We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop off point on way to Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Ranked #2 of 3 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good stop off point on way to Scotland”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I booked this small Pub with rooms as a stop off point on the way up to Scotland. We booked via Late rooms. First of all the pub is not in Penrith, it is in a small village about 10 minutes drive away in Culgaith.

So there is no where to wander to once you have checked in!! We booked a superior double room which was excellent, plently of space, king size bed and two arm chairs. Very quiet though but we were able to sit out in the Garden to watch the Sun go down with a bottle of wine!

We did not eat in the restaurant/bar in the evening but it was very popular and I think fully booked on the Saturday night. Looking at the menu it was very interesting but I thought a bit pricey. Heard a comment as someone was leaving the restaurant " they seem to be trying too hard" The proprietor even took the trouble to knock on our door at 8.40pm as we had not ventured down for dinner, trouble was we were so engrossed with the new X -Factor series we didn't hear her knocking for ages!!

Breakfast was excellent and very well cooked. Would definitely stay here again if I only wanted a bed for the night and a good meal. If I wanted to wander about in the day/evening would probably venture more into the Lake District to Windermere/Bowness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    34
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
99
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Recently spent 2 nights here. Checked in and were given our room keys staff were not to overly enthusiastic . Room was lovely and comfortable had what you need for a short stay . Pub /bar was quiet with A few regulars and to be honest we felt abit like we were alienated. Bar staff were lovely and friendly and chatty too never got to meet owners nor was introduced. Breakfast was lovely and main meal was ok but a little pricey for what it is. Nice hotel but is in the middle of nowhere so if your looking for a stroll around a few shops and country pubs this is not for you but if it is peace and quiet and a lovely room then this is just the place. Nice stay but quiet area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan,lanc's, england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

the black swan was the last accommodation of our recent 9 day staycation trip.
The inn was in a peacefu and picturesque location in the Eden valley and many places of interest were in easy travelling distance-eg-Carlisle, northern lakes,Hadrians wall and some stunning scenery.
The Inn was tastefully decorated and the bedroom was spacious and comfortable.The food was very good and bar prices were reaasonable.
The bar and waiting staff were very friendly and attentive.However in our case I filt the landlord and landlady were rather distant.

Room Tip: we had room 1 and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed for one night on our way to (and on our return from) Scotland.Parked up directly outside and friendly service at check in.
Ther room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable.Great to be able to pop downstairs for a pint after getting settled in.Very good food served in the evening.We reserved a table when booking initially.(It does get busy - always a good sign!)
Breakfast was well cooked and ample.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hywel_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed one night with my wife as a stop off point from our home to Scotland. Easily found from the M6 the Black Swan is a delightful country pub in a lovely location. A short walk enables you to have panoramic views of Cumbria, although from our room at the front you could see hills between the houses opposite. Our double room was ensuite and was smartly decorated and clean. With a building of this age there are beams so tall people watch out. And As befitting a building of this age floors are undulating under foot and that adds to the character. But a few pints downstairs and you might have a problem! We ate an evening meal and had breakfast too. The evening meals were especially enjoyable, while the breakfast too was wholesome and tasty. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishgent55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My partner and stayed overnight at the Black Swan Inn whilst visiting appleby horse fair this weekend. it is a charming little place, we dined there in the evening and were happy with the food and the size of the portions!. the room was nice only complaint is that the pillows were a little uncomfortable. all in all a lovely stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balamuti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A lovely country pub, with excellent food and wine and roaring fire!t We booked for one night on our journey to Scotland - it was so good we booked another night on our return south! The rooms are comfortable and the food is delicious. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and there is a good choice. The pub is situated in a very quiet village not far from the A66 so makes it a convenient location to overnight. IT is also popular with walkers and visitors to the area as it is not far from Carlisle. We shall definitely stay here again when travelling to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culgaith
5.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
5.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
3.2 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Inn Culgaith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Inn Culgaith

Property: The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Address: Station Road, Culgaith CA10 1QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Culgaith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Swan Inn Culgaith 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Swan Inn Culgaith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith Hotel Culgaith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing