We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for individual travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rural El Navio
Ranked #1 of 1 Alcala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place for individual travelers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lovely banana plantation with only about 7 double rooms, huge terraces with view over the sea facing La Gomera, great pool area, wonderful freshly squeezed juice for breakfast and a very nice owner, Gustavo, with his brothers ,,,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iPhonequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Absolutely charming place! We had a junior suite and the room was a good size, with additional room with a sofa bed in. The balconies are really big with chairs, table and 2 sun loungers on. No umbrella, but I'm sure it could be arranged if you didn't want to sit in the sun all day.

Gustavo runs the hotel, and is there for the whole morning, and from early evening until late. We found this a little strange at first (that nobody is there during siesta), but that's because we're used to large hotels that have manned receptions 24 hours, and we soon adjusted.

Max the chef, looked after us both in the mornings with a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, juice eggs and bacon, and in the evenings with wonderfully home cooked food. The kitchen is closed on Sundays so we walked to Alcala to eat a couple of nights(it is possible to walk but rubble tracks make it hard-going if you're wearing anything other than flip-flips, oh, and take a torch as it's not lit!). We eat in Sauco on the front which was lovely and relaxed, and another night in Lupulo's which felt a little more formal, but both great food.

The hotel is pure "getaway from it all" peace, and absolutely charming. WIFI is available throughout the whole hotel - even out on the balconies. At night all you can hear is the waves from the sea and the rustling of the banana leaves from the gentle wind. We had a bit of rain whist we were there, so played table tennis a few times (as long as you remember to pickup the bats/ball before Gustavo heads off for the afternoon). Not many negatives really - the only suggestion perhaps would be that dressing gowns in the rooms would be a nice touch (just to keep warm early morning on the balcony or later on in the evening), oh, and no rain next time we visit!

Gustavo, Alberto, Max & Pirata...we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing view, but junior suites are a little bigger with an extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helibobs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

A great accommodation. Lovely balcony with sea views. I had a swim which was nice given that it was December! Nice staff to welcome us. So peaceful. The best thing was the fantastic breakfast with plenty of local produce and fresh fruit. Lovely. Hope to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funkylittlefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

You hear the the sound of the sea rushing evening night, although it is some 2 km away of the hotel. The staff is very warm and friendly. Everything is nice and clean and the room has a big terrace from where you can have a beautiful view of the ocean

Room Tip: take the bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chrisweitweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We chose this hotel on the strength of the trip advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. The 20 Euro for 3 courses and wine (the only option from the restaurant) was excellent. You choose between meat and fish and that's it, but it was great food. The wine is a little rustic but pleasant enough. They didn't charge for the beer I drank from the mini bar, cooked for us so that we could eat after our very late arrival (a delayed flight), and didn't charge for a late checkout. Great value for money, very accommodating and clean/scenic/friendly/free wifi etc. Also, if you are wheelchair bound or have mobility issues they are very well setup for that (ramps, adapted shower etc.).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank badgerbadger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a Junior Suite at Hotel Rural El Navio (www.elnavio.es) for 5 nights in March 2012. I wanted some winter sun and we were told the Canary Islands or Egypt were our options for that time of year. I preferred for us to go to the Canary Islands and we choose Tenerife as we were told it was one of the Islands that suffered from less wind and was consistently around 25 degrees year round. We happened not to be lucky with the weather; overcast most mornings but generally sunny in the afternoons.

We were concerned that we would only find large concrete resorts but we found the website for Hotel Rural El Navio. The website states 5 double rooms and 3 junior suites but i think they may have opened a couple more rooms, ours being number 11. The hotel is set in the middle of working banana plantations 1km from Alcala. The banana plantations give the hotel privacy and peace whilst with the town only a 10 minute walk away we also had the choice of restaurants for dinner. The ‘beach’ is also about 1km away but forget golden sands; the coastline is very rocky and I do not imagine it would be easy for swimming. There is an area of sea in Alcala by the harbour that is suitable for swimming.

Unlike many of the smaller hotels in Tenerife this hotel had all the facilities we required: Pool, free wi-fi in room and pool area, in room fridge, complimentary breakfast consisting of cereals, croissants and rolls, ham and cheeses, fresh fruit and juices and eggs cooked to your liking (served until around 11am which meant we could still enjoy a holiday lie in and make it to breakfast), bicycle hire for 5 Euro a day (we did not use this facility), and all the free bananas one could wish for! The staff were very friendly and flexible and were able to assist us with our needs.

Our room, a junior suite, consisted of a lounge area with flat screen tv (we did not use this so i do not know about channel options), a bedroom with two single beds pushed together, mosquito nets on the window (although even when outside we did not find bugs a problem), and a bathroom with a large shower and plenty of hot water. We also had a large sun terrace (20ftx10ft) with sun loungers and a table and chairs which overlooked the banana plantations and views of the sea. We paid just over 100 Euro per night for the room.
We arrived at the hotel around 8pm. Although one would normally have to pre-order dinner at breakfast time the chef was able to provide us with a salad and omelette which was perfect for us. We also ordered a bottle of red wine which i think is home made. The wine is the only thing about this hotel that i would not recommend. See if you can find a labelled option instead. At the time that I booked the hotel was running a promotion on their facebook page for a free dinner so make sure you check that out. If you want dinner for the night you arrive it would be good to email the hotel in advance.

On the first day we walked the 10 minutes to town and purchased lunch supplies and snacks for the week at the cash and carry on the sea front. Most days we spent on the room’s private terrace enjoying an ‘all over’ tan and each evening we would walk into town for dinner. We found that all the restaurants had English menus and the waiters spoke good English. On one night we ate at Lupulo Restaurant in the square, which I would highly recommend. I would recommend you take a torch for the walk home.

I believe at the time we stayed there were 8 other adult guests which meant that when we did use the pool we mostly had it all to ourselves. There were no children at the hotel when we stayed.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday with some winter sun.

We flew with Monarch from Gatwick into the South Airport (4 hours flight) and booked a shared transfer with Smilodm (www.smilodm.com) via Expedia for £27.50 (2 people both ways). Transfer took approx 30 mins to get to the hotel, much cheaper than a taxi.

If you’re simply looking to switch off and get away from it all and you can’t stand the thought of noisy kids, karaoke or tacky all-you-can-eat style resorts, then this little-known hideaway could be perfect for you.

Room Tip: Our suite was room 11, probably one of the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 528BenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We can only echo the other comments on El Navio , and that Alcala is exactly where you want to be in order to be away from it all , but close to it all .
The hotel is a family business and has been created to be what they want it to be and it suited us just fine , with good points of detail everywhere - Hoopoes flying about the banana trees just for starters .
Thank you Gustavo , nice place you and your family have there . Good value for money .

Room Tip: All rooms have the same outlook . The larger ones are hardly more expensive , but they are all good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjb186235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
0.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
2.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
#3 of 6 in Guia de Isora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural El Navio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural El Navio

Property: Hotel Rural El Navio
Address: Avenida Pescadores s/n | Finca El Navío, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rural El Navio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rural El Navio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural El Navio Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing