We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting shame about the room mates”
Review of Mapua Leisure Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mapua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mapua Leisure Park
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Mapua
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting shame about the room mates”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

On arrival we found three dead cockroaches on the bench and floor. We thought that's ok they must have recently fumigated. Then one fell from the bathroom door onto my sisters hair. This one was alive and well. They fell alive from the heater and cupboard. Unpleasant. I am a kiwi, I live in the country and understand the issues with the damn things but this was a little too much considering we paid 145.00 for the night. Ruined the stay really. Lovely setting.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been fumigated or at least have had the corpses removed off the bench before gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junedunn, Manager at Mapua Leisure Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I sincerely apologise. You were right we had recently fumigated as we had been changing the gardens & removing trees. We check the rooms prior to guests coming (unfortunately not every day). We are taking further measures to make sure the problem does not re-occur.
I will be contacting you direct. And once more apologise your the unfortunate incident.
Regards
June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We just got back from our NZ vacation and this holiday park was one of the highlights. A beautiful campsite write on the water and near the Mapua Warf (great fish & chips and microbrew). We extended our stay one night because we enjoyed it so much.

We were a bit concerned about the clothing optional, but it was no issue (probably because the weather was getting cold). Although we did not like the shared shower/facilities....just prefer if this is separate. But they were clean and well kept.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

we booked a seafront motelroom, and seafront it was. The terrace was as close to the water as it could. what a view from it and also from the room. it was next to the restaurant but that did no bother us, because there was really no irritant noice. A lolely site althought the furniture of the little house was a bit outdated, the beds were good and hey you do not want to sit indside. You'll be t the beach or walk and little village and wharf of Mapua were only a 10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: you should definitely choose a BF motel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luzUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked and paid for this accommodation via the Tourist Information site at Motuaka without seeing it first. When we arrived at the Leisure Park the very nice lady on reception asked ''Did they tell you it is a clothing optional site''. Well they didn't, to say we were surprised would be an understatement. Anyway we decided to stay although at times it was difficult to look people in the face. I thought I would join in, so I took my socks off. To be fair, it wasn't a problem and there were not too many people shedding there clothes.

In respect of the accommodation, this was somewhat basic and not really our cup of tea, but it was clean & comfortable so no real complaints. There is a superb restaurant on site which I would highly recommend and only 5 minutes away at Mapua Wharf there are a variety of outlets including a small brewery where you can get a nice cold beer.

Room Tip: Clothing optional operates February & March only, so you can take your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great place for a camping holiday. We stayed for 4 nights with 2 young children. We avoided tge Christmas madness and stayed the 3rd week in Jan. Camp was quiet. It was the last week of organised kids activities - which were great and well organised. Camp facilities were clean, kitchen tidy although no pans or pots available. Beach was great for kids to play on and a safe paddling/swimming spot. All in all a great place to camp in a beautiful part of NZ

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Sdrtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the guide books review we were expecting a lot more!!!... Leisure park? more like under construction park!

Facilities were closed and looked very old and run down, hard it was hard to find anything that didn't have a notice on it saying.... NO!! Bla bla or DON'T do this..... Boring and very poor since your customers/guests have paid good money to stay at your campsite.

Was looking forward to the spa & sauna too..... but yes you've guest it.... CLOSED FOR WINTER! ummmm It's November! surely it's the start of summer! Also one shower to clean half the campers staying on the powered sites is not good enough!

I would not recommend this campsite, the only thing worth visiting was the Restaurant & Bar, looked lively and good service from the floor staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mapua
7.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.8 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
9.0 mi away
Nelson City TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mapua Chalets
Mapua Chalets
#3 of 14 in Mapua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapua Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapua Leisure Park

Property: Mapua Leisure Park
Address: 33 Toru Street, Mapua 7005, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Mapua
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Mapua Leisure Park New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing