We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveler rating
1,124
189
65
28
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,124
189
65
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelthe main hotelterrace restauranttapasliquid loungechateaubriandclarins toiletriesluxury packageboutique hotelduo fine diningbutler servicefruit kebabswhirlpool bathhalf boardcocktail hourpillow menucold towels
Filter
Updating list...
734 - 739 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

From the moment of arrival we were made to feel special. This part of the gran melia complex is quiet, sophisticated and discreet luxury. No bling, just modern, beautifully designed and perfectly executed. Surprisingly all the following were included; nespresso machine in the room, free tea/coffee all day by the pool, robes and slippers, 2 hr session at the spa (gorgeous), exercise and special interest classes, personal trainer session in gym, use of gym any time, fresh fruit and smoothie cocktail brought to you around the pool, as much sun cream, towels and bottles of water that you need. Oh and they will run your jacuzzi bubble bath and lay with flowers for you (also no charge). Breakfast choice of buffet and cooked eggs to your taste. Delicious and imaginative (and mostly healthy). Gorgeous room, lounge and dining area, balcony and jacuzzi bath with good privacy on balcony. Infinity pool is as per your dreams. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Themastersexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Themastersexplorers,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write such an excellent review of Red Level, as well as for choosing us for your last holiday at Tenerife.

We are delighted to know that you have spent a lovely holiday with us and that you have enjoyed our facilities and the service our team offers. Your comments about our breakfast, gym, infinity pool and spa are highly appreciated, as it is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed all the facilities.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time at Red Level.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Spent a blissful week at red level at the Gran Melia Palacio in early March. Everything about the experience was first class, lovely room (we were upgraded when we arrived), fantastic service, beautifully maintained grounds, great facilities and lovely meals. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and attentive. The hotel was quite magnificent and beautifully designed.

As the hotel was so good we spent most of the time using the faciities with occasional forays into the nearby village for an afternoon beer and one afternoon walked along the coast to Los Gigantes.

We booked the bed and breakfast option and were given 20 euros a day spending money for meals, drinks etc as part of the package. We were also given a free pass for a visit to the spa facilities and spent a lovely couple of hours experiencing all the water features. We went daily to the free yoga or pilates sessions and also made use of the gym. The free bar happy hour was lovely and a perfect end to the afternoon - sipping pink cava watching the sun go down.

Also worth mentioning that I particularly appreciated the lovely Clarins toiletries that were regularly topped up.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and in particular the red level experience if you want a little touch of luxury and relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineBJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear ChristineBJersey.

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your kind comments about our Red Level.

We are delighted to know that our facilities and service exceeded your expectations, as all of our team works every day to offer unforgettable experiences to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Tenerife.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had booked at the main Gran Melia hotel but once we got there we decided to upgrade to the Red Level boutique hotel located within the complex. Superb service - the staff couldn't have been nicer. Very relaxed and exclusive pool area. Stylish terrace bar for meals including a la carte breakfast. Nice touch of happy hour each evening of tapas and drinks.

The only mistake that we made was booking half-board. we only had an evening meal at the allocated diners once so lost out there. The small town of Alcala nearby is nothing special but on the main road near the hotel is great little family bar called Sun Bean. great chilled atmosphere, great value food and amazing baraccitas - coffee liquors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Director General at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear VinceG,

It is very gratifying that all our clients can express their experience especially when they are as postive as yours. It encourages us to continue to give the service you expect and deserve. I apoligize for you not being able to enjoy all of our restaurants in the hotel.

Thank you once again for taking your time to share your point of view. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Red Level.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have now spent a Holiday, each year around September, for the past three years, in the Grand Melia Red Level at the Palacio de Isora. We expect soon be heading there again for a fourth time! Whatever any negatives people may have said about the Hotel I would basically disagree with many of their complaints. The fact that I am going there for the fourth time must tell your Readers a little about how much we enjoyed our stays there. In the writer's honest opinion it is a fabulous Hotel where the dedicated Red Level Staff attended us hand and foot, always with a genuine smile. For those who do not know what the Red Level there is, it is a dedicated Section (set totally apart from the rest of the Complex) which is only for Adults. Of-course the Red Level has its own Swimming Pool, Reception Areas, Computer Business Area, Bars, Dining Terrace, etc. At the Poolside you get Complimentary Sun Potions, a daily bottle of Wine (being a non-drinker I did not go for this) and continual poolside attendants to bring you whatever you wish (drinks, lunch, sandwiches, etc). We had a straw-roofed Bali Bed (with curtains) at the Poolside which was fantastic (this cost us extra, but it was worth "every penny"). Now to our Accommodation ..... we had a beautiful fourth floor Sea-view room overlooking the Pool and the Sea (we always asked for Room 4070). It had a Private Balcony with the same views, and on the Balcony we had a very large Private Jacuzzi. Each evening our attendant (called Alex) would come up from Reception at a mutually agreed time, to run and prepare the Jacuzzi with Clarins Bubble and other preparations. In our very comfortable Room we had a King-size Bed (was it not super-king?), fabulous lighting and atmosphere, a Large TV., good Air Conditioning, fridge with drinks, Safe, Tea/Coffee making equipment, etc. Our Bathroom was large, superbly fitted out with twin washhand basins, a fab Bath large enough to fit two (buckets of hot water day & night) and all our Bath and Shower products were Clarins. One teeny negative ... the shower cubicle just could have been a tad nicer but this did not trouble us in the slightest. Now, getting back to the Reception Areas, there is a library (mainly paperbacks) in English and other Languages which was great to have. We travelled on a Bed & Breakfast Basis and the Breakfasts were nothing short of fabulous. You could eat (and drink) to your Hearts Content and the quality was first class. Their home baked fresh breads and rolls were to die for. Also for all Red Level Guests there was what we would call a "Happy Hour" from 6.00 to 7.00p.m. where they served Tapas (as much as you could eat) and supplied free drinks of everything from Whiskeys/Brandies/Gins/ of International Brands (no cheaper Spanish ones), i.e. Bombay Gin, etc. Wines, Beers, etc. I stuck to my boring still Water!
My OVERALL OPINNION? What does the Reader think? I and a Companion are now going back for a FOURTH time, which should tell them something about our experience in the Red Level. WE FOUND THIS HOTEL ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS AND TO OUR LIKING. Maybe not the cheapest, but then in life "you get what you pay for". In any case, the charges are, in the writer's opinion, comparable to other 5-Star Hotels.
P.S. I forgot to mention that within a short Taxi ride (15 mins?) there are some nice Restaurants with a variety of Menu Types. Taxis are incredibly cheap (by Irish Standards!). We mostly ate Dinner in one of the Fish Restaurants in the Village (Alcala) where one picks their own fish out of the selection in the fridge. Our taxi in Alcala was normally €3.50 to €4.00 and to the Airport about €40.

Room Tip: Try and select Red Level fourth floor, with Sea & Pool views from the Balcony and with a Jacuzzi on the Balcony. Absolutely fabulous, peaceful and very private. P.S. Cannot rate the Spa, as we did not use it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sydney142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Director General at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Sydney142,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor.

There aren't enough words that could describe how pleased I feel reading your opinion. Our main goal is to exceed our guests expectations and it is very satisfying to know that we have made you feel that way.

I am very grateful that a loyal guest like you enjoys every moment in Red Level.

Hand in heart, we are looking forward to welcome you back with us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Yhe hotel itself is very beautiful and comfortable with good facilities and certainly capable of creating a real wow factor BUT it lets itself down so badly.
Firstly the service is at best sporadic and on three occasions we had to ask for our room to be cleaned and once we were forced to go to reception to make our point.
Our room was very nice with a double aspect sea view but the lighting was bad - my wife need night vision glasses when applying her make-up and the reading lights were pretty useless.
The food in the hotel is very expensive - €15 ofr a very average toasteed sandwich with undercooked chips and the one time we dined in the hotel the food was almost inedible - it was nowhere near what you would expect from this level of hotel.
Breakfast however is very good but be prepared to wait some twenty minutes for your fried eggs and bacon.
The saving grace was that there are several very nice and inexpensive eateries nearby whrer teh food is of good quality and very reasonably prced.
I would certainly recomment anyone who is looking at this hotel to travel bed and breakfast and do request a sea-view room and as high as possible.
As i say, what a pity - with more attention to the basic details and a severe review of their pricing, this hotel would improve considerably

Room Tip: Seriously consider eating outside the hotel and ask for a high sea-view room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremyhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Jeremyhs,

Thank you so much for staying at Red Level and for taking your time to write this review regarding your experience.

We thank you for it, because all the word from our guest are taking in consideration to improve day by day. We are so sorry to read that we have not succed your expectations regarding the food and we can assure you that we are working harder to change it.

It is a pleasure to have guest like you at the Red Level and we hope that you come to visit us one more time and we can make your vacation a memorable stay.

Thank you one more time and we are delighted to welcome you one more time at Red Level,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews