We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Exceptional"”
Review of Laurel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laurel House
Ranked #1 of 2 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a superb B&B. The hospitality was genuinely warm allowing for a relaxing, friendly atmosphere. The hosts are truly excellent.The facilities were exceptional and accurately reflect the description of the 5 * accommodation. Everything has been provided for maximum comfort. The breakfast was the best that I have had in any 5* B&B or hotel.
Laurel House is spotlessly clean throughout.
I have tried several hotels and B&Bs previously in Cumbria and after this very positive experience will only be returning to Laurel House on all further trips to this idyllic area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments make all our hard work worth while, and we look forward to meeting you again next time you visit the Eden Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 205 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've stayed in other places in the Lake District, but we stopped looking once we found Laurel House. Alex and Geoff don't go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one, it just comes naturally to them! Since we found Laurel House we've taken family and we've taken friends with us. Last weekend we decided to treat ourselves and combined our stay with a couple of visits to the fabulous Mrs. Millers' local bistro (fine dining that deserves a Michelin star but without the price). There's also a local pub, both of which are within easy walking distance so you don't have to worry about driving. If you're wondering where to stay and you like luxury and star-treatment from a genuinely lovely couple we'd certainly recommend you try it out. Just make sure you're hungry when you arrive :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are great, we've stayed in all of them. It's in a quiet village and all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richkupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us and the great comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

There are plenty of places to stay in Cumbria, but if you don't mind driving 10 minutes from the motorway into Calgaith you will be rewarded.

Generous friendly hosts and the warm atmosphere of visiting friends, Laurel House is worth the extra mile or two.

The bedding and beds are extremely good quality and very comfortable. The little extras in having quality toiletries and fluffy towels just oozes care and attention.

Spotlessly clean throughout and tastefully decorated it was a lovely place to return to after a busy day out.

Breakfast is a highlight and will keep you going for the day.

This is not just a recommendation, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cumbria.

Room Tip: All rooms are roomy, warm and with ensuite, it won't matter which room you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you feel that is worth travelling an extra few miles to stay at Laurel House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights whist enduring the pain of having a retail stand at a poorly attended show at the Rheged Centre close by, but Jeff and Alex more than made up for it with our stay at Laurel House.

From the perfect cup of tea and warm scones on arrival through a comfy bed in a lovely room to the biggest and tastiest of breakfasts our stay was superb. Met some lovely people staying in the other rooms and ended up having a great last evening with a couple of them at the pub down the road.

Jeff and Alex genuinely can't do enough for you and even provided a warm coat as it was -7 one evening.

The B&B is utterly spotless from top to bottom and I truly can't recommend it enough.... and those who know me will know I am a right fussy so and so..... so high praise indeed.

Will definitely be back again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggers1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thanks for you great review - very much appreciated. We too have had our days manning stands in shows so we are glad that you felt relaxed and comfortable during your stay with us - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

One might ask of a B and B,

Do the hosts welcome you warmly ? Do you feel "at home" straight away? Are the beds Kingsize and comfortable? Has it impeccable en suite facilities ? Do you leave the breakfast table well fed and happy? and when you wave goodbye do you hope that one day you might return.

If so, The Laurels will satisfy all of your wishes Thank you Alex and Jeff, a very pleasant sojourn.

Room Tip: If you need Wifi. make sure you ask for it before you go, only one room is receptive although the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just stayed at Laurel House in Culgaith and it is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. What a welcoming couple Alex and Geoff are with homemade scones and beers on arrival. The rooms are lovely and the super king sized bed was so comfy. The breakfast was superb and as much as you can eat. The restaurant down the road was top class too. What a find, recommended by trusted friends who are now regulars. we hope to be too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks for your great review. We are delighted that you found your friends recommendation all that they said it was.We look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our second visit to Laural House, It was just as good as the first time .Alex & Jeff are so welcoming ,we felt like we were just at home ,Its cosy,warm and the breakfast well you dont need lunch after one of their amazing fill you up breakfasts which is just delightful.We would recommend to anyone,Hopefully we will returning yet again in feb, its great just for a get away from it all break not too far for us to travel {Leeds} where you can relax ,chill out and enjoy .Mrs Millers is also a place to visit where you can enjoy a lovely meal only walkling distance away, which Alex or Jeff will arrange for you .THE BEST ,THANKS ITS JUST PERFECT .
Regards
Jane & Glenn {Leeds}

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyandjakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for the review. It's always rewarding when previous guests return, and want to keep coming back, and who also appreciate eating at Mrs Millers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culgaith
6.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,646 reviews
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
9.2 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
358 reviews
6.0 mi away
Brooklands Guest House
Brooklands Guest House
#1 of 65 in Penrith
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel House

Address: Laurel House Skirwith Road, Culgaith, Penrith CA10 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Culgaith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range: $117 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Laurel House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel House is a delightful 18th-century farmhouse converted into a three bedroom luxurious bed & breakfast. Situated just 7 miles from J40 of the M6, we are ideally placed for an overnight stay on the way to Scotland, or as a base to explore the Lake Distict. All rooms are fully en-suite, with digital TVs, security safes, trouser presses, tea/coffee, hairdryers, large bath towels, dressing gowns and tub armchairs for maximum comfort. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Gold rating and Breakfast Award in 2010, and a prestigous 5 Star rating in 2011, we can offer the weary traveller a good nights rest and a good start to the day. Laurel House has recently been voted the 2017 Luxury B & B of the Year (N>.West) by Industry Insight Monthly, and in 2016 was a Towergate Insurance Top Ten UK B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Laurel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing