We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll not find a better b&b”
Review of Laurel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laurel House
Ranked #1 of 3 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You'll not find a better b&b”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Alex and Jeff are the most welcoming of hosts and their bed and breakfast is second to non. This is not the first time we have been and it certainly won't be the last as it has rapidly become our weekend escape. The rooms are comfortable with huge beds and all the creature comforts you would expect, breakfasts are just superb as are the coffee and scones. Ideally located for lakes or north Pennines, your choice, you'll not find a better more hospitable b&b than a stay at laurel house

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for the great review - always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
141
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with a colleague for one night whilst working in the area. The hosts were great x helped in any way they could. The rooms were lovely the bed was so comfortable. The en suite bathroom had fantastic body shop products in for use. I certainly enjoyed a long bath with bubbles. So quiet here and peaceful. breakfast was lovely and Alex and Jeff both got up at the crack of dawn to ensure we got a good breakfast before heading to work and even boxed up some fruit salad for later for us. A big thank you again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensco14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks for your positive review - it's never a problem providing an early breakfast. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hosts of The Laurel House make it seem so easy!
This was one of the last places we stayed on a five and a half week trip across England, Scotland and Ireland. I have to admit my patience for B&Bs was running thin which is why this place amazed me so much.
Alex and Jeff were a delight and none of it seemed like work to them...they were genuinely hospitable, accommodating and friendly from the moment we spoke on the phone to book a room until we left. We arrived late in the evening and instead of making us eat a McDonalds (the only place around open) they offered to make us sandwiches. They also offered us wine and some great conversation.
The bedroom was very nice. The bed was HUGE and very comfortable.
I was so impressed with the toiletries provided in the bathroom...not your run-of-the-mill cheap stuff you normally find in a hotel or B&B. They had lovely Body Shop shampoo, conditioner and body wash that my husband loved so much he insisted I buy it as soon as we got home. What blew me away was the Clinique face cleanser! No one offers that kind of quality!
Breakfast was amazing with more food than I could hope to eat in a week of breakfasts!
I couldn't think of one thing that I would have liked to have that they didn't offer.
It was a real delight to see a business run so well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We work hard to ensure our guests have a relaxing and pleasant stay with us, so your comments are really appreciated and makes all our efforts worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Warmest thanks to Alex and Jeff for a lovely stay in Culgaith. The village is so picturesque, with panoramic views across to the Lakes. Our welcome was so kind - tea and scones with homemade jam on arrival, and a breakfast fit for kings, all ingredients sourced locally and veggie sausages (fab!) especially for my husband. Really thoughtful. We had a dream of a room - spacious, super-clean, with luxury toiletries and the most comfortable bed we've every slept in besides our own! We saw the best of the area, and partook of a great local beer festival with folk music, all on Alex and Jeff's advice. We'll be back, and would thoroughly recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Very pleased that you enjoyed the beer festival and the veggie sausages. Thanks for you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

wis there for one night but wished was two as booked other place next night -damn! only way to give advance warning is tio ensure an empty stomch for their brilliant breakfast as we didn't eat anything after that till a wee snakc at about 7.30pm. their recommendation of mrs miller's for a meal at night was spot on as it was an excellent place! will be back to both places but more so laurel hoose cos cannae resist their breakfast!! alex n jeff - ye ROCK!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deefiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and Mrs Millers - thanks for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhossili, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Many thanks to Jeff & Alex, from the moment we arrived until we said goodbye nothing was too much trouble!
Tea and freshly baked scones on arrival + ice a lemon for our BYO gin and tonic before we went out for dinner.
Mrs Millers was the venue recommended for dinner and this is another gem, superb presentation and Cumbrian sized portions!
Jeff's breakfast can only be described as "awesome" although I hesitate to guess the number of calories in the scrambled egg which is simply the best I have ever tasted!
Well done J & A, you have created a homely and relaxing environment and we will have no hesitation in booking again when next in the area.
A & M - Rhosneigr

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anagada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thanks for the great review - glad you enjoyed Mrs Millers, it is something special. Cannot take credit for the breakfast though, this is all Alex's work - I just serve it! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just stayed at fantastic b&b in Culgaith. Alex and Jeff were the perfect hosts - friendly and hospitable, welcoming us with tea and warm home-made scones. The room was very well thought- out and spotlessly clean and the bed was both spacious and comfortable with luxury sheets and pillows. The room had a large flat screen tv which one could watch from leather arm chairs with foot-rests. The full English breakfast was a veritable feast -perfectly cooked and presented, with home-made bread and jam. The location is great as it has a an excellent bar/restaurant a short walk away.
We would readily stay at Laurel House on any future visit to the area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyann145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you very much for this review. Really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culgaith
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
3.3 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
5.9 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel House

Property: Laurel House
Address: Laurel House Skirwith Road, Culgaith CA10 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Culgaith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Laurel House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel House is a delightful 18th-century farmhouse converted into a three bedroom luxurious bed & breakfast. Situated just 7 miles from J40 of the M6, we are ideally placed for an overnight stay on the way to Scotland, or as a base to explore the Lake Distict. All rooms are fully en-suite, with digital TVs, security safes, trouser presses, tea/coffee, hairdryers, large bath towels, dressing gowns and tub armchairs for maximum comfort. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Gold rating and Breakfast Award in 2010, and a prestigous 5 Star rating in 2011, we can offer the weary traveller a good nights rest and a good start to the day. Laurel House has recently been voted the 2017 Luxury B & B of the Year (N>.West) by Industry Insight Monthly, and in 2016 was a Towergate Insurance Top Ten UK B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Laurel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing