We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Level Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday at this hotel. We stayed in the Red Level and found it absolutely superb. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very well appointed with a fabulous bathroom including a large bath and rain shower. It was lovely to stroll down to breakfast and sit out on the terrace and look over the sea to La Gomera.
We ate at the four main restaurants and found all of them to be very good indeed. One advantage of the Red Level was that it was so easy to book all the restaurants. The quality of the food was excellent with a very good choice.
We went on 2 days out to Teide and La Gomera with the operator suggested by the staff at the red level.(Tenerife Excursions) Although the Teide trip was interesting, the courier was very poor.
All in all this hotel is first class and the Red Level is certainly worth the extra. We shall return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Red Level Director at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear KenLincolnshire,

Warm greetings from Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora!
We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our exclusive Red Level Service has reached your expectations. Your comments help us to improve day to day to provide the best service to our guest.

Thank you again for your kind rewiew and we hope to see you again in Tenerife
With best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been here for 6 days staying in a room with a partial sea view with whirlpool bath on the balcony. Located on level 5 it gives you a good view of the resort.

Red level means adults only, an excellent room with some choices to be made when booking. We opted for the room with breakfast and eating breakfast upto 11am made lunch not a necessity.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted, someone parked the car and took our bags to the room whilst we checked in and received a short briefing about the resort and red level. This was where we first met Alfredo who was really helpful during our stay.

We had the red level butler organise the whirl pool bath and aromathery in our room on three nights. The basic option is perfectly adequate but you can upgrade to include drinks and oils etc if you wish. In my opinion this is not necessary. David (red level butler) was courteous and arranged the bath and left the room before we returned from dinner so it was a nice surprise for my wife.

I managed to lock the safe in our room one evening and couldn't get it open, one call to red level reception and someone was at the door about 30 seconds after the phone went down.

In terms of food, breakfast was excellent, continental with many choices and also a range of cooked dishes available upon request. No faults here, Estefana, Javier and another waiter were polite and efficient and responded to requests promptly.

Our only other meal was taken at the terrace, which I have to say was really nice, it is worth remembering where you are when you eat here as whilst the food is excellent, you are also paying for the service, exclusivity and ambience. Hence our meal (we both had the steak and a glass of wine each) cost 92 euros.

This is not a complaint but a note to advise you before you dine. We ate out so many times during our stay and we're not disappointed by any of the local restaurants.

We spent most of our time lazing by the pool, staff were available to take food and drink orders without any problem.

Roberto organised a trip out on a sailing boat called the Blue Jack for 85 euros each which was a great afternoon out. Beer, food, sailing, snorkelling and swimming if you want. Thanks Roberto.

We had several chats with the Red Level Director (Ana) who really wants you to enjoy your stay and will do whatever she can to make your stay a memorable experience. Well it is a trip we will never forget and we hope to return again next year.

Above all the lovely architecture, the beautiful pools, I have to say that the service from the staff was the thing that really impressed me. They all seem happy and really enjoy their jobs and are always happy to help.

I can't remember all of the names but I hope that if you go to Red Level you will have the joy of meeting them.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Steve295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Red Level Director at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Steve 295,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your stay in Tenerife.

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed our hotel and all the attention and service that we provide. You can not imagine the emotion that makes us know that " it is a trip that you will never forget and that you hope to return again next year"

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future, I remain at your complete disposal.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever been to for sunshine, swimming and relaxing. This second year we visited, all standards were maintained and service was first class. The Red Level is a hotel within the main hotel. It is for adults only and is therefore quieter and even more relaxing. The staff are some of the best I have ever encountered and are friendly as well as knowing their job. Red Level has its own large swimming pool and there are others you can use in the complex, including a second adults' freshwater pool and the largest freeform pools I have known, which are saltwater. The gardens are beautiful. The five restaurants are enough for many visitors, but this second visit we chose bed and breakfast and had dinners in Alcala. It is a very short walk into the village on good roads and paths with very little traffic and there are three or four pleasant family run restaurants to choose from. All in all a very pleasant place to stay and with near perfect weather every time we have been in October, with temperatures around 30 degrees. We will return.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms mostly have a jacuzzi on a private balcony. The building is low rise and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Red Level Director at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Alistair H,

Warm greetings from Red Level in Tenerife!!

First of all, I would like to thank you for such a completely and inspirited review regarding your stay in our Hotel. We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words.

The entire staff is looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A fabulous hotel that exceeded all expectations. As a solo traveller I am ultra-selective about hotels and I aim to seek hotels that support adult clientele where possible.

The actual adult only part RED LEVEL was in my view a perfect adult only arena and yet access to the larger resort complex at Gran Meliá enabled the traveller to have the best of all worlds.

Contemporary stylish but compact and totally user friendly.
All rooms are fab although lighting can be on the dark side so ask for an ocean front room that has more light

Acala (10 mins walk) is small and not lively but the hotel complex has everything you need

If you want lots of shops and a big nearby town then this will not be the right resort for you but the hotel is amazing.

Staff excellent and first class customer care

Room Tip: All rooms are fab although lighting can be on the dark side so ask for an ocean front room that has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Goti, Red Level Director at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Janet May2013

First of all I would like to thank you for having given us the opportunity to accommodate you in Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora
Also, I would like to thank you for such positive feedback about your stay with us. Be assured that I will share your comment with all the Red Level staff. We are really pleased that you have had an impressive stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay another amazing experience.

I remain at your complete disposal.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Gran Melia August 2013. On arrival we were seated in the main reception and then Alex came to take us over to the red level, on the way he explained lots of things about the hotel and was very pleasant and informative. When we got to red level reception we were given a welcome drink (which was not on the bill) it was all very relaxed and the reception staff were very helpful explaining what they could help you with if needed, at no time did they try to push anything onto you like spa treatments etc. We had lunch on the terrace and that was lovely, we were served by Kamilla who was very polite and friendly a real credit to the Hotel always happy and smiling, as were all the staff. The red level area is beautiful around the pool and the area in front of the terrace where there are the jacuzzi spa baths and a bar, with hammocks and big comfy seats. The breakfast is excellent everything you could ask for, there is a buffet and also hot food from the menu. There is also tea, coffee and a fridge with still and sparkling water you can help yourself to all day. The happy hour was great, you just helped yourself to drinks and there were lots of nibble and tapas, it was nice and relaxing to sit and watch the sun go down. The prices are slighty more expensive at Red level but it is very peaceful there and you can alway go to the other bars in the hotel if you wanted. We ate at the Club Ocean one night, we had friends staying with sensatori and they had tried several times to get booked in with no luck, but the perks of staying with red level had us booked in straight away, Laura (hope the names right) on red level reception was really helpful getting us the booking and all the reception staff always went out of there way to help. The infinity pool is stunning, a little to salty, always plenty of room to swim and chill on the in pool seats. We really enjoyed the entertainment in the hotel, all the show we saw were very good, loved Abba and the Beatles. The piano bar was also very nice.
Alcala is a small town which is on the doorstep of the hotel. There are several little bars and restaurants. We went to Sauco a few times on the sea front excellent food and good service, also went to the Sunbean for a drink (and the football results) were they are very friendly.
We would go to this hotel again if visiting Tenerife.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BEV B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed 5 days in the Melia & we chose Red Level, not sure what to expect but we understood pampering & luxury. As we booked one day from the other (we were in another hotel in Tenerife), it was much cheaper than we saw months ago when we book the holiday. We also wanted to see another part of Tenerife. We were so chilled & pampered that we hardly took the car out....

The infinity pool was outstanding, tempered & salty water which is great for the skin.

The restaurants provided good variety of food at all prices. We tried them all, except for the Japanese which we found overpriced. We settled for the pool restaurant for lunch & the main buffet restaurant for dinner-choice + quality. The red level allowed us nice tables outdoors by the pond.

The red level pool was great, comfy loungers, drinks etc... We did hire a Bali bed for one day & it was an amazing experience. Comes at 60euros with sun cream, magazines, bottle wine, lunch etc... Well worth it !

We had happy hour every night with bubbly & tapas at the red level bar. Very nice and as it is free, busy. :-)

It was a trip to unwind from work in an exclusive relaxing environment. No screaming children or loud music. What we were looking for.

The complex is nice & well kept. Our room had lovely sea views & a jacuzzi in the balcony. Lovely Clarins toiletries, fluffy towels & bathrobes. It has a lot of varied activities during the day which we availed of.

The spa was great and we had it complimentary the first time. I had a manicure & pedicure & service was great.

Staff friendly and professional.

It was well worth it to pay a little bit extra and we were happy with the red level experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UmaLatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Unfortunately a big mistake in my choice. A lot of problem since the minute 1. The personal the best, the organizations the worst than i saw.

However the Canarian personal is a great worker and helpful.

If you want a big swiming pool. This is the site.

The Quality about the food is poor, and not reasonable for a 5* resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iamalex72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,173 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
704 reviews
10 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora

Address: Calle La Costa s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: $302 - $889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Oceanfront hotel, for adults only, with spectacular views of the island La Gomera. RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife, in the fishing village Alcala. A beautiful unspoiled area at the foot of Mount Teide, five minutes by car from the Los Gigantes cliffs. While its glorious design combines to perfection the elements sea, earth and air, the hotel sets new standards for luxury, in order to satisfy the most demanding travellers searching for a truly unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RedLevel At Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing