We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best smoked salmon anywhere”
Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Mapua
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Takeaways & Deli on the historic Mapua Wharf. Our onsite takeaways are a Nelson favorite. Come and savour our delicious fish and chips while relaxing on the wharf where you can enjoy the natural beauty of the Waimea Estuary. Or grab a cool drink from the local craft brewery where an easy going band is often playing in the courtyard. Additionally our onsite Deli showcases all our Smoked Salmon, Fish, Mussels and Pate. The Smokehouse experience is based on the concept of delicately hot smoking local seafood, using traditional brick kilns and natural manuka shavings. The whole process is overseen by our experienced smokers in a true balance of art and science. 100% Natural 100% Preservative Free
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best smoked salmon anywhere”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great fish 'n chups, but the smoked salmon is out of this world. It is the best smoked salmon I have ever had anywhere, by a long way. Nice people running the place too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickTabibito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    71
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Can't beat the fresh fish!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Good fish ’n’ chips are always served in paper. There’s your sign. The Smoke Shop served up some of the best fish ’n’ chips I’ve ever had — in paper, of course. This place is fresh and serves up a variety of fish in a simple, no nonsense manner. The café is in a great little harbor that also provides some worthwhile browsing and shopping.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A one time stop became...4 trips”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

After getting a recommendation from a helpful clerk in the Nelson 'Great New Zealand' shop we ventured out to Mapua on our way home one night on our recent holiday. Thinking we would just stop once for a taste our palette was delightfully surprised. By the end of our vacation we had stopped 4 times for a tasty treat of fish and chips here at the Smokehouse. Love the no frills newsprint wrap and tearing into the breaded fish with your bare hands. It was absolutely delicious and highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips and service by the wharf”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped during our last holiday and since moving here,we are lucky to have the Smokehouse as our local chippy. Definitely stop by and have some yummy fish and chips and sit by the wharf.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've been a customer of The Smokehouse for a long time now. Their fish and chips are without a doubt the very best I have ever tasted. Every time I come home to Nelson I make a point of going over to Mapua just to order some fish and chips and sit on the wharf - it really is one of the best parts of a visit home. Absolutely delicious food and very friendly staff. The perfect place for a celebratory lunch or a nice meal with friends of family, something I have done numerous times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NellyWill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Upper Moutere, Mapua
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing