We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bronte Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Mapua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Bronte both before and after a multi-day hiking and kayaking trip in Abel Tasman. It was a terrific jumping-off spot. The room was very nice, with a beautiful view, and Daniel's breakfasts were truly wonderful. The garden and pool were lovely, and Daniel stored our luggage for us while we were in Abel Tasman, so it was terrifically convenient. (The Abel Tasman tour people picked us up and dropped us off at the lodge, so we didn't need a car.) When our driver didn't show up to take us to the airport, Daniel quickly made alternate arrangements. We recommend Bronte to anyone who wants a beautiful and welcoming place to stay in the Nelson-Abel Tasman area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for you review and I'm sure other people will find it helpful. Bronte is often used as a staging point for all the activities in the Nelson area as we are very central and have great facilities. I'm really pleased you both enjoyed yourselves and love having you. Hope to see you back soon. Regards, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 109 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

In April, 2013 my wife and I stayed at Bronte Estate and totally enjoyed our accomodations and hosts. Daniel,our main contact was just perfect. He explained the history of the estate and local area. The breakfasts provided were the best of all we tried during our 21 day stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impact111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks very much for you review and kind words about myself. I'm really pleased you enjoyed breakfast, we take great pride in growing our own eggs, fruit and vegies to serve to our guests each morning and what we can't grow we sources the best produce from the Nelson/Tasman region. Hopefully we will see you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived in time for sunset views over the water. We greeted each morning with a fabulous home cooked breakfast on the vine covered terrace. OUr room was most comfortable, The wi-fi was excellent and included in the cost of the room. We loved our stay at Bronte Country Estate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was really nice meeting you both and we hope to see you back at Bronte one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Bronte Country is really a beautiful and lovely place to stay. The suite we stayed has fantastic
views. The service was very good and were appreciated with the warm welcoming and dinner recommendation. Definitely a place to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Great to see you both come back at Bronte Country Estate after so many years and thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to see you both back for a third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

On our second visit to NZ, we decided to return to Bronte Country Estate, our only "repeat" for this trip. Our spacious room overlooking the Nelson estuary was elegant and beautifully maintained. We enjoyed the proximity to Nelson and the Abel Tasman Trail, and we took a long walk each day in property's acres of apple orchards. But the main reason we returned is the superb service provided by Daniel, the Inn proprietor, along with his parents. Daniel helped us plan each day; he made reservations and gave advice about new attractions in the area. He provided excellent personal service for us and our traveling companions. Our friends are now fans of Bronte Country Estate too! And we'll return to this excellent property on our next NZ vacation.

Room Tip: The cottages on the Nelson bay have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cidermakervirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again at Bronte soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Friends of my wife had stayed here on their New Zealand holiday recently and reccommended the place to us.

We spent our Christmas here in the Lady Hamilton Suite, it was like having our own house overlooking the estuary with mirror like views of the scenery in the water accross the otherside.

Very peaceful with birdsong being the only noise - funny the ipod did not get a look in as it was a treat to have this kind of music.

All rooms opened out almost completely onto the garden with the estuary view. and every convienience was avalable in our suite including ample supplies of wine (if needed).

we had our very luxurious breakfasts of fresh fruits, pastries and usually bacon and scrambled eggs up on the veranda at the main house and were made to feel very welcome by Daniel, Margaret and Bruce.

Daniel is a great font of information about the area and booked the best places for us to eat on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

The family business is growing apples and pears and we did spend some time walking around part of one of the orchards - but most of our time walking around the waters edge looking for washed up treasures or just wondering at the view.

Stunning place Daniel - thanks

A great place for our Honeymoon Christmas

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarzanhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

It was really nice meeting you both and sharing Christmas with you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand. Best wishes for 2013. Kind regards, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Bronte Lodge is a cut above the rest. We stayed in Te Koi, which has fantastic views and is beautifully furnished, and no detail is missed. The service was excellent yet very friendly and made me feel very welcome and at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madmail13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Te Koi is a very popular choice of accommodation for family. Please you enjoyed your stay and you all made yourselves at home. Hope to see you all back soon. Many thanks, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mapua hotels
0.4 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
3.2 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
75 reviews
7.1 mi away
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Mudcastle
The Mudcastle
#3 of 8 in Upper Moutere
19 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mapua Hills Bed & Breakfast
Mapua Hills Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Upper Moutere
18 reviews
6.9 mi away
Windhover Suites
Windhover Suites
#2 of 7 in Tasman
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronte Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Country Estate

Address: 133 Bronte Road East | off Coastal Highway 60, Upper Moutere, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Mapua
Price Range: $469 - $789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bronte Country Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bronte Country Estate is exclusive luxury accommodation in a tranquil natural setting. Nestled on the edge of the Waimea Estuary on Nelson’s historic Bronte Peninsula, Bronte is surrounded by its extensive mature gardens, family-run vineyard and apple orchards.As Nelson's premier 5-star waterfront property, Bronte Country Estate is New Zealand owned and operated, with five purpose-built suites and villas set apart from the homestead. Dressing rooms, spa baths and kitchenettes provide the ultimate in luxury and comfort.Guests can enjoy the meandering gardens and parkland, heated swimming pool, tennis court, petanque, mountain bikes, and canoes and the seasonal beauty of the Estate’s 65 acre coastal orchard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bronte Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronte Country Estate Mapua, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing