We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely outlook, delicious cakes”
Review of Cafe Clarence

Cafe Clarence
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ulmarra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Opening Hours Breakfast and Lunch 8.30am - 2.30 pm (7days) Dinner 6.00pm - 8.30pm Tues- Sat Outstanding Coffee This is a delightful cafe/restaurant that provides excellent low priced meals in a setting on the banks of the Clarence River. It is right beside the Pacific Highway and is an excellent break point for those driving the Sydney-Brisbane highway. We have eaten there twice in the past week and were most impressed. We think it should be better known, especially as the service is especially friendly.
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely outlook, delicious cakes”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Cafe Clarence has a great view over the river. There is cosy indoor seating and lots of outdoor tables. The wide range of delicious cakes E.g. Sweet mandarin, traditional cheesecake, Black Forest torte, are made onsite. The coffee was good and the service warm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    47
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“5 Star Highway Coffee Break”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you are after some where to stop close to the highway, with great food and beverages then you can't beat Cafe Clarence. 300 m off the highway with easy parking and great views. The best Chai Latte on the mid north coast. Great coffee as well and, if they have them available, make sure you try the melting moments! Rated by Good Food Guide as one of the top 10 beer gardens in NSW.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaL2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Big Serves”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The service is good and the size of the meals are great but alas that is about as far as it goes. I had the Chicken Schnitzel it looked great on the plate but it had no taste whatsoever. The gravy looked like jelly and had no taste,the chips were OK as well as the salad.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiga01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We went to cafe Clarence for lunch today. It was a bit busy but not overly. We were told we would have a 25min wait for our food. 40min later were told it would be another 15 min. Another 35 min later we received out food. My steak burger(the most expensive on the menu) had a revolting piece of minute steak. My daughters fish was inedible. However my Mums vegetarian burger was good which is why I gave 2 stars. Also the cutlery was dirty which was fairly disgusting.

Helpful?
Thank Sigourney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Ulmarra”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Sorry to rain on parade, we decided to break at Ulmarra instead of the usual Hungry Jacks at Grafton. Expecting good solid pub food for a real lunch, the menu consisted of the likes of prawns in some exotic sauce on a bed of something hipster, Moroccan lamb etc. all for about $25 with apparently a half hour wait to be served. The garden and river setting is attractive but come on, with tens of thousands of cars a day through Ulmarra wouldn't it be great and profitable to boot, to offer just simple grub at a reasonable price for the weary traveller. Like a steak or roast of the day or something quick. Jeez. Ended up at Jacks anyway.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Clarence also viewed

New South Wales, Australia
 
Grafton, New South Wales

Been to Cafe Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing