We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC, be back next year.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC, be back next year.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

On arrival we was met by Jose from Red level. Fabulous guy with a questionable taste in football teams (;-)), took us into the reception lounge and arranged two glasses of cold cava whilst he took our luggage up to our room.
We had a fantastic ocean view room with jacuzzi on the fourth floor. Wow, what can I say, the room was fantastic. Spotlessly clean and ever thing you could want for a luxury stay .
Breakfast at Red level another wow, food cooked fresh for you from the menu, also fresh breads, pastries,cold meat,cheeses, yogurts , cereal and much more all looking out over the ocean .
Restaurants- had lunch at the Pangea which is a buffet type and lots of choice. How anyone can moan is beyond me, loads to choose from. My husband started with good intentions but always ended up with a Spanish, Italian, English, Japanese fusion with chips and a salad to make up for the guilt;-) good job there's a very good gym with Life Fitness cardio machines, 2 dumbbell racks ( max weight 20 kg which is ok), weight machines for every body part, a Smiths machine and cable crossover machine. The gym is open 24hrs and my husband was doing 2 a day workouts and said it was deserted at stupid o'clock (6:30 am) but busy at lunchtime.
Italian restaurant also fab, great fillet steak and great pizza.
Oasis restaurant- very nice food and very friendly staff.
Market Grill I would describe as good pub grub.
We hired a bali bed for the week which is worth every penny and a big thank you to Cristian from the Red level pool bar for looking after us so well, always service with a smile, cleans your sunglasses for you and brings round fresh fruit in the afternoon, also cool face cloths for you, bless him, works his socks off making sure ever one is looked after. All the 500+ staff at the hotel work so hard the gardens are fabulous and I have never been to such a clean hotel, hats off to all the staff.
Also a big thank you to Jose for getting us such a fab room, already desperate to book to come back next year.xxxxxx

Room Tip: 4068 top floor red level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthEastKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear CornwallPenzance,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level.

It is a pleasure for us to read that youhave enjoyed all the time and that our staff have really worked hard to look after you and your partner and to provide you a wonderful holiday.

We all work hard to succed our guests expectations and we are delighted to read that we achieve our main goal with you, and you have enjoyed the facilities, the restaurants and your room.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time at Red Level at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    125
    46
    24
    10
See reviews for
91
743
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Firstly I should say I have been here twice before so I know what to expect!

Its the little things that make your holiday special..... Our aircon was blowing against a light fitting causing noise - they sorted it immediately; I had forgotten some toiletries from home - delivered to my room within 10 minutes; extra pillows; different type of tea in the room; valet parking with a smile and no charge; refund of my early check in payment because we arrived later than expected; extra toiletries in my room because they know I love the Clarins products. Nothing is too much trouble.

A couple of tips if you haven't been here before;

The fifth floor rooms have a concrete balcony rather than railings, so you can't see the wonderful view when sat down.

It is true that the food at this resort is not great (with the exception of breakfast which is fabulous) especially when you consider the price point, but there are half a dozen lovely restaurants within an easy 10 minute walk of the resort and we really enjoyed walking out at night for dinner.

The new beach is fantastic for kids with rock pools to be explored and safe swimming areas cut from the rocks.

Do hire a Bali Bed. There is no problem getting a sunbed round the Red Level pool, but on this trip, the Bali Beds were €50 per day (includes a bottle of wine or cocktails) and you got the third day free of charge. I love to know that my comfortable bed is booked and I can come and go as I please.

I booked the hotel directly on the Melia website and got €20 per day credit on my room bill.

If you're looking for relaxation and pampering service, the you can't beat it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Joanne1y,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level. It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us one more time.

We always like to welcome you here at the Red Level and to read that you enjoyed our facilities, special the breakfast buffet and the Bali Beds. We are delighted to be your favojurite place and we are looking forward to welcome you one more time here at Red Level in the next future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

If you are travelling without children, I highly recommend paying the premium to go red level at this hotel. The additional space in the gardens and around the exclusive pool for red level guests is really worth it. Add to that - the pool side service, which includes complimentary water, coffees,newspapers, the free bar at 6pm ... And the fact that you can have a crowd free and relaxed breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea ( and away from the main resort crowds and families)..... And red level starts to pay for itself. Also breakfast at red level includes ala carte menu and a buffet and is open until 11am. If the additional cost is putting you off ... I would suggest staying on a B&B basis and making up the difference this way. Or use the extra money to take a Bali bed - which costs about 50 euro per day .
However, if you do decide to do B&B basis, be careful about eating in the hotel. The additional cost of food is extortionate if it's not included in your plan. I would generally say that hotel food doesn't represent good value for Money. . The snacks at the red level pool is ridiculous - expect to pay 18 euro for a sandwich and chips! This is really just taking advantage of guests - my only gripe. You really have to leave the hotel to eat .... Where there are some lovely local restaurants in Alcala serving great snacks, evening meals ...for a fraction of the price. Same sandwich will cost you 3 euro for lunch in sunbeam. We loved sun beam, rincon de barrigo and Sauco ... All within minutes walk. Same goes for beer and wine.... On average this costs three times more in the hotel than local restaurants.
Alcala itself is a quiet and small fishing town. Don't expect a strip lined with bars and restaurants. But if peace , quiet , and good food and good prices is what you seek - I highly recommend.
Overall I rated this hotel highly but I'm not sure I would visit and stay in the main part of the hotel - having stayed in red level. The grass verge around the main huge pool is packed with families and space is at a premium. Beds lined up one after an other with no privacy.
Night time entertainment was a bit dull in my view but I guess it's really geared towards families. There is a full sports and activity schedule though - which sounded great if you are so inclined. Overall a great hotel, well maintained by excellent staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank slopster408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear slopster408,

We would like to begin by thanking you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday at Tenerife and for the time you have spent on sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for all of our team to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay at our resort. Your compliments on our rooms and swimming pools are highly appreciated, although we will take into consideration your comments regarding the food.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time here at Red Level.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Red Level Gran Melia Palacio de Isora for 2 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had quite high expectations of the hotel, but they managed to succeed it.
1. Hotel personnel: uber-helpful, welcoming and friendly. Everywhere - at the reception, at La Terrace restaurant, at the pool. We felt that all our wishes were met or anticipated.
2. Rooms: our frontal seaview suite with terrace and spa bath was gorgeous: spacious, tastefully decorated, well thought-through and fantastic view indeed.
3. Hotel's territory is lush, vast and impeccably maintained. There are plenty of restaurants and pool bars to choose from and sun loungers, Bali beds and hammocks to enjoy sun. There are 3 outdoor saltwater pools: 1 exclusively for Red Level guests, 1 for adults only and 1 huge infinity pool for all guests.
4. Red Level: a great proposition for adults only, with top-notch service
5. Location is great. Though it's far from most popular resorts of Las Americas and Los Cristianos, it's devoid of cheap eateries and inebriated hordes. An authentic fishing village of Alcala is just 5 min walk away along the beautiful ocean promenade. Recently renovated, uncrowded black sand ocean beaches are just at the hotel's doorstep
Special thanks to Claudia, Vero and Alex for making this stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxLondon1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear MaxLondon1976,

Thank you so much for taking some of your valuable time to write this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoy the rooms, the service and the diffrent swimming pools and restaurants in the hotel.

All your comments about our staff are really aprecciated and we are really happy to read that the service provided by our team exceeded your expectations, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to achieve the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time in Red Level.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I chose this hotel for a few nights away as a health/spa break somewhere quiet and sunny. I had read mixed reviews but decided to go for it as the website photos and services seemed so good. I needn't have worried about being disappointed, everything was just as it was described on the hotel website and I had a wonderful time.

The hotel is quite isolated which was absolutely perfect for me. The whole atmosphere was calm and relaxing. I was a Red Level guest and there were only a handful of others around our pool which was lovely. The staff seemed valued and obviously enjoyed their jobs as nothing was too much trouble, I felt very looked after.

I loved the spa and hydrotherapy pool. I had the whole area to myself for the 1.5 hours before my massage which was a real treat. A small part of the spa is visible from the tinted windows but the rest is tucked away. It's a perfect place to destress with a variety of facilities - plunge pool, hot pool, sauna, steam room, heated loungers and all the pools had crystal clear water. My massage was great (being in the industry I'm a bit particular about treatments!) and I took the option of the outside treatment room to hear the birds singing and water flowing for real, not on CD!

There are enough activities such as yoga, pilates, t'ai chi and spinning if you want them, but I didn't try any of these out in the end. The gym is 24 hours and well equipped with Life Fitness kit and has a good variety including a cable cross-over and squat rack. Again I used this facility late in the evening and had it to myself.

As I got a discount for booking through the Melia.com website I chose the room option with the jacuzzi on the balcony. I had it run in the evenings (they bring you Clarins products and candles) and sat and looked at the stars which I find is good for the soul!

I read mixed reviews about the food but the Red Level breakfast was perfect, with a choice of everything you'd expect and also an eggs menu (I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict). As I was a solo traveller I preferred that it was served on the separate terrace and I could avoid the massive restaurant. I used room service in the evenings and had sea bass, salmon and steak all of which I thought were amazing, so I had no complaints about food.

Overall I recognise that my break was probably the opposite of what others go on holiday for, but I left feeling, relaxed and rejuvenated in mind, body and soul! If you are looking for a quiet spa break to re-energise then I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with extra long terrace have great direct access to the pool but the terrace isn't ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Suzie Y,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time and writing this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level. It is a pleasure to read those kind words about the hotel, the spa and the relaxing atmosphere that you have enyojed with us.

We all really work very hard to succeed our guests expectations and we are delighted to read that we have achieve it on your stay.

We hope to welcome you one more time here at Red Level and thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor one more time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was our 6th visit to this hotel (4th time in the Red Level) and once again we were not disappointed. We loved everything about it, all the staff work very hard to make your stay memorable. Breakfast on the terrace is perfect, and in the evening during the drinks and tapas hour we were whale watching! It was nice to see the new beach after watching its progress the last couple of years, and the extension to the Red Level Garden will be a huge improvement when it is all finished. We highly recommend the Red Level for a perfect holiday. Thank you Ana and all your team, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casndegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear casndegs,

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting us and spend one more time your holiday with us. It is a plasure that you come 6 times to the hotel and you take your time to share your opinion in Tripadvisor, as we consider all your feedback as a great value for us to keep improving and bettering ourselves.

We are always delighted to serve you and we are really happy to read that you feel really welcomed here at Red Level,

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was an anniversary trip with my partner for a long weekend in Tenerife. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Red Level. The location is excellent, far from the crowds of Las Americas and close to the beuautiful North of the island and Teide NP, where we spent most of our trip. At the same time it is still in the south of Tenerife, which means sunny weather is guaranteed, it was a pleasure to return from our hikes and spend the afternoon lounging on the black beach or by the pool.
The rooms are spacious, the bathroom impressive. The decor is a bit overwhelming for our taste, but good quality. The beds are a tad on the soft side, which we did not appreciate too much. The place is clean and the grounds are extremely well maintained. The breakfast in the Red Level on the terrace with great views is a great start of the day. The selection is good and the food is tasty and quality.
We did not dine in the hotel restaurants given the generally poor reviews. There are many other options within a short drive.
The service is excellent. The staff is extremely polite and very efficient. They made us feel welcome and were always helpful and personable.
If we go back to Tenerife, this is where we would stay again

Room Tip: The Red Level service is definitely worth the extra price. A sea-view room with a jacuzzi on the ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Directora de Red Level at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Wojtek K,
Firstly thank you for chosing Red Level for your aniversary. We are so pleased to know that your stay with us was special and memorable.

We would like to thank you as well for the lovely words you used to described our staff, be assured your comments will help them to keep doing their best for making our guest feel like home.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resor...
#1 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
8.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora

Property: RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Address: Calle La Costa s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Oceanfront hotel, for adults only, with spectacular views of the island La Gomera. RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife, in the fishing village Alcala. A beautiful unspoiled area at the foot of Mount Teide, five minutes by car from the Los Gigantes cliffs. While its glorious design combines to perfection the elements sea, earth and air, the hotel sets new standards for luxury, in order to satisfy the most demanding travellers searching for a truly unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RedLevel At Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing