We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely oasis for a restful stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rural El Navio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rural El Navio
Ranked #1 of 1 Alcala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis for a restful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here in the midst of the banana plantation 3 nights in November 2013 and would have been happy to stay longer. We had some difficulty finding it as the signage from the north was poor, but the staff were most friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room (2) was excellent, with a safe, fridge, wardrobe, cupboard, good WiFi and a terrace with lovely views to sea and La Gomera. The bathroom was also very good with an excellent shower and towels were changed on request, not automatically. The pool was a decent size for swimming. The normal breakfast was plentiful and offered a good selection of everything, with pick-your-own bananas from the tree outside. Our early breakfast (for the La Gomera ferry) was not nearly so good, lacking bread and milk and other basics. It was also disappointing that no evening meal was provided on a Sunday. Alcala itself was a neat, compact village with several good eating places, but you do need a car to get there.

Room Tip: It seemed that all rooms have similar facilities and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hh13rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
75
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sergiev posad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very quaint little hotel situated right in the banana plantation. Large comfortable bathroom, a large terrace with views over the plantation and out to the ocean. Sweetheart wooden furniture, wrought-iron bed, lamps and hangers. Pool very clean, around which stand the comfortable sun loungers and parasols. The room was cleaned every day. A small minus no hair dryer. Very nice owner - Gustavo. He was always ready to help, a lot of talking about his family. On the walls were pictures of his grandparents. Each day we could eat ripe sweet bananas and papayas. The Breakfast is fresh juice from different fruits, several types of cereal, ham, meat, cheese, coffee, croissants, yogurt, etc.. at The request of the cook fried eggs. The chef Max I want to say separately. He is a master of his craft. Cooks very tasty and plenty. Moreover, we ourselves every day ordered to want to eat for dinner. When we left, tears came into her eyes. We would certainly come to that place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saleks933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rural El Navio in April 2013. We stayed in a Junior Suite and really enjoyed having a nice big balcony, although from what we saw of the regular rooms, these looked pretty good too. It was good to have a fridge in our room, especially as it was stocked with a couple of beers on our arrival ! The rooms and balcony we had were clean and spacious. However even in April the daytime temperatures were in the upper 20s and all we had in our room was one small desktop fan. It was just about comfortable sleeping at night, but I would be interested to know if they give you anything more heavy duty in summer when I imagine it can really warm up.

There is WIFI throughout the hotel which seems to be of a pretty decent speed. To get on it you need to get an account from reception, and you'll need a separate account for each device you want to connect with. This is worth bearing in mind as there is only someone on reception in the morning and then again in the evening.

As others have mentioned, the place has a very relaxed vibe about it and in some ways it almost feels like you are staying in an apartment, rather than staying at a hotel. The people running the hotel just leave you to it and in actual fact if you want something you have to go and ask for it. We ate at the hotel one night which was very nice food, but funnily enough the hotel doesn't really seem to promote the fact that you can eat there and it was quite hard work trying to establish
what kind of food they could do. When we asked the chef about arranging a meal he was quite vague about what was on offer, with the choices being "meat" or "fish" so we had no idea what we were ordering ! Actually the food was very nice, but I think if they had given us a better idea of what was on offer we would have eaten there more. On the last day when we were leaving I heard some other guests being offered a paella. If we had known that they could do that we would have gone for it !

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and found it very peaceful. The only slight downside was that towards the end of our stay a family group with a couple of noisy kids arrived. I've stayed at many different hotels over the years and normally having kids around wouldn't bother me, but its so quiet at the El Navio that we found it particularly jarring. Not the fault of the hotel of course !

In addition to eating at the hotel we at Lupolo's down on the main square in Alcala a couple of times. Its a bit more pricey compared to some restaurants in the area, but the food and the service were fantastic, and I would definitely recommend going for a special dinner. We also ate at the Sarabanda pizza place (just off the main road in the centre of Alcala), which was cheap and cheerful. They did big portions of pizza etc and were really friendly. Ok so not the best view in town, but good for quick and cheap eats. We also ate at El Rincon Canario. The British owners were very welcoming, and although its not really authentic Spanish Tapas, the portions were big and its good value for money. We also ate one night in the Escondida which I can't say I would rush back to. The view was good, but the food only ok and they weren't particularly welcoming given that there were only a handful of diners in when we went.

As for trips out, we went to the El Teide national park which I can definitely recommend - stunning landscape and views over the coast. We also attempted to drive to Masca. Again the views are stunning, but what no-one seems to mention is that the drive down to Masca village is a nightmare ! The road down is very narrow, windy and the road is poorly maintained. Just to make things more interesting, when we went there was lots of traffic in both directions including big buses, and all this on roads that are only really 1 1/2 cars wide ! Just to cap things off, when we finally got down to Masca, there is only very limited parking and we couldn't find a space, so we decided to sod it and just headed to the north coast. We ended up in a place called Garachico which was a nice little town and had a couple of cafes where you could sit out and watch the waves crashing on the rocks.

We also headed to Los Cristianos, which wasn't as bad as we though it was going to be (I would give Playa De Las Americas a miss though unless you are a big group of lads on a stag night) and we did a great two hour whale watching trip and got to see loads of pilot whales. There are so many out there that I think you would be hard pressed *not* to see them !

Anyway, if you are after a nice peaceful stay in Tenerife somewhere away from the big lively resorts, I would recommend staying at Hotel Rural El Navio - just make sure you coax the menu out of the chef and hope there aren't any noisy kids staying there at the same time !

All in all a solid 4 out of 5 from me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Headington_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lovely banana plantation with only about 7 double rooms, huge terraces with view over the sea facing La Gomera, great pool area, wonderful freshly squeezed juice for breakfast and a very nice owner, Gustavo, with his brothers ,,,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iPhonequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Absolutely charming place! We had a junior suite and the room was a good size, with additional room with a sofa bed in. The balconies are really big with chairs, table and 2 sun loungers on. No umbrella, but I'm sure it could be arranged if you didn't want to sit in the sun all day.

Gustavo runs the hotel, and is there for the whole morning, and from early evening until late. We found this a little strange at first (that nobody is there during siesta), but that's because we're used to large hotels that have manned receptions 24 hours, and we soon adjusted.

Max the chef, looked after us both in the mornings with a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, juice eggs and bacon, and in the evenings with wonderfully home cooked food. The kitchen is closed on Sundays so we walked to Alcala to eat a couple of nights(it is possible to walk but rubble tracks make it hard-going if you're wearing anything other than flip-flips, oh, and take a torch as it's not lit!). We eat in Sauco on the front which was lovely and relaxed, and another night in Lupulo's which felt a little more formal, but both great food.

The hotel is pure "getaway from it all" peace, and absolutely charming. WIFI is available throughout the whole hotel - even out on the balconies. At night all you can hear is the waves from the sea and the rustling of the banana leaves from the gentle wind. We had a bit of rain whist we were there, so played table tennis a few times (as long as you remember to pickup the bats/ball before Gustavo heads off for the afternoon). Not many negatives really - the only suggestion perhaps would be that dressing gowns in the rooms would be a nice touch (just to keep warm early morning on the balcony or later on in the evening), oh, and no rain next time we visit!

Gustavo, Alberto, Max & Pirata...we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing view, but junior suites are a little bigger with an extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helibobs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

A great accommodation. Lovely balcony with sea views. I had a swim which was nice given that it was December! Nice staff to welcome us. So peaceful. The best thing was the fantastic breakfast with plenty of local produce and fresh fruit. Lovely. Hope to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funkylittlefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

You hear the the sound of the sea rushing evening night, although it is some 2 km away of the hotel. The staff is very warm and friendly. Everything is nice and clean and the room has a big terrace from where you can have a beautiful view of the ocean

Room Tip: take the bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chrisweitweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
0.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bahia Flamingo Hotel
Bahia Flamingo Hotel
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.5 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural El Navio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural El Navio

Property: Hotel Rural El Navio
Address: Avenida Pescadores s/n | Finca El Navío, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rural El Navio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Rural El Navio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural El Navio Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing