We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Most amazing hotel.... Service, staff, facilities, all fab... I will DEFINATELY return... If you like a bit of luxury this is the hotel for you. The red level areas are lovely, adults only... Plenty of space, you can even get your sun glasses cleaned whilst sitting by the pool, free sun creams, after suns, water, tea, coffee... They have thought if everything and for those days when the weather is not so good there is a fab spa

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear willowstravellers,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Red Level for your recent holiday, as well as for the time you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed a lovely stay at our resort. We are delighted by your compliments on our facilities, staff and restaurant & bar service.

We hope to welcome you soon at Red Level.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you are consenting adults considering a truly relaxing child free holiday you will not be disappointed and in our opinion Red Level at Gran Melia is an option you really should indulge in. We experienced a personal relaxed check-in complemented by a dedicated professional team of staff headed by Alfredo, an amazingly high level of service which was evident throughout our entire stay. The rooms are wonderfully appointed, comfortable and exceptionally serviced, if you are feeling decadent opt for a whirlpool tub on your balcony, its worth it! Breakfast is excellent, again staff second to none, red level pool and garden service wonderful,a special mention to Barbara :), thank you. We will definitely be back, hopefully without my sore eyes!

Room Tip: Not telling you might steal it :) .... but sea view great and whirlpool balcony tub worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Directora de Red Level at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Lyn G
Thank you for chosen Red Level at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooms, services and staff (like Alfredo and Bárbara) meet your expectations.
We want that our guests have a memorable experience and I am thrilled to know that we did this for you.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance and thank you for recommending us.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a fabulous hotel , great venue, beautiful pools , fantastic bars and restaurants , the staff make you feel special every hour of everyday. From your shades being cleaned to your bath being filled ready for a nice soak in the tub. Stay in the Red level ! From clarins toiletries to caviar and champagne for breakfast it's well worth the extra .

Room Tip: Go for red level junior suite or partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Louise S.

First we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Red Level for your recent vacation, as well as for the time you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed a lovely stay at our resort. We are delighted by your compliments on our facilities, staff and restaurant & bar service.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Red Level
.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We recently stayed at the Red Level for a 4 night Easter break.

Overall we did have a good stay, the rooms were very nice and well equipped. The pool and garden areas were also good and there was plenty of choice of sunbeds and they provided free sun cream which was a nice touch.

We stayed on the half board option which I think was probably the best option for us, however if you like a lunch a well it may well be worth you going for that.

In terms of value for money, the breakfast was excellent with a full continental buffet plus a choice of a-la-carte options from a semi-full English (bacons, eggs & beans) to omelettes, poached eggs, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon etc. Breakfast was from 7 to 11. Overall no complaints here, food was good, restaurant was nice inside or outside on the terrace overlooking the pool / sea/ gardens.

Evening Meals. These were expensive even with the discount we got for being half board.
Also same old story even though the hotel wasn't that full they were all booked out and hard to get into.
1st night we got a booking at 10pm in the Spanish tapas restaurant. Restaurant was 75% empty! This was our worst meal. No tapas on the menu??? The guy serving us was up himself a bit and not genuine in anyway. Even though it was almost empty on arrival we were left unattended for more than 5 minutes to be dealt with to check our reservation and take us to a table. Prices were very high for very mediocre food.3 of us had steaks and 1 had fish.
It was like something from faulty towers to be honest. This one guy came out and put a load of ingeriants into a bowl (some sort of salad i think) and made a hell of a racket mixing ithem together before serving the table next to us. Then before bringing out our steaks the wheeled over a dirty taty looking hostess trolly to flambe our steaks. He then wiped it clean(ish) in front of us (why not do this before wheeling it over??) brought our steaks out, left them on the trolly for about 10 minutes before some sweaty bloke came out and flambed them in some spanish whiskey.
Steams were ok, sauce was shocking. Bit like bisto with peppers in it!
Then the waiter tried to tell us they had a Michelin star. We all nearly burst out laughing. 25% off in here.
2nd night we had dinner in the french restuarant (in the red level where you have breakfast).
Food was good and so was the service. Again expensive for the standard but a good meal. I had the fish fondue which i regretted compared to the choices the rest of our party made. It was a bit like deep fried fish as you cook it in the fondue oil but you do get lots of dipping sauces. 50% off in here.
3rd night we went to the Japanese restaurant, the food and the service were excellent. Again expensive though. 40 euros for a sashimi set but it was very good. Probably our best meal. 25% off in here.
Last night we went to the Italian (included in half board). Food and service was very good again. Mixture of pizza, pasta and antipasti. You pay for your wine and also your coffee. Desert (tiramissu and panna cotta) was rubbish though, looked and tasted bought in. manufactured rubbish and not even as good as waitrose essential tiramisu.

In terms of lunches we ate at the pool restaurants where they offer sunbed service. 1st day we were starving and ate by the main pool (not in the red level) as red level was shut (shuts at 4pm we were they after checking at 4:05!). We had burgers (16 euros i think) and they were disgusting! Had better burgers from a kebab van.

Other days I had a baguette ranging from 16 euros to 22 euros (come with chips). Small baguette, lower quality than most supermarkets and no match on Pret for example. 1 day they brought me the wrong baguette, which they took away to get a new one. All in all it took 1 3/4 hours to get my baguette but they did offer it on the house for the delay (I didn't have to ask for this but i would have!).

Service. Maids were all very good and came for turn down service. They would even bring towels to you in the hot tub in the balcony (good job i wasn't naked though!).

Other staff were really hit and miss, some were excellent and others were absolutely awfull. I would say around 50/50.

Bottom line did I have a nice stay? Yes we all did.
Would I go again? Maybe for another short break but not longer than 3 to 4 nights, just to get some sun without a long flight. Would I try another resort 1st. You bet your life i would!
What didn't I like, 50/50 chance of good service.
The good: Free nespresso in the reception all day long. (chargeable in your room though 1 euro 50 - but i brought a box of pods from home as I had read about the charge on here (they are 25p to 33p each here!).
The Bad: Hit and miss service.
The Ugly: Very expensive for mediocre food. don't go for the food.
Also restaurant bookings, they should keep a certain number of tables back for Red Level guests, you pay extra for this level of comfort but get no priority in reservations.

Also the UK TV channels (they had BBC, ITV etc) had a great picture in the mornings but was un-watchable in the evenings / nigh time but that may have been to the cloudy / windy weather.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_Newbury_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Matt_Newbury_UK,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Red Level and for taking your time to write this nice review regarding your recen stay at Red Level.

All you comments will be taken into consideration to improve our facilities, our food and our service.

We are hoping to welcome you one more time here at Red Level.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed in the red level for 2 nights at the end of our holiday in tenerife and the hotel was beyond our expectations.

The rooms were stunning. Huge bed, great view (we paid for the partial sea view), complementary Clarins in the bathroom, oversized bath, great air con, nespresso machine etc

On an evening the staff came to turn the bed down and change the appearance of the bed. In the daytime it was a vibrant colour, at night time the sheets were pure white.

We also took advantage of the pillow menu choosing goose down pillows, and on the evening we requested the aromatherapy in the room so when we returned from the pool it was a really soothing and felt very luxurious.

There was complementary ironing service that I used once. All as expected.

Being in the red level there are no children allowed. (There is a separate red level for families). It was very calm and relaxing, hardly any noise. The sun loungers had huge comfy towels on them and a thick padded cover, it felt like lying on a bed. Brilliant. The view was fantastic and I struggle to think of a more relaxing place.

These loungers were also only for red level guests, and they seemed to be more comfortable than the standard beds.

Every couple of hours the staff would bring round fresh fruit or a small cocktail.

Between 6 and 7 there were some drinks and nibbles on offer for red level guests. Very nice.

The red level pool was heated, not too hot but certainly took the edge off otherwise chilly waters.

We were B&B and the breakfast was incredible. Salmon, caviar, cava, croissants meats, cheese, and a selection of hot dishes to order. There was lots more on offer on but the ones above caught my eye.

The food was brilliant but it is expensive. It was an extra 55 euros per person per night to upgrade to half board. We had lunch and the mains were 15 to 20 euros each which seemed about right for the rest of the resort. Very tasty though.

Evening meals were also expensive. We paid to go to a buffet style restaurant and it was 42 euros each which did not include. Again very expensive but very tasty.

Drinks were 3.50 for a beer. This wasn't too bad, but spirits were 7 euros plus for a single.

We also went to the spa and had a treatment, very very ice and the water circuit was great. You have to wear a swimming cap in the pool which felt a bit odd, but everyone did it so it soon became normal.

All in all, it was an incredibly relaxing stay at a true 5 star. The price of the rooms and in the hotel is expensive, but for us it was worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGeorge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear MrGeorge123,

Thank you so much for staying at Red Level and for taking your time to write this nice review regarding your stay.

We are glad to know that you had a lovely holiday with us, and also that all of our team pampers you and allows you to enjoy an unforgettable experience. Your comments about our facilities and rooms are highly appreciated as well.

We hope to see you soon at Red Level.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed 4 nights mid March in red level on bed and breakfast package. What a few days the pools, sun beds areas were exceptional. Preferred to stay on the grassed area and enjoyed the sea front jacuzzis nice touch. Included in the hotel booking was a complimentary one hour at the spa which was very nice, but didn't enjoy having to wear a bathing hat throughout. Rooms are stunning and I was upgraded to 5th floor sea view on arrival. Whole experience well thought out and the complimentary drinks throughout the day and papers were appreciated. Breakfast had plenty of choice with hot food cooked to order.The free bar from 6 to 7 each night was a great way to finish the day off after leaving the pool before getting ready for the evening. Entertainment in the theatre was ok they all tried their best to make it interesting. Surprisingly enjoyed the Sinatra tribute, excellent singer. Would definitely return to this beautiful hotel. Staff went that extra mile to ensure that all your needs were catered for. Paid 15 euros an hour to keep room on day of departure which was well worth it.

Room Tip: Higher floor better views with 5th on the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear springyg1,

Thank you for sharing this excellent review of Red Level on TripAdvisor, as well as for having chosen us for your recent holiday at Tenerife.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us. It is truly a pleasure for us to know that our service was of your liking, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff, that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. You may rest assured that your kind comments will be forwarded to each member of our staff.

We hope to welcome you again at Red Level.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

fabulous stay amazing staff nothing too much trouble loved the hot tub perfect adults only area the stay was perfect in every way . Breakfast on the terrace was perfect my only regreat is that i couldnt spend longer maybe next time i can make it a holiday i do hope so.some nice little places to eat in alcala if you fancy a snack however the hotel food is excellent.Welcome drink nice touch and a drink on leaving . red level I think is fabulous

Room Tip: ground floor extended balcony amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 144mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear 144mac,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level.

It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provide you the service that you were expecting.

We all work hard to succed our guest expectations and we are really delighted to see that we achieve it with you.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time at Red Level.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,097 reviews
10.0 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
8.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 60 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora

Address: Calle La Costa s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: $294 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Oceanfront hotel, for adults only, with spectacular views of the island La Gomera. RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife, in the fishing village Alcala. A beautiful unspoiled area at the foot of Mount Teide, five minutes by car from the Los Gigantes cliffs. While its glorious design combines to perfection the elements sea, earth and air, the hotel sets new standards for luxury, in order to satisfy the most demanding travellers searching for a truly unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RedLevel At Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing