We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Ranked #2 of 2 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed for one night on our way to (and on our return from) Scotland.Parked up directly outside and friendly service at check in.
Ther room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable.Great to be able to pop downstairs for a pint after getting settled in.Very good food served in the evening.We reserved a table when booking initially.(It does get busy - always a good sign!)
Breakfast was well cooked and ample.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hywel_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 192 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed one night with my wife as a stop off point from our home to Scotland. Easily found from the M6 the Black Swan is a delightful country pub in a lovely location. A short walk enables you to have panoramic views of Cumbria, although from our room at the front you could see hills between the houses opposite. Our double room was ensuite and was smartly decorated and clean. With a building of this age there are beams so tall people watch out. And As befitting a building of this age floors are undulating under foot and that adds to the character. But a few pints downstairs and you might have a problem! We ate an evening meal and had breakfast too. The evening meals were especially enjoyable, while the breakfast too was wholesome and tasty. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishgent55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My partner and stayed overnight at the Black Swan Inn whilst visiting appleby horse fair this weekend. it is a charming little place, we dined there in the evening and were happy with the food and the size of the portions!. the room was nice only complaint is that the pillows were a little uncomfortable. all in all a lovely stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balamuti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A lovely country pub, with excellent food and wine and roaring fire!t We booked for one night on our journey to Scotland - it was so good we booked another night on our return south! The rooms are comfortable and the food is delicious. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and there is a good choice. The pub is situated in a very quiet village not far from the A66 so makes it a convenient location to overnight. IT is also popular with walkers and visitors to the area as it is not far from Carlisle. We shall definitely stay here again when travelling to Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We visited this restaurant over the May bank holiday weekend. As there were nine adults in our party , my husband and I went to book on the Saturday for Sunday lunch. One of our daughters has several food intolerances so we were anxious to see if they could accomodate her needs. There was no problem. In fact they phoned me later that evening to double check what she could eat. Our meal on the Sunday was delicious and our daughter had the same meal but adapted to her needs. All staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Iris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Very picturesque little Inn. Small, but comfortable clean room with en-suite. Has a very homely feel to it. Plenty of parking spaces. Breakfast was average on first morning, but really poor on our last morning. Evening meal was a reminder of the 70's and not particularly well cooked or tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

stumbled upon this lovely hotel on a recent business trip, ten out of ten to the owners who can be very proud of this lovely traditional hotel, the room was lovely, service excellent and the food was a complete surprise, will definetely take my wife back when time allows. thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exec1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culgaith
5.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,629 reviews
5.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel House
Laurel House
#1 of 2 in Culgaith
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Inn Culgaith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Inn Culgaith

Address: Station Road, Culgaith, Penrith CA10 1QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Culgaith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range: $116 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Swan Inn Culgaith 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Black Swan Inn Culgaith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith Hotel Culgaith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing