trained, incredibly polite and they are very helpful which is a rare commodity these days. Flower, karen and melassandra in the miniclub were brilliant and my son who usually wont go in, wouldnt come out! By the way the hotel has their own miniclub which is not the same one as the sensatori nursery. There were lots of activities to choose from. We only did a short one each day such as how to make sangria or paella and we even had a behind the scenes tour of the hotel. Food was very good. Rooms we're good quality. Spa was great. The massages by the rather gorgeous male masseurs were very strong and thoroughly enjoyed and the hydrotherapy pools and jets were a lovely way to relax whilst the children were being occupied elsewhere. We are already planning our trip for next year, despite the fact that we are not big fans of Tenerife!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther1O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I give it a big two thumbs up!!! This hotel is situated a 40 minutes drive from the airport. It's a bit out of the way from the main tourist resorts, however this was a bonus for us as and was a great location for those wanting a relaxed stay. Although the location itself is next to a small and unremarkable town with amenities and a number of pound shop equivalent stores, it remained a good location if you have a car and want to explore the island sites; 10 minutes to Los Gigantes, 30 minutes to the border of El Tiede national park.The resort itself is a contrast to the surrounding town, and inside feels like an oasis, plenty and varied amenities and choice of restaurants. On entrance the lobby is impressive and reception staff accomadating and helpful, gave us our internet passes and also leaflets containing the weeks entertainment and activities programmes, which surpassed our expectations e.g. artery, wine tasting, sushi making, segway taster, aqua-aerobics to name a few, all free of charge. Also, make sure you ask about the special buffet and dinner deals, e.g. weekly bbq with drinks included (drinks not usually included). The decor of the hotel is beautiful throughout, the areas are modern, spacious, well-kept and clean, and never feel over-crowded, however we did stay in January. We stayed in a standard room, garden facing, which was comfortable. This hotel is affiliated with Thomson's; on the Thomson's website it can be booked under the name "Sensatori". We booked however through lastminute.com and flew with easyjet. Looking at the prices we had a SUBSTANTIALLY better deal for the dates we were travelling. Also, when you arrive in the hotel we noticed that Thomson's has separate reception and customer service areas in a corner of a corridor which looked unimpressive by comparison, whereas we checked in at the main lobby -very strange. There was a choice of 5 restaurants. The hotel board system is not that straight forward; full board does not include drinks unless an additional drinks pass is bought, which cannot be bought for an individual day. Additionally some meals will have certain drinks included such as house wine, however the buffet and other meals they were not included when asked (?!). We stayed half board, which included breakfast buffet in the pangea restaurant, and dinner in a choice of pangea buffet, or another 2 of the restaurants if booked ahead. Food was a good standard, not excellent however (4/5). There is a massive salt water pool with hydrotherapy jets which looks very nice, however in January it was rather cold. There were two other pools on either side of the resort that were smaller but a lot warmer (one adult pool and one family pool). Evening entertainment in the large theatre varied throughout the week e.g. Lady Gaga tribute, rock anthem etc; the entertainers were English and good standard of performance. The only little bug bear was that we were told off for arriving 15 minutes after our booking time at the Italian restaurant one evening, and were made to feel like a child being told off by that particular maitre'd! Overall beautiful and impressive resort with good customer service, comfortable rooms and amenities. We previously stayed in Santos San Blas; this hotel definately trumped it in every aspect, but not in terms of buffet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week of winter sun staying at the Sensatori Hotel. I read lots of the reviews as part of my research and just wanted to add our experiences broken down into pros and cons.
Pros:
The hotel and grounds are superbly presented with a lot of thought put into every area - everywhere you look there is a well designed "wow" element from the sculptures in the landscaped gardens, to the wall of wine bottles in the Pangea restaurant. Despite the size of the hotel, it is well laid out and with a quick walk round it is quite easy to get your bearings and find your way to the various retaurants, pools and various facilities.
The staff are incredibly welcoming and from the maids to the managers if they pass you they always say hello with a smile. Having stayed at the H10 in Puerto de la Cruz last year where the Receptionist could not even be bothered to make eye contact when we checked in, this was extremely refreshing! We only had one waiter (called Angel in the Market Grill) who was not particularly polite and he only just managed to redeem himself when we left when he gave a quick smile and a thank you!
The bedrooms are wonderfully appointed and Thomson should really make a lot more about what facilities are offered on their website. We were just in a standard room yet it was probably one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. Spacious, huge bed, his and hers basins, rainfall shower, massive bath, 2 double wardrobes and a small terrace (we were on the ground floor - other rooms had a balcony). What Thomson do not tell you is there is a mini fridge, kettle with tea & coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board and the all important hairdryer also included - good job I did not go out and buy a travel iron!!
Food kind of comes under both pros and cons, but as a positive there is plenty of choice and the restaurants are all beautifully designed. There was never a wait for a table and there is a booking system (only for that and the next day) to smooth things out. Drinks are replenished regularly and the house wines were very acceptable.
Cons:
Sticking with food, this is the only area of the hotel we felt was more like 4 star than 5 star. The food in the Italian (Club Ocean) was very good as per other reviews and even the buffet style dining in Pangea was generally good with plenty of choice and only had a couple of issues when the food was not good. The Market Grill was the worst but may have been down to what we chose, but only ate there once as also found staff less friendly. The Ocean Grill was very good but you may wish to avoid the Saturday BBQ where the dismal offering of pork chop (only about 3 mm thick!) was less than impressive.
The main criticism though was the lack of poolside service. Once we saw a waitress standing talking to the lifeguard and were not sure whether she was serving or just chatting! Maybe this improves in high season or maybe as some of the guests are all inclusive, they do not want to be offering drinks unnecessarily! There is a sit down bar area to the side of the Club Ocean, but does not seem to be the type of place you can pop and buy a drink to take back to your sunbed!
The other con is an issue standard with big hotels - they have beautiful Bali beds dotted around the various pool areas which you have to pay for. Being typically British I hate having to ask how much as there is that awkward issue of having to decline if out of your price range. I really wish they would clearly display the prices although at 50 euros for the day (to include a bottle of cava and some fruit) this may only be the domain of the rich who do not have to ask!
Tips:
If you take the spiral path out to the back gate then turn left and keep walking along the newly constructed costal path you come into Alcala harbour where there are a couple of bars to the side of a kind of square. Worth a visit. Also worth a visit (may sound strange) is to come out of the front of the hotel and head over to the garage opposite. We had 5 different tapas, a pint of beer, a water and a coffee and all for 16 euros! They speak English and were extremely friendly - on top of that the coffe was far better than the hotel's!
Finally, if you are feeling fit, come out of the back of the hotel, turn right and follow the path up the side of the hotel. There is a track between the banana plantation wide enough for a vehicle, take this and it will lead you to Playa de Arena and if you follow the costal path will eventually bring you to Los Gigantes. At a comfortable pace we got there in 1 hour and 45 mins to be rewarded with a large glass of wine at the Tipsy Terrace! We even walked back - needed to work off the wine!
In summary, we would highly recommend this hotel and really did not want to leave. The criticism of the food is minor as it is generally of a high standard, just do not expect lobster or caviar for lunch! You could easily spend a week without leaving the hotel, but you will feel like a true explorer if you do make the effort to venture out. Yes drinks and extras are expensive, but you are staying in a 5 star hotel and this is true of such places everywhere. Do try the spa though - we paid 80 euros for 5 x 2 hour "Water Rituals" which included the pool with fantastic water jets, jacuzzi, flotation pool, sauna, steam room, plunge pool, hot pool and heated beds!!
If you want to try 5 star luxury in a wonderful setting treat yourselves!!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor which was fine but if you can get a higher floor then the views will add to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jackstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Firstly, I realise that this review runs contrary to most of the others. However, I can only offer my honest opinion and hope that it is useful to other potential clients...

I will start by defining what I think '5 star' means, namely: discretion, intimacy, peace, service, quality, personal attention.

Sensatori Tenerife has none of these qualities. Instead it is: vast, crowded, noisy and values quantity over quality.

You also get the distinct impression that the Thompson customers rank right at the bottom as far as the hotel is concerned. The Sensatori rooms are all on the dark side of the hotel and furthest from everything. If you look on the Gran Melia website you will see that the Sensatori "luxury" rooms are absolutely the cheapest available.

Then there are the restaurants. The buffet is vile. Again - noisy, crowded and full of people who don't care what the food tastes like as long as they can pile it into a vast teetering edifice on their plate. Our first evening we did about three laps before we could find anything that we could vaguely stomach. Then I had cannelloni which was filled with a curious grey gloop, and a mackerel salad that smelled suspiciously "high". How they can use the phrase "5 star" is entirely beyond me.

Credit where credit's due the breakfast selection is very pleasant - a good mix of cooked food, fruit, cereals etc. If only you didn't have to navigate round the enormous area while being elbowed aside by steely-eyed pensioners with their pockets stuffed full of bread rolls and cheese so that they don't have to pay for lunch...

We tried all of the a la carte restaurants. The Italian is best, to the extent that you have to book it by about 9am the day before you want to eat in order to get a table. Doesn't really help one to enjoy a spontaneous holiday. The Ocean Grill pretty poor - tuna steak was well over cooked and obviously frozen. Quite ironic that we ate it looking out over an ocean that is presumably full of fresh fish.

But the single most desperately frustrating and annoying feature of the hotel is the constant piped music. It's everywhere - in the buffet at breakfast, in reception, in all of the lounge areas of the hotel, all around the pools, on the terrace of our room and even in the room if we left the window open. It's utterly mindless - presumably from an album entitled "Chilled Ibiza" from about 2003 - lots of pan pipes and Moby. The same selection played relentlessly every single day. Why can't they let us have some peace and quiet??

Even though we'd booked full board, we ate out a number of times, just to escape. Lupulo in Alcala was really good- far better food than the hotel. You can also get a beer for €1 from the bars around the square in Alcala while actually enjoying some authentic atmosphere.

I'm going to leave it there, before I start ranting about the sun lounger bed- blockers, the shower that constantly flooded the bathroom despite our complaints, the fact that this vast construction looms over what once must have been a pretty village without any sympathy for the environment.

I just wish Thompson had been honest with us. It was marketed as a 'luxury break for couples' when it's really just a holiday camp with a nice pool and some sunshine. The one thing that it is absolutely, thoroughly and manifestly not is "5 Star"!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jimbobs999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,611 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing