We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas paradise !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked to stay here just 1 week before we arrived, the booking system was efficient and easy.
We booked a Demi suite on the RED LEVEL.
On arrival at the resort, we went to the main reception area, very palatial and spacious, we were warmly met and shown to the reception desk, the lady there advised us that as we were Red Level guests, that we had a seperate check in area in the Club house. We were shown to a cornered off area of the lobby to await our 'Butler'.
After about 10 minutes he arrived and escorted us to the Club house by golf buggy, whilst going through the grounds he explained the various restaurants and facilities.
It all was stunning !
We arrived at the Red Level club house , we were offered a glass of very chilled pink cava !!! this went down very well !
The receptionist welcomed us, and informed us that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a jacuzzi suite !
Our Butler escorted us to the suite, which was absoulutely stunning ! Magnificent bathroom, double sinks, seperate shower and bath unit, and the actual loo in a side room area with a bidet, very well designed.
Lovely toiletries, all Clarins. Plenty of lovely white fluffy towels and bathrobes too!
The room its self, was elegant , large and spotlessly clean.
Huge king size bed, flat screen TV , sofa at the end of the bed, as well as table and chairs further down the room by the balcony doors.
We opened our balcony doors, to find a lovely wicker sofa ,the promised jacuzzi bath and lovely seaviews over the plantations.
By this time it was around 3.00pm and the room ahd no sun on it at all, we were not unduly concerned at the time, but it felt slightly chilly , even though the air temp was around 24c.
We enjoyed drinks on the terrace by the pool, in baking sunshine and then went to get ready for the evening.
By this time, the room was actually very cold , we tried to adjust heating on air con, but i think its set to cool only.
We decided to wait til the next day to see if our room did actually get any sun.
The next morning we discovered it didn't !!!! We went to reception, we fel awful as they had upgraded us, but we asked if we could have what we had booked ina sunny location !
Our request was met happily, the staff there are outstanding ! We were told a room would be available after 1pm, and they invited us to go and relax by the pool and they would take care of it all.......and that they did.
All our luggage was moved for us, we literally had to just go to the new suite !
Again, was perfect, no jacuzzi on balcony, but lovely and sunny !
With Red level, included is a fantastic breakfast, with part buffet/ part waiter service, As you sit down, you are offered a menu with everything you could desire on it.
The buffet also has cold meats, cheese, yoghurts, fruit, various pastries and rolls, juices, the most amazing coffee makers ( your room also has one of these delights ! )
Cava was always available at breakfast too.
You can sit out on a lovely covered terrace and enjoy the stunning views and the peace and tranquility.
Red Level customers have their own private pool, nice and large , plenty of sunbeds, there is also a private grassed area on the seafront level, again sectioned off for Red Level.
During the day, you are offered cold towels, fruit kebabs and facial water sprays.....all very decadent !!!
All day long you are able to help yourself to Tea /Coffee and water from the bar unit. There were also a few biscuits, cakes available in the afternoon too.
From 6.00- 7.30pm , there was an open bar facility, with every spirit you could imagine, along with wines, cava and beers and lagers. All this was offered with a finger buffet.
A lovely way to end a perfect day !
The hotel complex is vast, but is beautifully designed , its all in sections, Thomson use this as their SENSATORI range, they are in a seperate wing, which seems to be geared for kids....of which there were alot !!
But they had their own pools, family sunbathing areas etc.
All other wings were seperate, and you would see signs saying 'TRANQUILITY ZONE' OR ADULTS ONLY....Which makes it nice for everyone !
The first evening , we ate in the main Buffet restaurant, which is enourmous.
I have to be honest here, the food was really not terribly good.
The choice was huge, but food was cold, I had a paella dish , which tasted like it had sat there for days, and the steak I attempted to eat, would of been more use on the sole of my shoe !!!
That aside, food in other restaurants was fine. Its definatley not Gourmet, but is pleasant enough.
On Christmas eve, we ate at a restaurant which served a baked lamb shoulder, which was delicious, and another evening in the Italian restaurant, which looks stunning !
In the middle of the main square of the hotel, are dancing fountains , which are spectacular.
On Christmas Eve, they had a lovely large open fire type thing, on an outdoor terrace and a group of entertainers, I believe laid on by Thomson, who sung Christmas Carols and it was really lovely !! Great atmosphere, lovely warm evening and very memorable !

All in all, this is the most fantastic resort, We really enjoyed it, we travel alot to the Far East, as we love the service and accomodation there, this was not a million miles from it !
Staff here are fantastic, they do a type of salute , by crossing their arm over their heart when they greet you ! ALL are friendly and care about customer service !
We have stayed in many , many hotels in Tenerife, and this BLINDS them all.
If you can bear to leave the complex, take the walk on the seafront path to the village of Alcala.....very pretty and very authentic ! We had some lovely lunches there ! And a really good paella !!!!
If you are going here soon..........you are in for a treat !!!
Please contact me if you like any other info !

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a sunny location, some are North facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BricklayerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,779 - 3,785 of 7,402 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel, fantastic amenities, great Tranquility pool area for adults only. Only fault is the price of food and drink in the hotel. Seven Euros for a beer, Twenty eight euros for buffet lunch.
The staff servicing the rooms were incredible. The best turn down service ever! Attention to detail..changing of towels and bathroom amenities twice daily, that's a rarity.
The hotel is situated close to ( 2 mins walk ) the town of Alcala. Wander into the town and sample the local bars and tapas restaurants...we had tapas and drinks for two for twenty euro! There is one fantastic restaurant in the village but you will need to book. It is called Restaurante Lupolo . Tel 922832274. The food is fantastic....creative and we had our best dinner there. It is a bit more expensive than other local restaurants but a third of the price of the hotel's restaurants!

Room Tip: The Demi suite with partial or full sea view worth the extra cost......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fintrabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had our Christmas holidays this year in Tenerife and this hotel was booked through Thomson (one of their Sensatori hotels). This hotel was perfect for families with the only small criticism being the start of the evening meal times - after our toddlers usual bedtime. We managed to work around this by having a big breakfast and late lunch but ultimately missed the evening meal.

Kids swimming pool was great if not a little cold in December but the infinity pool was really rather chilly so we gave it a wide birth.

All in all a very relaxing trip in pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Hi There just came back from this MESS, The management were not helpfully at all when we arrived they wanted to put a family of four with young children on to different floors we was not having that so there answer was to charge us more 80 euro’s per night, when we complained we got nowhere, we paid the price after 2 hours later we finally got in to our rooms, Right where do I start the pool staff did not tell us that we could not reserve the beds before 10am, So we came down by 9am in the morning put towels on the bed to later find some had removed them, then we start arguing with the pool staff, The waiters around the oasis bar were dreadful and I mean dreadful,the hotel looks great but there are a lot of cracks and I don't mean the walls.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at The sensatori Tenerife NYE 2011 on recommendation of friends, but what a mistake that was!!! It was just meant a short relaxing new year break But it was far from it!!! The hotel had 600 rooms and felt like it was a disused shopping mall. If you like us are used to smaller hotels then this is really not some where i would suggest!!!! The rooms are very nice and comfortable, food was very very average and it felt like for the whole 7days we ate the same thing. We booked Full board , which only included drinks at breakfast ,lunch and dinner. But upon arrival we paid the extra for the for the all-inclusive drinks package , which was a extra 30 euro's per person , per day. Would highly recommend this as drinks can be pricey. The main all-inclusive restaurant as I said before very very average and most of the time either cold tasteless or to salty!!!!!.The food we ordered from our room service menu was fantastic , very tasty and always served hot!!! Only three of the restaurants they mention in your welcome information , Pangea is the only one you can eat in for breakfast lunch and dinner. Oasis pool grill and market grill have a very small all-inclusive menu ( sometimes just one page on the menu) anything else has to be paid for !!!! staff friendly and helpful , but as I have always found some spainish people there was some RUDENESS!!!!! For the amount of money we paid for the holiday and after extra money paid for drinks and Room service we spent in total £3000, which we both think was totally waste of money!!!! Also be warned we were told by First choice travel agents that wi-fi was free , and guess what it wasn't !!! It comes at a extra charge!!!!! Definitely do research before booking to go here!!!!

Room Tip: Do your research
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Glitterqueen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed in the Sensatori over the Christmas break on a Full Board Plus basis. When we arrived we had been given a room that was facing the mountains and the room was dark and felt cold due to having no sun at this time of year. As we had escaped Britain for some sun - we decided to pay quite a bit extra at reception for a room with a view of the sea that had the sun on our terrace from sunrise and ended the day with beautiful sunsets. We were very fortunate that for the whole seven days in Tenerife we had blue skies and sunshine all day long. The rooms are very impressive. Very clean and spacious. Had to ask for extra hangers for our clothes but the staff were very obliging. The Pangea restaurant had a good selection of foods for breakfast. lunch and dinner. On occassions some staff waiting on our table were poor while others were a joy to have looking after you. So it was hit & miss. The Market Grill did beautiful fish and a lovely setting but we were never informed that you could help yourself to a salad bar until our last meal when we overheard another couple mentioning it to the waiter. The complex is vast. There isn't enough lifts positioned around the accommodations. I would not recommend this hotel for people with poor mobility. The walking from bedrooms to the public areas, ie restaurants, pools, promenade onto sea front is only for the healthy. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for that something extra special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DeetheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My Husband and i have travelled here twice. Once with our children aged 2 and 8, and another time in the 'Red Level' just the 2 of us.

Please everyone be rest assured. We have had an amazing time on both occasions.

RED LEVEL

It is pure relaxation. The service is second to none and you are treated amazingly well from the first to last minute. There are plenty of sun beds and service is great. They give you a service call button to use if you need them for drinks etc.We never actually used this as the staff were amazing and were there before we needed them! They have a free bar at 6pm till 7.30pm with nibbles and a beautiful view. The rooms are immaculate, and the outside bath is great. We are coming back it was that great again.

Family section.

The pool was a little tricky for beds, but we were in the summer holidays and we only had to ask and beds were found straight away and sun canopy's. The Bali beds are great for young children as you have shade all day with the curtains pulled if wanted and a place for them to nap. The kids club was great for my 8 year old and she made lots of friends that way. The Nursery staff are amazing, rest assured they are very well cared for.

My husband is also in a wheelchair so anyone with disability's should not worry as we found it great once you ask a porter for all the best routes. (best ones to ask!)

Some reviews on here make me laugh and shake my head! I am the first to spot anything that's not quite right and to be honest a smiling friendly tourist that does not snap their fingers and come across rude goes along way!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank loubylou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
9.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,895 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,977 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
#2 of 8 in Guia de Isora
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: $208 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing