We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice b&b”
Review of Laurel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laurel House
Ranked #1 of 2 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Excellent breakfast, one of the best I've had for ages, plus pub nearby serves food and cask real ale.

The free wi-fi is a bonus, but not available in all rooms. Fully understandable though, given the traditional 18" stone walls.

Free parking also a bonus, although it is limited and a very minor faff to do.

I also thought very friendly people, and submitted a good review on another website.
However, they took offence that I only scored 7.5 out of 10, and made it clear that I wasn't welcome back. The issue wasn that my cleanliness score wasn't high enough for them.
In truth the place was spotless, but I wasn't entirely comfortable with the fact they allowed their dogs to play the night before in the area where breakfast was served and consumed the following morning. But if you like dogs then I'm sure you'd be very happy, as they were well behaved dogs!

The landlady also spent a lot of time running on about how much better they were than other places during breakfast, which I found a bit off-putting, but I think she was just trying to be friendly.

Finally, the fact that they sent me an email telling me they were offended by my score (despite a very positive review), and that I wasn't welcome back (despite leaving on very friendly terms and saying I'd be back) has left a nasty taste in my mouth.
It's a shame, because I was thinking of taking my other half for a romantic weekend next Spring.

Next time we'll probably try the pub in the village instead, or possibly Dalston, as it's a beautiful area around here.

To summarise, Laurel House is a top of the range B&B, comfy beds, and the breakfast was extremely good. As long as you promise to give them a perfect review and like dogs then I'm sure you'll be fine !!

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi ask for it upfront. Can be tricky to find in the dark. Very nice pint at the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sir_travelled_a_lot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Any B & B that has a Visit Britain Star rating has undergone, and passed, a tough and rigorous examination by experienced professional inspectors.
We are proud of the fact that our hard work, hospitality, and continual financial investment has been rewarded with a Visit Britain 5 Star rating, which puts us in the top 5% of quality B & B's in the UK.
In order to maintain our standards, and indeed improve them if possible, we reserve the right to ask, via private emails, why a review score does not reflect the departure comments of the guest concerned.
We believe that reviews should be fair and accurate, but this guests second review contains some childish, vindictive, and also inaccurate comments i.e. the alleged breakfast conversation, which did not take place, and the remarks about perfect reviews.
Like the majority of B & B owners, our business is also our home, and with this guest we chose to exercise our right not to invite him back, after which he wrote this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 208 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

A beautiful house, a beautiful room of 5 star standard, an excellent breakfast and perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Laurel house recently acquired a coveted fifth star from "EnjoyEngland" to replace their previous 4 star gold rating and it is well deserved indeed. The owners Alex and Jeff have created a very superior B&B accommodation with three delightful bedrooms and do everything possible to make guests feel completely at home throughout their stay. Breakfast is an enjoyable experience served at a communal table for six residents with a good selection of cooked items (including kippers) together with home made bread and preserves. For evening meals Jeff can make suggestions for the best local places and will arrange table reservations if required. All in all one cannot speak too highly of Laurel House as a place to stay in a very beautiful area of Cumbria with easy access to many local attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank railfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you for your comments. It is gratifying to see that our customers rate us so highly, and that they feel we deserve our fifth star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in. Alex and Jeff were really friendly and went out of their way to make us welcome - nothing is too much trouble.
The room was comfortable and clean with lots of extras i.e. bathrobes, sweets etc
Warm scones and homemade jam on arrival were a real treat
Breakfasts were fabulous - homemade bread and preserves and breakfast served on a platter so you can help yourself
Bramble and Holly (the dogs) made it feel just like home

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments - it makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

we actually visited here on the way up to scotland over a year ago but I had no idea I could write a review otherwise I would have done so along time ago! What a lovely b & b! really clean, unbelievably friendly couple, we felt like part of the family, and the food was fabulous. We will definitely be staying with them again when we head up that way. Thank you for making us feel so welcome x

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for you comments - much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Zeer warm onthaal door de gastvrouw en - heer.
Prachtige kamers.
Zeer verzorgd ontbijt.
Een B&B waar men zich onmiddellijk thuisvoelt.t

Fantastic Hosts.
Delicious breakfast.
Beautiful and very comfortable bedrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASPAROEKOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Great comments - thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culgaith
23 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
559 reviews
9.2 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
376 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
6.9 mi away
Low Hall Country House Accommodation
Low Hall Country House Accommoda...
#1 of 1 in Little Strickland
72 reviews
6 mi away
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel House

Address: Laurel House Skirwith Road, Culgaith, Penrith CA10 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Culgaith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range: $120 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Laurel House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel House is a delightful 18th-century farmhouse converted into a three bedroom luxurious bed & breakfast. Situated just 7 miles from J40 of the M6, we are ideally placed for an overnight stay on the way to Scotland, or as a base to explore the Lake Distict. All rooms are fully en-suite, with digital TVs, security safes, trouser presses, tea/coffee, hairdryers, large bath towels, dressing gowns and tub armchairs for maximum comfort. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Gold rating and Breakfast Award in 2010, and a prestigous 5 Star rating in 2011, we can offer the weary traveller a good nights rest and a good start to the day. Laurel House has recently been voted the 2017 Luxury B & B of the Year (N>.West) by Industry Insight Monthly, and in 2016 was a Towergate Insurance Top Ten UK B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Laurel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing